Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 19 Sep 2014, 07:55
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Problems mounting NAS
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Author Message
saroele

Joined: 04 Apr 2013
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu 04 Apr 2013, 17:07    Post subject:  Problems mounting NAS  

Hi,

I'm completely new to puppy linux, have a few months of Ubuntu experience. I use slacko puppy 5.5, frugal install.

On my ubuntu laptop, I'm able to mount my NAS (Synology) with the following command:

Code:
sudo mount -t nfs 192.168.xxx.yy:/volume1/Data /mnt/nas/data


This did not work out of the box on puppy. I could solve the first error message by installing nfs-utils. Then a second error message came and I'm unable to solve this. Here's the message:

mount.nfs: rpc.statd is not running but is required for remote locking.
mount.nfs: Either use '-o nolock' to keep locks local, or start statd

Any hints on this?
Thanks a lot on beforehand,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3892
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Fri 05 Apr 2013, 08:10    Post subject:  

Saroele- Welcome! Did you install through pacman or solo-dwnld? Is logcheck-database installed?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
saroele

Joined: 04 Apr 2013
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri 05 Apr 2013, 15:35    Post subject:  

Semme,
I installed the nfs-utils with the Puppy Package Manager. Is Pacman the Puppy alternative to apt-get in Ubuntu?

What is logcheck-database? PPM can't find it so I suppose I don't have it and don't know how to get that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3892
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Fri 05 Apr 2013, 19:50    Post subject:  

Saroele- no worries as I refer to any distros package manager as Wink pacman.

Having had a chance to inspect the pkg you have there I see it comes supplied with rpc.statd. Consulting the readme it would appear she relies on the distro in questions method for handling services. Aboard Pup this means creating a symlink to your users Startup folder.

Open two Rox filers.. One @ /root/Startup and one @ /usr/sbin.

Drag the start-stat script to Startup, let go and choose link relative.

The above assumes rpc.stat resides in /sbin.
symlink_start-statd_to-root-Startup.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   73.07 KB
 Viewed   303 Time(s)

symlink_start-statd_to-root-Startup.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9113
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 05 Apr 2013, 20:40    Post subject: Re: Problems mounting NAS  

saroele wrote:
use '-o nolock'

DId you try using this option?

Code:
 mount -t nfs 192.168.xxx.yy:/volume1/Data /mnt/nas/data -o nolock
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
saroele

Joined: 04 Apr 2013
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat 06 Apr 2013, 17:08    Post subject:  

rcrsn51, that was a great suggestion: adding the -o nolock makes it work just out of the box. I tried it before but I did not know that the -o nolock had to come in the end.

Is there something unsafe or stupid about using this -o nolock ?

If not, I will not investigate the (more complex) solutions proposed by other helpful posters. Thanks for your help, but this is by far the most easy solution.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
saroele

Joined: 04 Apr 2013
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat 06 Apr 2013, 18:22    Post subject:  

One addition: puppy did NOT shutdown anymore.

I tried again, and when I unmount all the mounted folders from my NAS, puppy shuts down again nicely. What is the most elegant way to add this automatically to some shutdown procedure?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Mon 08 Apr 2013, 10:43    Post subject:  

There had been some adjustments to /etc/rc.d/rc.shutdown beginning mit Slacko-5.3[.?] also in regards to network mounts.

Would be nice if you could post an example output of the
Code:
mount

command when your NAS are mounted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0559s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0034s) ][ GZIP on ]