Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 01 Oct 2014, 08:29
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Precise Puppy 5.5 Release Candidate
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 18 of 20 [290 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 16, 17, 18, 19, 20 Next
Author Message
kurtdriver

Joined: 16 Jan 2009
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Mon 04 Mar 2013, 19:31    Post subject:  

Probably more of a feature request than a bug, but when I attempted to install puppy to a desktop computer this afternoon, the universal installer wouldn't give me the option of a full installation, it assumed I wanted to keep Windows. I had to run mkfs.ext4 on them first. A newcomer to Linux wouldn't have known to do that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1517
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Mon 04 Mar 2013, 20:06    Post subject: Yet another frisbee update, 20130304  

Thanks to mavrothal and peebee keeping after me, I think I have solved the issue of frisbee not running correctly in racy and wary, and now also in precise. Frisbee, all along, has used the wpa_supplicant "-f" option to specify a "debug" log file. That is apparently configurable when compiling wpa_supplicant. Now, it is rejected, preventing wpa_supplicant from starting. Since the same output goes to stdout, the fix simply redirects the output from the startup of wpa_supplicant, to the log file. I feel it is important that this fix be included in the next beta release, assuming the testing of it goes well.

Barry, please hold off until we get confirmation that my fix works. For anyone who is willing to test it, the package is here:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=684092#684092

EDIT early 3/5/2013: I have verified that the 20130304 frisbee package restores frisbee's normal functionality with wireless networks, on precise 5.4.92. Mavrothal is testing, too, probably on Racy 5.5.
Richard

Last edited by rerwin on Tue 05 Mar 2013, 02:03; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 04 Mar 2013, 20:20    Post subject: Re: /tmp permissions hazard - fixed  

rerwin wrote:
01micko has been after me to clean up the /tmp directory permisions in my frisbee-1.0 packages, because it created situtaion that jeopardizes puppy stablity/rebustness. I have corrected that problem in the 20130228 version now available in the usual places.

Here is his patient explanation to me:
Quote:
Here is the problem.. I wish i could find the link.

If permissions on /tmp are not drwxrwxrwt (or 1777) some cups drivers do not work. We found this problem occurring time and time again in Lupu, and it was mainly because of bad DEB packages with 755 or drwxr-xr-x. A package that contains those permissions will change the permissions on /tmp on the system. Some debs were so bad that they weren't even owned by root! They would default to users:500.

I know you delete the file directly but the damage is done. As soon as the pet gets extracted to it's path the permissions change, check your /tmp, permissions will likely be wrong.

It also affects users who want to use the universal installer to install to a USB drive, I don't know why but it is reported in the slacko-5.4 bug thread, I can find that link.. http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=677630#677630

I hope this gives you some understanding. I had problems with zigbert's Pmusic too, as he was using /tmp as a temporary location to install other stuff, rox right clicks I think, that don't work in woof.

It's not for me, because woof changes the permissions to 1777 when the build is almost complete. it's for the users out there installing and testing. They may find later on that printing has failed or they can't get their USB stick to work. These problems are difficult to debug. If I see a post like that I'll ask for the output of ls -l /

NOTE: You only need to change the permissions on /tmp and no other directory in your package tree.
. . .
In rox, if you select "properties" you get the checkboxes, all on the left (9 of them) should be checked and on the right the bottom one.. "sticky" is the label.


The link points to this conversation:
Quote:
Master_wrong
. . .
during install into usb flashdisk there is syslinux error
Quote:
possibly unsafe /tmp/ permissions

fix
Quote:
chmod 1777 /tmp

then run installer
_________________

01micko

Perms are already 1777 on /tmp. You may have installed a bad package.
_________________

SFR

@Master_wrong & @01micko

That's strange, but in my case /tmp sometimes has 1777 and sometimes 777.
Eg. in my install (pmedia=ataflash on internal SATA HDD) it had 777 by default and I couldn't make it to preserve 1777 after reboot.
(/initrd/pup_ro2/tmp has 777 as well, perhaps that's why?)
I simply added chmod 1777 /tmp to rc.sysinit to achieve this.

On the other hand, when I switch to pmedia=atahd, /tmp suddenly becomes 1777 and, in addition, it appears as a mount point.
(I checked this a few minutes ago in VBox, 5.4-PAE)

Also, pristine boot without a savefile also gives /tmp 777.

IIRC I noticed this also in 5.3.3, but I didn't report it, because usually I have "luck" of experiencing "it's_just_me" kind of issues...


Attached are small mods to dir2pet and installpkg.sh to ensure correct permissions in a .pet and after installation of any package. Here are the difference listings:
Code:
--- dir2pet-5492   2013-01-13 19:09:21.000000000 -0500
+++ dir2pet   2013-03-02 16:33:48.000000000 -0500
@@ -13,6 +13,7 @@
 #w482 if preexisting pet.specs, read fields from it.
 #100201 improve reading of pet.specs
 #100303 fix bug detection arch-dependent pkg.
+#130302 ensure package tmp directory, if any, has all permissions.
 
 if [ ! $1 ];then
  echo "It is required to invoke this script like this:
@@ -347,6 +348,8 @@
  exit
 fi
 
+[ -d $DIRPKG/$BASEPKG/tmp ] && chmod 1777 $DIRPKG/$BASEPKG/tmp #130302
+
 cat /tmp/petspec_db_entry | tail -n 1 > $DIRPKG/$BASEPKG/pet.specs
 
 echo



--- installpkg-5492.sh   2013-02-19 08:35:15.000000000 -0500
+++ installpkg.sh   2013-03-02 16:31:22.000000000 -0500
@@ -47,6 +47,7 @@
 #130114 revert 130112 "multiarch symlinks now optional".
 #130126 'categories.dat' format changed.
 #130219 grep, ignore case.
+#130302 ensure tmp directory has all permissions after package expansion.
 
 #information from 'labrador', to expand a .pet directly to '/':
 #NAME="a52dec-0.7.4"
@@ -358,6 +359,8 @@
 mv /*.xpm /usr/local/lib/X11/mini-icons/ 2>/dev/null
 mv /*.png /usr/local/lib/X11/mini-icons/ 2>/dev/null
 
+ls -dl /tmp | grep -q '^drwxrwxrwt' || chmod 1777 /tmp #130302
+
 #post-install script?...
 if [ -f /pinstall.sh ];then #pet pkgs.
  chmod +x /pinstall.sh


Thanks, done in Woof.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 04 Mar 2013, 20:31    Post subject:  

mchabez wrote:
2. Package deps like "upstart-job" aren't resolved in PPM. There is no such package name "upstart-job" in the Ubuntu Precise repos, as it's a virtual package provided by "upstart". One such package dependent on upstart-job is "binfmt-support".


Yes, I see. OK, I will have a go at fixing that.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Ray MK


Joined: 05 Feb 2008
Posts: 765
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 05 Mar 2013, 02:28    Post subject:  

 Precise Puppy version 5.4.93, released Feb 2013

Linux puppypc17519 3.8.0 #1 SMP Wed Feb 20 17:29:16 GMT-8 2013 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux

# free
total used free shared buffers
Mem: 366580 351240 15340 0 13320
-/+ buffers: 337920 28660
Swap: 658660 35992 622668

#top
Mem: 353560K used, 13020K free, 0K shrd, 15580K buff, 235568K cached
CPU: 15% usr 5% sys 0% nic 79% idle 0% io 0% irq 0% sirq
Load average: 0.37 0.61 0.50 1/94 25031

This running extremely well on my 10yr old Acer laptop. Usual setup - manual frugal to ext3 - booting with grub4dos.

Resources are only fractionally more than Wary 5.5 and much less than Racy 5.5 - temp seems similar to Wary - quite remarkable - and with k3.8.0.

Report whilst running SM browser, Abiword and top.

This is one stunning Puppy - very snappy (even on 10yr old kit) - Luvly.
hardinfo_report.html.gz
Description  not a gz. rename to html.
gz

 Download 
Filename  hardinfo_report.html.gz 
Filesize  44.17 KB 
Downloaded  210 Time(s) 

_________________
Asus 701SD. 2gig ram. 8gb SSD. IBM A21m laptop. 192mb ram. PIII Coppermine proc. X60 T2400 1.8Ghz proc. 2gig ram. 80gb hdd. T41 Pentium M 1400Mhz. 512mb ram.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mchabez

Joined: 21 Feb 2013
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue 05 Mar 2013, 04:52    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
mchabez wrote:
2. Package deps like "upstart-job" aren't resolved in PPM. There is no such package name "upstart-job" in the Ubuntu Precise repos, as it's a virtual package provided by "upstart". One such package dependent on upstart-job is "binfmt-support".


Yes, I see. OK, I will have a go at fixing that.


This article shows how virtual packages work in Ubuntu-based distros.
http://people.canonical.com/~cjwatson/ubuntu-policy/policy.html/ch-relationships.html#s-virtual
It also applies to Debian-based ones as well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1723
Location: wales

PostPosted: Tue 05 Mar 2013, 14:11    Post subject:  

anikin wrote:
An attempt to remaster precise-4.5.93 (no CD drive, but the ISO is mounted) ends with this error warning - see attached image. The one-line fix suggested in wary/racy thread doesn't help. Any ideas?

PS: this was initially posted in a wrong thread, sorry.

edit: a quick test - remaster doesn't stumble on this ISO in dpup exprimo-3.6.2. Something must have changed in the script. See another attached image.


hi again anikin,

i can confirm this bug in 5.5 beta

_________________
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
LÖVE2d, a collection of 27 lua gameshttp://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=76739
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 05 Mar 2013, 16:44    Post subject: Re: Yet another frisbee update, 20130304  

rerwin wrote:
Thanks to mavrothal and peebee keeping after me, I think I have solved the issue of frisbee not running correctly in racy and wary, and now also in precise. Frisbee, all along, has used the wpa_supplicant "-f" option to specify a "debug" log file. That is apparently configurable when compiling wpa_supplicant. Now, it is rejected, preventing wpa_supplicant from starting. Since the same output goes to stdout, the fix simply redirects the output from the startup of wpa_supplicant, to the log file. I feel it is important that this fix be included in the next beta release, assuming the testing of it goes well.

Barry, please hold off until we get confirmation that my fix works. For anyone who is willing to test it, the package is here:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=684092#684092

EDIT early 3/5/2013: I have verified that the 20130304 frisbee package restores frisbee's normal functionality with wireless networks, on precise 5.4.92. Mavrothal is testing, too, probably on Racy 5.5.
Richard


OK, I have grabbed the 20130304 frisbee pet, this morning, I am doing the 4th download.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 06 Mar 2013, 01:27    Post subject:  

Precise Puppy 5.4.95 (5.5 Release Candidate) is out:

http://bkhome.org/blog2/?viewDetailed=00163

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1135
Location: England

PostPosted: Wed 06 Mar 2013, 03:51    Post subject:  

Hi BarryK,

Upgraded direct from my 5.4 PAE Multi-session-live-CD to
5.4.95 and all seems perfect.

I will use as my Main OS until Sunday and will report back
should there occur anything of interest.

My regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mchabez

Joined: 21 Feb 2013
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed 06 Mar 2013, 05:44    Post subject:  

Two very minor issues in the RC:
1. Glipper's tray icon is still completely opaque, it's in a white box.
2. Acceptthesesettingsandadjustconfigurationfiles(y/n)? in pppoe-setup.

I'll post them if I find more Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5797
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Wed 06 Mar 2013, 05:53    Post subject:  

Quick manual frugal install of Precise 5.4.9.5..... everything working ootb.

# report-video
VIDEO REPORT: Precise Puppy, version 5.4.95

Chip description:
VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation NV18 [GeForce4 MX 440 AGP 8x] (rev c1)

Requested by /etc/X11/xorg.conf:
Resolution (widthxheight, in pixels): 1440x900
Depth (bits, or planes): 24
Modules requested to be loaded: dbe

Probing Xorg startup log file (/var/log/Xorg.0.log):
Driver loaded (and currently in use): nouveau
Loaded modules: dbe dri dri2 exa extmod fb glx kbd mouse record shadowfb

Actual rendering on monitor:
Resolution: 1440x900 pixels (380x238 millimeters)
Depth: 24 planes

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video
# glxgears
Running synchronized to the vertical refresh. The framerate should be
approximately the same as the monitor refresh rate.
2029 frames in 5.0 seconds = 405.782 FPS
2079 frames in 5.0 seconds = 415.642 FPS
2040 frames in 5.0 seconds = 407.782 FPS
2123 frames in 5.0 seconds = 424.554 FPS

-Computer-
Processor : AMD Athlon(tm) XP 2400+
Memory : 1034MB (191MB used)
Operating System : Unknown distribution
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Wed 06 Mar 2013 03:55:14 AM CST
-Display-
Resolution : 1440x900 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Mesa DRI nv18 x86/MMX+/3DNow!+/SSE
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Multimedia-
Audio Adapter : VIA8233 - VIA 8235

Waiting for the final so I can install a non-pae kernel and get some use out of this.Good job though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4790
Location: GB

PostPosted: Wed 06 Mar 2013, 06:56    Post subject:  

5.4.95:
Everything, sound, video, connection, Flash, OOTB, even on an heavily clocked XP2800+@XP3000+, both ATI and nV without subterfuges.
[Won't be testing on any Intel cr*p any more, not even freebies - too many issues, failures, inadequacies, etc. quite apart from the Mickey Mouse cpu socket design and compatibility dances they've led us this last decade. Good luck to those determined to persevere!]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 881
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Wed 06 Mar 2013, 08:43    Post subject:  

Very minor thing and may even be intentional, but the Planner Project Management app is in both the "Business" and "Utility" categories of the menu.

In /usr/share/applications/planner.desktop the line
"Categories=ProjectManagement"
places it in both (in accordance with /etc/xdg/menus/hierarchy ?).

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2114
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 06 Mar 2013, 10:52    Post subject: Precise Puppy 5.5 Release Candidate
Subject description: 5495 remaster
 

Running from a remastered 5495 installed to a 16gb SDHC card, using
grub4dos as the bootloader.
video-info-glx 1.5.1 Wed 6 Mar 2013 on Precise Puppy 5.4.95 Linux 3.2.29 i686
0.0 VGA compatible controller:NVIDIA Corporation G84[GeForce 8600 GT](rev a1)
oem: NVIDIA
product: G84 Board - p402h00 Chip Rev
X Server: Xorg Driver: nvidia
X.Org version: 1.11.3
dimensions: 1440x900 pixels (373x231 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes
direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL renderer string: GeForce 8600 GT/PCIe/SSE2
OpenGL version string: 3.3.0 NVIDIA 310.32
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz
Core 0: @1603 1: @1603 2: @1603 3: @1603 MHz
Memory 8310MB (218MB used)

I haven't tested it a lot but no problems so far.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   30.2 KB
 Viewed   664 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 18 of 20 [290 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 16, 17, 18, 19, 20 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1322s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0226s) ][ GZIP on ]