Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 21 Oct 2014, 07:54
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
Legacy GRUB Config 2013
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [11 Posts]  
Author Message
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9200
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 15 Mar 2013, 09:37    Post subject:  Legacy GRUB Config 2013  

------------------------------------

Notice: Recent Puppies, including Slacko 5.7 and newer, contain an altered version of this program. There are now reports that it is broken. The only safe version to use is the one posted here.

----------------------------------------

This is a light-weight alternative to Puppy's long-time GRUB Legacy Bootloader Config. It is for users who still want the fine-grained control of legacy GRUB or who just want a basic one-click bootloader setup. It can also configure a dual-boot environment with GRUB2 distros like Ubuntu.

This project is NOT intended to replace the excellent Grub4Dos Bootloader Config.



If you are setting up a Puppy-only machine, use Quick Mode. If your frugal install is going into a subfolder, just edit your menu.lst file afterwards to reflect this. For example:
Code:
title Slacko 5.5 on sda1
root (hd0,0)
kernel /slacko/vmlinuz pmedia=atahd pdev1=sda1 psubdir=slacko pfix=fsck
initrd /slacko/initrd.gz

-------------------------------

For dual-booting with Windows or other Linuxes, use Expert Mode. Remember that legacy GRUB numbers are one less than partition identifiers. So (hd0,0) usually represents sda1. The MBR of a drive is identified as (hd0).

-------------------------------

Users who dual-boot Puppy with GRUB2 distros are familiar with the following problem. GRUB2 cannot auto-detect the Puppy install, so you must perform a manual update-grub procedure. But Legacy GRUB Config 2013 uses a little GRUB2 back-door trick. Expert Mode will create a menu entry like this:
Code:
title Ubuntu
root (hd0,x)
kernel /boot/grub/core.img

Replace "x" with the Ubuntu partition number.

You can even put the legacy GRUB files inside the other distro's GRUB2 folder - there is no conflict. So you can have a frugal install of Puppy in an Ubuntu partition. But Ubuntu may object to this!

--------------------------------

If you are multi-booting several Linuxes, the best procedure is a custom install. Put the distro's bootloader in its own partition boot sector instead of the MBR (see the next post). Then have Legacy GRUB Config 2013 launch it by chainloading.
Code:
title Vector Linux on sda9
root (hd0,8)
chainloader +1

-----------------------------

Scenario A:
1. Install Ubuntu. Use the entire hard drive and put GRUB2 on the MBR.
2. Ubuntu will probably set up a swap partition using sda2 (extended) and sda5.
3. Boot off a Puppy Live CD.
4. Run Gparted. Shrink sda1 to create another partition. It will be sda3.
5. Install Puppy in sda3.
6. Run Expert Mode. Use (hd0), sda3 and (hd0,2). Erase the Windows entry.
This switches your primary bootloader from GRUB2 to Legacy GRUB.
7. Reboot. Your menu has entries for both Puppy and Ubuntu.

Scenario B:
1. Put a Puppy on sda1 and run Quick Mode. Your primary bootloader is Legacy GRUB on the MBR.
2. Install a second Linux. If it's a Puppy, just add an entry to your menu.lst in sda1. You don't need to re-install GRUB.
3. If it's a different Linux in another partition, install its bootloader in the partition boot sector. Eg. /dev/sda3 instead of /dev/sda.
4. Update your primary menu.lst. You can use either the "core.img" entry for Ubuntus or the "chainloader" entry.

Scenario C:
1. You install a new Linux and accidentally put its bootloader on the MBR.
2. Boot Puppy off its CD.
3. Run Legacy GRUB Config 2013 and restore your primary bootloader.
4. Open the folder /boot/grub.
5. There is a backup copy of your previous menu.lst. Make it your new menu.lst.
6. If the new Linux uses GRUB2, add a "core.img" entry for it.

-----------------------------------

Installing GRUB to a partition boot sector is also the safest method for dual-booting Puppy with Windows.

1. Install Legacy GRUB on the Puppy partition boot sector. The target for Stage1 will be (hd0,x).
2. Run Gparted and switch the "boot" flag to the Puppy partition.

Note that this only works with primary partitions, and the MBR must contain the original DOS/Win boot code. If the MBR contains GRUB Stage1, you can restore it with
Code:
ms-sys -m -w /dev/sda

-------------------------------------

To make a GRUB boot diskette, select Expert Mode and the entries
Code:
(fd0)  fd0  (fd0)
or
(fd0)  sda1  (hd0,0)

---------------

Last edited by rcrsn51 on Sat 27 Sep 2014, 07:20; edited 12 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9200
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 20 Mar 2013, 11:28    Post subject:  

How to Install Ubuntu and put GRUB2 in the Partition Boot Sector.

Whenever you install an OS like Ubuntu, you are given some choices about where to install the bootloader. In a multi-boot environment, the best procedure is to put the bootloader in the boot sector of OS's own partition. Then the install is completely self-contained and won't alter whatever bootloading system you already have in place.

Before starting an Ubuntu install, I find it best to use Puppy and its Gparted to organize the hard drive structure. Then I have control over where things like the extended partition and swap will go. Otherwise, Ubuntu may make some decisions that I don't like.

1. Boot off your Ubuntu CD and start the install procedure.

2. From the first menu, choose Specify Partitions Manually (Advanced)

3. The next screen has a table of partitions. Double-click on your target partition.

4. This is the Edit Partition screen. Choose:
a. Use As: ext4
b. Format the Partition
c. Mount Point: /
d. OK

5. Back on the previous screen, there is a drop-down list of targets for the GRUB2 bootloader. Select your target partition. Do NOT select /dev/sda - that is your hard drive's MBR.

6. Continue the installation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 11 May 2013, 23:20    Post subject:  

Great, now in Woof, see my blog post:

http://bkhome.org/blog2/?viewDetailed=00235

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ASRI éducation


Joined: 09 May 2009
Posts: 2531
Location: France

PostPosted: Mon 20 May 2013, 09:18    Post subject:  

Quote:
legacy_grub_2013-1.4.pet

Thank you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 2594
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed 03 Sep 2014, 04:25    Post subject:  

Is Legacy Grub able to help me with trying to boot from an SD card which is known as mmcblk0p1 instead of sda1, sda2 etc? Tried grub4dos but it says "No supported filesystems found in /dev/mmcblk0p1|ext4|
(I also tried Fat32 and f2fs without success)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9200
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 03 Sep 2014, 08:53    Post subject:  

1. Format the card again as fat32.

2. Do a frugal install onto the card, but not in a subfolder.

3. From the command line, run
Code:
grub
find /vmlinuz

Does this identify the card as an (hdxy) value?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 2594
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed 03 Sep 2014, 15:01    Post subject:  

"find /vmlinuz" comes back with "Error 15: File not found"
I have formatted as Fat32 and added the vmlinuz, initrd.gz and main.sfs onto the drive, but not within a subdirectory. I tried the find /vmlinuz command with this new grub, and also with the original grub but both show file not found (Testing on a live session of Slacko 5.6)

I have not added a bootloader. Should I have done so?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9200
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 03 Sep 2014, 15:40    Post subject:  

I tried this on two machines with internal card readers. One required keucr.ko to be loaded and the other would only detect the device if the card was inserted at bootup.

I did a manual setup of Grub4Dos and a frugal Puppy install. It looked OK.

The problem was with the BIOS. Neither machine would recognize the card reader as a bootable device. A little googling reveals that this is a common problem with no solution.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 422
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Wed 03 Sep 2014, 18:41    Post subject: Boot from flashram card  

rcrsn51 wrote:

The problem was with the BIOS. Neither machine would recognize the card reader as a bootable device. A little googling reveals that this is a common problem with no solution.

My Acer Aspire One, of a few years ago, has SD slots, but doesn't boot from a card.
The same card allows booting, if used in a USB adapter.

_________________
Dell E6410: Windows XP, LuPu Super 2 & various Puppys;Dell D610: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2, 'lina-lite; Intel D865GBF: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2;
Acer Aspire One: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2; ASUS P5A: MS-Windows 98SE, Puppy Linux 2.14X
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 2594
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Thu 04 Sep 2014, 06:17    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
The problem was with the BIOS. Neither machine would recognize the card reader as a bootable device. A little googling reveals that this is a common problem with no solution.

sheldonisaac wrote:
My Acer Aspire One, of a few years ago, has SD slots, but doesn't boot from a card. The same card allows booting, if used in a USB adapter.

Thank you both - yes the problem does seem to be bios - my sd card boots correctly if used in a multicard adapter into a usb port, but not when inserted into the inbuilt sd card slot. I am able to create the card successfully when it is in the inbuilt slot (and seen as mmcblk0p1) but it has to be transferred across to a usb port for booting.

(just for interests sake - I did find a forum talking about how to boot from a mmcblk0 block device and although it relates to knoppix there might be some clue in it somewhere for me to come back to. Thread here)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9200
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 04 Sep 2014, 08:34    Post subject:  

Even if you had a machine with a bootable card reader, Puppy would still need to find its main sfs file. I don't know if it's smart enough to look on mmc devices.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [11 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0854s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0083s) ][ GZIP on ]