Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 18 Dec 2014, 17:01
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Upup Precise 3.8.3.1 created by using up-to-date Woof
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 10 of 12 [180 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 Next
Author Message
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5465
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon 06 May 2013, 01:04    Post subject:  

mcewanw. You need channels.conf or some other text file like vlc.xspf which contains the information of the tv channel frequencies. I use w_scan:
w_scan -fc -c FI -M > /root/channels.conf.

This one produced the channels.conf in Mplayer understanding format, I believe.

Check w_scan --help for more info of the options.

http://simplehacksnreviews.wordpress.com/2012/03/06/use-w_scan-and-create-config-scan-files-vlc-kaffeine-mythtv-and-me-tv/

I have for VLC channels info file created as vlc.xspf with w_scan

Dvbscan should be ok also. W_scan performs "raw" scanning. It goes through all the frequencies and that is why I have liked w_scan.

Anyway. You need first the channels.conf file or other channels info text file...or compiled binary data file. Vlc needs that file information of your tv channel frequencies.

There are several ways to produce that channels info file. Try and error worked for me. Lol.

Then it is just matter of launching vlc with pointing to that channels.conf file. In console:
vlc -vvv /root/vlc.xspf

-vvv just gives more verbose information what happens and helps me debugging if the tv does not pop up in VLC.

https://launchpad.net/ubuntu/precise/i386/w-scan/20111203-1

http://launchpadlibrarian.net/88522418/w-scan_20111203-1_i386.deb

Smplayer is the other one I have used with dvb tuner sticks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 2350
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Mon 06 May 2013, 06:23    Post subject:  

pemasu wrote:
mcewanw. You need channels.conf or some other text file like vlc.xspf which contains the information of the tv channel frequencies. I use w_scan:
w_scan -fc -c FI -M > /root/channels.conf.


Ah... I was hoping that's what it was, and had, since my last post, already installed both dvdapps and w_scan from the ubuntu repos. I had tried w_scan -x (somethingorother) and was able to determine my dvb-t usb stick was functioning (since w_scan correctly used it to determine all the locally available channels) and I was looking into producing a channels.conf (hoping that would do the job). However, the rest of the family wanted to watch tv, and that usb stick is all we have here at the moment (working under its supplied windows OS software) so I've been unable to do further work on getting it to work under upup! I'll try your suggestions tomorrow and report back...

_________________
Non enim propter gloriam, diuicias aut honores pugnamus set propter libertatem solummodo quam Nemo bonus nisi simul cum vita amittit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 2350
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Mon 06 May 2013, 20:12    Post subject: dvb-t still not working with vlc  

I successfully created /root/vlc.xspf using

w_scan -ft -c NZ -L > /root/vlc.xspf

but vlc still not displaying dvb-t picture...

I ran command: vlc -vvv /root/vlc.xspf from an rxvt console. The log outputs to that console are rather large but I've provided the output at the following pastebin.com link in case that log helps work out what the problem is:

http://pastebin.com/MAnuzijg

I don't understand vlc output log, but note that lines 177 to 197 show that the correct local (Christchurch, New Zealand) digital terrestial TV (and radio) channels have all been correctly identified (21 of them is correct).

I haven't tried smplayer as yet since really wanted to get vlc working with this dvb-t usb stick.

EDIT: quickly tried: mplayer dvb://"FOUR" -demuxer lavf

There were lots of errors from the console but a picture with sound did appear in mplayer. However, it was very flaky and froze eventually. Don't have time to look into this further at the moment or to post the console errors tho. No idea of that commandline. Just found it, via google, at: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=159744. Works fine under the provided MSwindows software on this machine, but want Puppy instead!

_________________
Non enim propter gloriam, diuicias aut honores pugnamus set propter libertatem solummodo quam Nemo bonus nisi simul cum vita amittit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5465
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Tue 07 May 2013, 00:51    Post subject:  

mcewanw. I tested it now with fresh install.
I used http://www.smokey01.com/pemasu/pet_packages-upup/vlc-2.0.5-i686.pet

And....I noticed that I hadnt packaged in libdvbpsi library which is needed with vlc.

So install libdvbpsi7_0.2.2-1 with PPM and you should get dvb tv working with vlc also.

My mistake. Sorry.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mark41844

Joined: 07 May 2013
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue 07 May 2013, 15:28    Post subject: Power off issue on Upup Precise 3.8.3.1
Subject description: Power off process hanging
 

I just did a frugal install to SSD in ext2 participation with 512M persistent storage file. System came up and running fine after complete set up time zone and mouse. I then did a immediate shut down to create 512M persistent storage. On 2nd boot up, I was able to get my Netgear PCMCIA WG511 v2 set up via ndiswrapper with Marvell window driver and connect to internet. The performance is incredible compare with XP. I was really happy now that I can bring this old laptop back to life for my Mom.

Then some how during power off, the system hangs with message “Precise OS is shutting down”. First I thought maybe it is still closing some process but I wait it for half hours it is still not shutting down. I do notice power off hanging issue only happen once I use the browser. Could anyone please help me resolve this issue?

Computer configuration:
P3 750Mhz 192M 16G PATA SSD Netgear PCMCIA WG511 v2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3436
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 07 May 2013, 16:45    Post subject:  

Quote:
I was able to get my Netgear PCMCIA WG511 v2 set up via ndiswrapper


Did you get ndiswrapper from this thread or the previous thread?

Since ndiswrapper should be compiled specifically for the kernel used,
which is 3.8.3.1

Other versions of Puppy linux have gotten that card to work
with ndiswrapper specially compiled for the kernel in use.

Older ndiwrapper for k3.7.2 HERE


_______________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 614
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Tue 07 May 2013, 16:52    Post subject: Shutdown Problem  

mark41844 wrote:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Then some how during power off, the system hangs with message “Precise OS is shutting down”.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

What happened was 'your WiFi DROPPED prior to shutdown.... This has been a problem with almost every recent major puppy distro... I had mentioned the WiFi dropping in a few of the threads so the dev's are surely aware of it. The ONLY puppy that I have not had this happen with is the most recent 'Wheezy' why... I don't know?

I might mention, once WiFi drops... you can't shut down normally, just a cold-hard-press-the-shutoff-button.

I have an Intel Corp 82865G card... so it doesn't appear to be 'card' specific?

>>>---Indian------>

_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mark41844

Joined: 07 May 2013
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue 07 May 2013, 18:25    Post subject:  

don570 wrote:
Quote:
I was able to get my Netgear PCMCIA WG511 v2 set up via ndiswrapper


Did you get ndiswrapper from this thread or the previous thread?

Since ndiswrapper should be compiled specifically for the kernel used,
which is 3.8.3.1

Other versions of Puppy linux have gotten that card to work
with ndiswrapper specially compiled for the kernel in use.

Older ndiwrapper for k3.7.2 HERE

@don570

I believe ndiswrapper already been compiled in for Precise 3.8.3.1. I just issued command below in the directory with my wifi card window driver, remove and plug in the card again then the light on my wifi card just came on.

Code:
ndiswrapper -i  mrv8335.inf




_______________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 2350
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Tue 07 May 2013, 20:21    Post subject:  

pemasu wrote:

So install libdvbpsi7_0.2.2-1 with PPM and you should get dvb tv working with vlc also.


Thanks pemasu. That worked.

_________________
Non enim propter gloriam, diuicias aut honores pugnamus set propter libertatem solummodo quam Nemo bonus nisi simul cum vita amittit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
lvds


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 315
Location: Near the window

PostPosted: Fri 17 May 2013, 02:58    Post subject: request for a barebone  

Hi Pemasu (and all)

Many thanks for you hard work ! I'm looking for a trimmed version kind of a barebone so I could build a pupplet ubuntu compatible from your base. Do you already have one ? or please can you build one ?

Also, it's been a long time I've not played with woof, and before asking here I thought to myself I would try to woof a barebone conform to your work but I fail... Are you using woof or woof2 ? Is there a template somewhat you could give me so I put it into woof and get the same result hours later ? From what I read you made adjustements after the woof built, so a barebone or sort, from you would be best (and I promise to do my homework on woof Embarassed ) so I will be sure the pupplets will get the same hardware compatibility than upup already have. Please Smile

Many thanks in advance

_________________
This is China today
Asus 1225C eeePC Atom Cedar Trail 2G Ram - DELL Optiplex 780 core2 duo 4G Ram, Intel4 chipset Video, ICH10 chipset Audio, Intel 82567LM-3 Network
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5465
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Fri 17 May 2013, 08:53    Post subject:  

Well.....It could be possible to create woof build just like I have done it. Some of my tuning, would need small woof hacks, but they are only for theming, backgrounds, jwm - gtk-themes. And for fonts..

Otherwise.....if I would upload my pets which the woof would see, then you could create the Upup Precise.
Why I havent done that. I would need to update my uploaded pets, they would take space, and atm I try to restrict my uploads as much as possible.

I could upload my used woof files to create Upup Precise...and anyone could create it. But....there are not so many woof builders. Updating the files and pets...would take time and observation.

And....there is already Precise Puppy which you can create from existing stuff. If you know how to woof build, then it is not that difficult to modificate it.

I believe I dont have time and dedication to upload and update online my different woof built distros. I more or less like to woof, modificate and create than be maintainer.

Anyway...if you have spesific questions about woofing...I will answer as much as I can. I can also upload needed pets....temporary...though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 3208
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Fri 17 May 2013, 21:06    Post subject:  

I *think* I've got the right thread -- I am using an install of Upup Precise from an ISO which claims to be "Upup Precise 3.8.2" but I can't find a dedicated thread titled as such.

Anyhow.

I'm using that version of Upup Precise on a Pico-ITX board with an internal GMA500 graphics "solution" from Wintel. The BIOS for this board is designed such that it will actually override the resolution selection in xorgwizard. I'm looking for a workaround that will let the OS basically tell the BIOS to go screw with respect to that one misfeature, as the BIOS doesn't have a "don't argue with the OS" setting. Of course there's a Windblows driver which eliminates the problem... but I'm not putting XP on this wee beastie -- that defeats the point entirely of why I got it!

Full details in a dedicated issue thread, here --> http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=86232

EDIT: sorry, poor wording. Fixed.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
lvds


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 315
Location: Near the window

PostPosted: Sat 18 May 2013, 02:05    Post subject:  

pemasu wrote:
Well.....It could be possible to create woof build just like I have done it. Some of my tuning, would need small woof hacks, but they are only for theming, backgrounds, jwm - gtk-themes. And for fonts..


Yes, exactly what I was talking about Smile I noticed the changes here and there and it gives a very clean result, I like it and it really improves the desktop. Many little changes here and there and it gives an excellent result Cool

pemasu wrote:
Otherwise.....if I would upload my pets which the woof would see, then you could create the Upup Precise.
Why I havent done that. I would need to update my uploaded pets, they would take space, and atm I try to restrict my uploads as much as possible.


I didin't know about your bandwidth issues, or is it a storage space problem ? If it is space only, I can help and store the files elsewhere.

pemasu wrote:
I could upload my used woof files to create Upup Precise...and anyone could create it. But....there are not so many woof builders. Updating the files and pets...would take time and observation.

And....there is already Precise Puppy which you can create from existing stuff. If you know how to woof build, then it is not that difficult to modificate it.

I believe I dont have time and dedication to upload and update online my different woof built distros. I more or less like to woof, modificate and create than be maintainer.

Anyway...if you have spesific questions about woofing...I will answer as much as I can. I can also upload needed pets....temporary...though.


ok, see, I would like to get a ubuntu based puppy with non pae kernel and all drivers like yours because it gave me great results on all computers I tested. Then I want to apply trinity desktop or the latest KDE4 (that is two different woof), the binaries are available and there are special repos with gpg pubkeys for TDE, and the KDE4 is available from other ubuntu repos, so my problem is I didn't understand how to ask woof to build like this. Even though this is all Qt related I will need the Gtk changes you did because some programs rely on it. Maybe this is not the right thread and If you need we can move this chat to somewhere else because I don't want to disturb (in this case just tell me where you want to continue on). Many thanks for your help, I'm grateful to learn from your experience.

_________________
This is China today
Asus 1225C eeePC Atom Cedar Trail 2G Ram - DELL Optiplex 780 core2 duo 4G Ram, Intel4 chipset Video, ICH10 chipset Audio, Intel 82567LM-3 Network
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5465
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sat 18 May 2013, 03:11    Post subject:  

lvds. Yeah this thread is not the right for guiding to the woof process. For example pm posts would be better as a starter. You could pm to me what are the obstacles, do you know how to add rows to the DISTRO_SPECS and is there other repository adding needs....like launchpad repositories...and so on...
Uploading my used woof files....so that they wont interfere with new woof download is the simplest process. I can upload them as tarball and also my 3builddistro patch which modifies that script so that it is capable to add my hacks.

Woofing goes along spesific steps. We need to start from the beginning and from the first obstable.

I dont know how severe is my upload restriction. I use smokey01.com site, granted by smokey01. There was urgent need to delete a lot stuff. The host maintainer was satisfied and I dont know what is the status now. Because of that and because I just have access to smokey01.com site...I try to be very cautious now what I upload. I remove my previous builds because of the same reason. To preserve the storage space.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 3208
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Sat 18 May 2013, 10:52    Post subject:  

Pemasu, did you see my post, right above lvds's most recent post?
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 10 of 12 [180 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1142s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0065s) ][ GZIP on ]