Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 01 Oct 2014, 14:23
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
"Testing" Sensei & Sensei64
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 4 of 11 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 9, 10, 11 Next
Author Message
meowcats

Joined: 14 Apr 2013
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Tue 23 Apr 2013, 02:02    Post_subject:  

I have not been using grub. I use syslinux instead.

what do you think about providing a updated kernel?
murga and alphaos both use 3.8.x
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Tue 23 Apr 2013, 03:36    Post_subject:  

meowcats wrote:
what do you think about providing a updated kernel?


that's not a task that would be too difficult to accomplish. kind of conflicted on it though. what would really be a great reason for using an updated kernel, opposed to an already well tested one? My experiences with newer kernels have brought about unwanted hardware issues.

I notice Barry also never rolls out the new Puppy releases, with the brand spanking new kernel. I wonder if his reasons for not doing so are similar to mine.

I'm not against that idea. It 'sounds' like a good idea. But is it? what's the benefit? Like i said i've only come across, "oh no! my ____ doesn't work anymore. let me figure out how to get this back on."
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
meowcats

Joined: 14 Apr 2013
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Tue 23 Apr 2013, 11:54    Post_subject:  

Of course the flipside to unwanted bugs/issues are that an outdated kernel may not have support for some newer hardware. So instead of 'it doesn't work anymore' it becomes 'why won't it work at all'
Especially for a portable frugal install, IMO more driver support > occasional bug.

also, I tried latest sensei and save file indeed works!
However I added "radeon" to modules in rc.conf, and on reboot my ati4850 goes off and "monitor out of range"
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Tue 23 Apr 2013, 13:24    Post_subject:  

meowcats,

could you try installing:

Code:
pacman -S xf86-video-ati


and editing /etc/X11/xorg.conf changing line 3 from:

Driver "vesa"
to
Driver "radeon"

and see if that works...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Tote


Joined: 19 Jan 2012
Posts: 231
Location: South Wales

PostPosted: Tue 23 Apr 2013, 14:06    Post_subject:  

Hi stifling, going to show my ignorance here. I installed hardinfo using Pacman Express and I can run it by typing hardinfo in console, but is there an easy/obvious method I've overlooked to add it to Menu?

Many thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Tue 23 Apr 2013, 14:13    Post_subject:  

Tote wrote:
Hi stifling, going to show my ignorance here. I installed hardinfo using Pacman Express and I can run it by typing hardinfo in console, but is there an easy/obvious method I've overlooked to add it to Menu?

Many thanks.


it should be in the menu category "System" by the name of "System Profiler and Benchmark"
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
meowcats

Joined: 14 Apr 2013
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Tue 23 Apr 2013, 18:12    Post_subject:  

Hi, yes the package xf86-video-ati simply needed to be installed. I had falsely assumed that given the large size of sendesk', that it was included.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
meowcats

Joined: 14 Apr 2013
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Tue 23 Apr 2013, 18:17    Post_subject:  

Btw basic install with Radeon using 990Mb ram : o
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Tue 23 Apr 2013, 18:59    Post_subject:  

meowcats wrote:
Btw basic install with Radeon using 990Mb ram : o


WOW...so using the radeon video driver made it jump to 990MB ram? what's the ram usage using the vesa driver?

which sensei are u using exactly? pae, non-pae, or 64bit?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
meowcats

Joined: 14 Apr 2013
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Tue 23 Apr 2013, 20:33    Post_subject:  

Using pfix=ram, free -m shows 770M used. That's just a default config that's loading with vesa

With 1GB save file and Radeon: 990M. using non pae because I need kernel 3.2+ for Carl 9170-fw
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Tue 23 Apr 2013, 20:49    Post_subject:  

meowcats wrote:
Using pfix=ram, free -m shows 770M used. That's just a default config that's loading with vesa

With 1GB save file and Radeon: 990M. using non pae because I need kernel 3.2+ for Carl 9170-fw


could you take a look in LXTask....and see which process is using the most RAM...under RSS. 770MB is also ridiculously high.

which kernel do u like from which puppy? i presently just yanks a prebuilt kernel from another puppy...and slams it in using this procedure...

I'm just wondering if that issue is being caused by the kernel though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5797
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Wed 24 Apr 2013, 00:19    Post_subject:  

Tried Sensei64 while I've got a free minute ....... live cd booted to a prompt. Tried "startx" and "startxfce4" ...... got the prompt.
Did a quick frugal install booting with good old legacy Grub ..... same results..... only gets to a prompt.

Code:
VGA compatible controller      : NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 7025 / nForce 630a] (rev a2) (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])


Out of time tonight but it appears that the senapps64_001.sfs and sendesk64-xfce_001.sfs aren't loading.Didn't notice any mention that would inicate they were loading during the boot process.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Wed 24 Apr 2013, 03:53    Post_subject:  

James C wrote:
Out of time tonight but it appears that the senapps64_001.sfs and sendesk64-xfce_001.sfs aren't loading.Didn't notice any mention that would inicate they were loading during the boot process.


that's really strange. yes u should see that they loaded during the boot process. senapps and sendesk.

when u tried it, did u use "psubdir" in the grub menu entry? If so, and u have a chance to try it again, could u try it w/o "psubdir".

i really don't see why that would matter though. i don't see how the main.sfs is loading...but the other two aren't. as if they aren't in range. i can't reproduce that exact same behavior.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Tote


Joined: 19 Jan 2012
Posts: 231
Location: South Wales

PostPosted: Wed 24 Apr 2013, 08:49    Post_subject:  

stifiling wrote:
Tote wrote:
Hi stifling, going to show my ignorance here. I installed hardinfo using Pacman Express and I can run it by typing hardinfo in console, but is there an easy/obvious method I've overlooked to add it to Menu?

Many thanks.


it should be in the menu category "System" by the name of "System Profiler and Benchmark"


Thank you, found it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
meowcats

Joined: 14 Apr 2013
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Wed 24 Apr 2013, 15:50    Post_subject:  

stifiling wrote:
could you take a look in LXTask....and see which process is using the most RAM...under RSS. 770MB is also ridiculously high.

which kernel do u like from which puppy? i presently just yanks a prebuilt kernel from another puppy...and slams it in using this procedure...

I'm just wondering if that issue is being caused by the kernel though.


In LXtask it shows ~110mb used, but when option 'count cache as used memory' is checked, then it shows ~770mb.
free -m only shows the 770mb. A large portion is used by XFCE. ~120mb is used by X.

As far as kernels, the upup raring kernel, or fatdog 620. Both are modern kernels with lots of testers
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 11 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 9, 10, 11 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0792s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0052s) ][ GZIP on ]