Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 23 Aug 2014, 05:50
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Upup Precise 3.8.3.1 created by using up-to-date Woof
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 6 of 12 [179 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 Next
Author Message
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun 17 Mar 2013, 14:54    Post subject:  

vlc-nox_* has the /usr/bin/vlc which will be fixed with bbe binary to run as root when you use PPM.

I think something has happened to that vlc binary which has been fixed to run as root. Or somehow the fix has not been in use. Some PPM hanging might cause it.
What...I cant tell.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7794
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 17 Mar 2013, 16:00    Post subject:  

pemasu wrote:
01micko. In your DOTconfig
# CONFIG_DVB_USB_V2 is not set
You should tick this one. You get whole bunch of the tickable dvb-t tuner drivers more.
Yeah, noticed when I diffed, thanks.
_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5710
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun 17 Mar 2013, 17:57    Post subject: Re: Updating SeaMonkey in Precise PUPs  

gcmartin wrote:
Thanks James C
James C wrote:
... upgraded SeaMonkey to 2.16.2 ....no problems yet. ...
This seems like a plausible option. What method did you use in updating?

Thanks in advance


Unsquash the puppy_precise_3.8.3.sfs file.Delete the contents of /usr/lib/seamonkey-2.13.1. Replace those deleted contents with newer SeaMonkey (I use the download direct from Mozilla). Resquash the puppy_precise_3.8.3.sfs. Either use the sfs directly in a frugal install or rebuild the iso with the rebuilt sfs.Done.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun 17 Mar 2013, 18:00    Post subject:  

James C. That is my preferred puppy remaster method also...when I dont use woof to update whole build. I have used it also when there has been problems with some packages or scripts and I want to see the effect of changes with fresh install. Swapping files in build is much faster that way compared to woofing.

That method is easy, fast and you get what you delete and replace. And you have still otherwise same sfs as result.

Remember to mksquash with option -comp xz

For example: mksquashfs squashfs-root puppy_precise_3.8.3.sfs -comp xz

I think that the compression should be the same...but I am not absolutely sure of that.

Last edited by pemasu on Sun 17 Mar 2013, 18:19; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4220
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sun 17 Mar 2013, 18:15    Post subject:  

Would a download from mozilla and a replacement of the folder be advisable over a save-session, reboot? Would the save-session capture the update changes?

Or is that method flawed or potentially hazardous?

Thanks for comments.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun 17 Mar 2013, 18:21    Post subject:  

Of course savefile saved update will cover previous version. Deleting the folder might be recommandable as safety measure though.

I think James C just told how he did it.

Preferred method depends on what you want.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4220
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sun 17 Mar 2013, 18:25    Post subject:  

Thanks all. This helps understanding of options for success. THX to both of you for sharing that.
_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5710
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun 17 Mar 2013, 18:34    Post subject:  

gcmartin wrote:
Would a download from mozilla and a replacement of the folder be advisable over a save-session, reboot? Would the save-session capture the update changes?

Or is that method flawed or potentially hazardous?

Thanks for comments.


Agree with Pemasu.......the new contents will just overwrite the old. My method places nothing in the savefile...... the overwrite method places SeaMonkey in the savefile...about 45 mb uncompressed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 644
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Sun 17 Mar 2013, 18:50    Post subject: [Fixed] Clock problem (Full 3.8.2)
Subject description: Probably a poor Full install
 

G'day pemasu,
While waiting to finish the 383 download, I thought I could mention I have a full 382 which forgets the time each start-up. Everything else is excellent.
It can be an hour fast (we are still in daylight saving here in Sydney) or twelve hours out. Psync fixes the problem but I have not seen a time-problem like this with any previous Pup.
I'll see what happens with 383.
David S.

PS: Installing a Full-383 over the Full-382 seems to have fixed the odd clock behaviour. My Full 382 was made over a non-working Full PHATslacko and I may not have correctly wiped the partition before installing the Full 382. I also see my Frugal-382 does not have a clock-boot problem, also pointing to the 382-Full install being corrupted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5710
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Mon 18 Mar 2013, 00:35    Post subject:  

Doing a hardware check using the old 3.7.2 version...... first cd that I grabbed. Laughing Anyway,it works. Smile .

VIDEO REPORT: Upup Precise, version 3.7.2

Chip description:
oem: ATI RADEON Xpress 200G Series

Requested by /etc/X11/xorg.conf:
Resolution (widthxheight, in pixels): 1024x768
Depth (bits, or planes): 24
Modules requested to be loaded: dbe

Probing Xorg startup log file (/var/log/Xorg.0.log):
Driver loaded (and currently in use): ati
Loaded modules: dbe dri dri2 exa extmod fb glx kbd mouse radeon ramdac record

Actual rendering on monitor:
Resolution: 1024x768 pixels (270x203 millimeters)
Depth: 24 planes

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video
# glxgears
Running synchronized to the vertical refresh. The framerate should be
approximately the same as the monitor refresh rate.
343 frames in 5.0 seconds = 68.462 FPS
376 frames in 5.0 seconds = 75.028 FPS
376 frames in 5.0 seconds = 75.030 FPS
376 frames in 5.0 seconds = 75.029 FPS
376 frames in 5.0 seconds = 75.029 FPS
375 frames in 5.0 seconds = 74.806 FPS

-Computer-
Processor : AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3400+
Memory : 967MB (196MB used)
Operating System : Unknown distribution
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Sun 17 Mar 2013 11:37:36 PM CDT
-Display-
Resolution : 1024x768 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Gallium 0.4 on ATI RS480
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Multimedia-
Audio Adapter : ATIIXP - ATI IXP

Figured it would be a change using an ATI box......
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon 18 Mar 2013, 13:48    Post subject:  

3.8.3 kernel with ISA bus support and support for ISA soundcards has been compiled and in use now when posting.

I noticed problem with latest woof. Barry Kauler fixed the problem. Solution was easy, rename duplicated DISTRO_SPECS names. I have fixed the DISTRO_SPECS now and I am processing the build. I added PupClock, PupControl and PupSysinfo. Thanks Radky.

I have patched and compiled catalyst 13.1 modern and legacy drivers.
I have HDMI connection with audio working to my LCD TV and to its speakers. Irish Pub Radio is playing by Pmusic in TV speakers.

I have to admit that I smiled when Pogues played in Irish Pub Radio.
I worked in the Provinssirock stage in 1986 when Pogues played there...in FInland...in my hometown when I was youth. There were Fine Young Cannibals, Pogues, Cult and Big Country in Provinssirock that year. That was great year to be in work at music festival.

So...new kernel works fine with proprietary catalyst driver through hdmi cable.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3254
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 18 Mar 2013, 15:18    Post subject:  

The newest mtpaint has been working well for me.

It works with Wacom tablet too.

Available HERE

.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
anikin

Joined: 10 May 2012
Posts: 457

PostPosted: Mon 18 Mar 2013, 15:41    Post subject:  

Hi pemasu,

if it's not too late, will you consider changing the powerapplet to a lower setting. It defaults to Turbo now. And one more - you didn't forget about the fonts conspiracy?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5710
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Tue 19 Mar 2013, 00:37    Post subject:  

I hadn't been having much good luck with the 3.8.X kernels so I've been hesitating to upgrade some installs.Your last kernel works so well I just upgraded one of my Sid installs.....

Code:
Mon Mar 18 23:40:29 CDT 2013
james@openbox:~$ uname -r
3.8-3.towo-siduction-686


So far so good. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Tue 19 Mar 2013, 10:42    Post subject:  

More problems with new woof. If there is duplicate generic name database entries in Packages-puppy-*-official files, ie duplicate entries inside some used database file, then the package is not processed.
This is again findpkg script problem ....due to arch compatibilty.

I need to report this again to Barry Kauler.

My latest upload...which I have not announced yet...but one tester downloaded....noticed that puppyinstaller did not launch, because Xdialog is missing. And it was missing because xdialog pet was not processed....and it was not processed because there is duplicate database generic name in Packages-puppy-wary5-official:

xdialog-.3.1-20110924_patched_extrabutton_dougal_default_nostrip_debian2-5c|xdialog|
xdialog-2.3.1-patched_amigo-w5c|xdialog|

Now I wonder why I had Packages-puppy-wary5-official preferred instead of Packages-puppy-common-official.
So....I have to take one more woofing with older findpkgs file and with swapped order for package download repos.

Thank you eps of your report....with build which is not announced...lol
I have removed that upload now....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 6 of 12 [179 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0970s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0119s) ][ GZIP on ]