yet another Format/partition HD question (solved)

Booting, installing, newbie
ICanoe2

yet another Format/partition HD question (solved)

#1 Post by ICanoe2 »

I am a Linux newbie and I have been digging through the forum to find information on doing a "clean" install of Puppy 2.0.0. I read the formatting instructions at http://www.puppylinux.org/wikka/harddiskinstall however I find it hard to believe that it has to be this difficult. Is it really necessary to make DBN and DOS floppies? :cry:

I was "heartened" (good word Sage) to come across the following in a post on the puppy power forum.
Marcel wrote:It would be great to have a Puppy that installed easily (to revive a "dead" machine, as my old Compaq was), wiping the whole darn HD, setting up the partitions, incl.swap, and then installing everything- all in one fell swoop (whatever a "fell swoop" is).
Sage wrote:If you read Barry's daily news updates, you will be heartened to learn that this is exactly what he plans for v 2.0
Is it true? :o
Basically I have been messing around on this machine over the past few months with the various puppy flavours available and now that I have learned enough to be dangerous I would like to re-format and clean up my hard drive and to run Puppy 2.0.0.

In case it is required the following is my system configuration.
Pentium P2 - 300 MHz
128 Meg of RAM
12X CD drive
1.44 floppy drive
6 Gig hard drive - currently partitioned as follows:
Device________boot____start__end__Blocks__ID____System
/dev/hda1______*_______1___385________________Linux
/dev/hda2_____________386__514________________Linux swap/Solaris
/dev/hda3_____________515__787________________Linux

I also have another "modern" machine in which I could install this drive if need be.

How can I blow away everything on the drive and re-partition it and do a complete new Puppy 2.0.0 set-up from scratch?

P.S. Thanks for Puppy, and thanks for your patience and assistance.