Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 02 Sep 2014, 16:02
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Precise Puppy 5.5, released March 9, 2013
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 9 [126 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2505
Location: Burghaslach, Germany somewhere also known as "Hosla"

PostPosted: Mon 01 Apr 2013, 03:41    Post subject: typo in XkbdModelConfig
Subject description: nodel
 

not precise only but woof I think Wink
see screenshot of xkbd please
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3964
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Mon 01 Apr 2013, 07:49    Post subject:  

witekjeden wrote:
@Karl Godt
Your command in a separate console not working.
http://img547.imageshack.us/img547/2299/172317734x116easyshot.jpg

kill -s HUP 'pidof pppd'
kill -s HUP `pidof pppd`
backticks, not single quotes
also
kill -s 1 $(pidof pppd)
if zour language kezboard has no backticks available.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
futwerk

Joined: 07 May 2011
Posts: 261

PostPosted: Mon 01 Apr 2013, 11:08    Post subject:  

a few new backgrounds.
precisems20,6.jpg
 Description   http://www.mediafire.com/?an3963kici9msca,7gko6m9n4k8sknd,1zwujzgc5f9ao1y,3bbqaixgkk8yl57,3x654sr4mitqr94,gqhbay4n176y4zq,9rqcn3kehd540du,kysxqzub1aopd26
 Filesize   5.33 KB
 Viewed   1396 Time(s)

precisems20,6.jpg

precisems20,4.jpg
 Description   http://www.mediafire.com/?an3963kici9msca,7gko6m9n4k8sknd,1zwujzgc5f9ao1y,3bbqaixgkk8yl57,3x654sr4mitqr94,gqhbay4n176y4zq,9rqcn3kehd540du,kysxqzub1aopd26
 Filesize   10.05 KB
 Viewed   1391 Time(s)

precisems20,4.jpg

precisems20,3.jpg
 Description   http://www.mediafire.com/?an3963kici9msca,7gko6m9n4k8sknd,1zwujzgc5f9ao1y,3bbqaixgkk8yl57,3x654sr4mitqr94,gqhbay4n176y4zq,9rqcn3kehd540du,kysxqzub1aopd26
 Filesize   8.85 KB
 Viewed   1401 Time(s)

precisems20,3.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Barburo


Joined: 14 Jun 2007
Posts: 283

PostPosted: Tue 02 Apr 2013, 04:42    Post subject:  

I have been impressed with the speed of 5.5. I like the increased flexibility of JWM, and I have used the forum to find more GTK and JWM themes together with extra icon sets to customize my desktop. A couple of observations:

- Frisbee was solid in 5.49 but in 5.5 it sometimes drops the wifi connection if I do not open a browser immediately. Seems to get it back again by retrying the connection.
- The on-screen font rendering seems a bit fuzzy. When displaying documents in the Chrome Browser (ver 25) I was expecting something sharper.

Frugal install, wifi connected only, on Acer aspire laptop 4gb memory, twin intel GU 1.3ghz cpus

_________________
Laptop: Acer Aspire 5810TZ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
witekjeden

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Tue 02 Apr 2013, 16:57    Post subject:  

@Karl Godt
There is a backticks on polish keyboard,
```````````````````````
sorry for my stupid error. Shocked
Your command works ok, thanks for this.
Danke schön.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1513
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Tue 02 Apr 2013, 17:40    Post subject:  

Barburo wrote:
Frisbee was solid in 5.49 but in 5.5 it sometimes drops the wifi connection if I do not open a browser immediately. Seems to get it back again by retrying the connection.
I have discovered why and have fixed it in the version of frisbee and its friends (in a "kit" tarball), posted here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=693212#693212
All packages in the kit should be installed together into any of the 5.5 puppies (and any other built from the current woof, but not any older than that).
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Whitesnow


Joined: 20 Nov 2007
Posts: 103
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Thu 04 Apr 2013, 21:21    Post subject: Xbatalarm-1.0_x86.pet
Subject description: Very lightweight battery monitor utility for laptops
 

I posted a very lightweight software, useful to solve battery laptop problem:

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=85475

_________________
*.* Snow *.* Wink
My repo: http://qualapinna.dyndns.org/repo
My blog: http://qualapinna.dyndns.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
the-jub


Joined: 09 Nov 2011
Posts: 31
Location: England

PostPosted: Sun 07 Apr 2013, 22:32    Post subject:    

Very Happy just installed, looks good. nice touch that flash is already there. thanks Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Barburo


Joined: 14 Jun 2007
Posts: 283

PostPosted: Mon 08 Apr 2013, 01:20    Post subject:  

Rerwin,
Thanks for the link to the Frisbee .pets. They are installed and I'll monitor the how my wifi connection behaves, plus I will keep an eye on that thread.
B.

_________________
Laptop: Acer Aspire 5810TZ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
recobayu


Joined: 15 Sep 2010
Posts: 112
Location: indonesia

PostPosted: Mon 08 Apr 2013, 11:33    Post subject: Frisbee
Subject description: Connect wpa2 enterprise by frisbee
 

Is possible to connect hotspot with wpa2 enterprise by frisbee? How to enter username and password?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1513
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Tue 09 Apr 2013, 10:43    Post subject: Re: Connect wpa2 enterprise by frisbee  

recobayu,
Thanks for your inquiry. I do not have a wpa2 system to test this with, so say this based on how frisbee appears to work.

Use the "Manage Saved Networks" button to go to a list of saved network profiles, select one, make all the necessary changes and then click "Save Profile". Exit the "Manage.." window (if necessary), select the network in the main frisbee window and click "Connect".

Note that you need to be quick to select and click, because the list gets refreshed every 15 seconds (I think), losing the selection indication. Please let us know how it works out.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
TIW

Joined: 14 Apr 2011
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Wed 10 Apr 2013, 07:19    Post subject: Seamonkey Email Problem
Subject description: Seamonkey won't connect to mailserver
 

Hi everyone. I have downloaded Precise Puppy 5.5. and found that I cannot retrieve my email from Google mail as I have done until now using Sylpheed in Slacko 5.5 .
I have checked all settings off course, but no luck. Any ideas whats wrong ?
Thanks for your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 557

PostPosted: Thu 11 Apr 2013, 02:29    Post subject: Re: Seamonkey Email Problem
Subject description: Seamonkey won't connect to mailserver
 

TIW wrote:
Hi everyone. I have downloaded Precise Puppy 5.5. and found that I cannot retrieve my email from Google mail as I have done until now using Sylpheed in Slacko 5.5 .
I have checked all settings off course, but no luck. Any ideas whats wrong ?
Thanks for your help.


Try this: go to your /root directory of slacko working install. Press Ctrl-H to show hidden files. Copy a backup of Mail and .sylpheed-2.0 directories. Put this directories in precise install in /root directory (delete first the existing Mail and .sylpheed-2.0 directories). If you can download the mail in slacko you will able to do this in precise, too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
TIW

Joined: 14 Apr 2011
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu 11 Apr 2013, 03:52    Post subject: Seamonkey Email Problem
Subject description: Seamonkey still won't connect to mailserver
 

Hi watchdog,
I have done as you suggested and yes Sylpheed works great. However trying to retrieve my email with precise 5.5- sea monkey is still a failure. What can I do about that ? Thanks for your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 557

PostPosted: Thu 11 Apr 2013, 04:51    Post subject: Re: Seamonkey Email Problem
Subject description: Seamonkey still won't connect to mailserver
 

TIW wrote:
Hi watchdog,
However trying to retrieve my email with precise 5.5- seamonkey is still a failure. What can I do about that ? Thanks for your help.


Surely you have wrong settings about gmail. You must get the right settings about ssl for example. If seamonkey works downloading email from google in slacko you can follow the same backup procedure copying /root/.mozilla directory in slacko install to the precise install.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 9 [126 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0859s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0057s) ][ GZIP on ]