Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 23 Sep 2014, 08:40
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Sleep mode does not work acpitool -s
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Author Message
johnyaarts

Joined: 05 Feb 2013
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue 05 Feb 2013, 18:21    Post subject:  Sleep mode does not work acpitool -s  

Hi, i am a newbe and have installed puppy slacko5.4frugal on a asrock ion 330 htpc.
Until no everything works fine.
But i have a problem with turn the pc to sleep mode
After comand acpitool -S
The computer doesn't go in sleepmode, the output of the command acptool -s is

Function Do_Suspend : could not open file : /proc/acpi/sleep.
You must have write access to /proc/acpi/sleep to suspend your computer.

What am I doing wrong?
Regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mr.Puppy

Joined: 05 Aug 2013
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Fri 09 Aug 2013, 10:32    Post subject:  

I have the same problem with acpitool -s. I have a frugal install of Puppy Precise 5.7.1 and I have given write-access to the directory /proc/acpi/. Even after giving write-access to the directory /proc/acpi/ I still have this problem. I can't even make the file sleep manually in the directory /proc/acpi/.

Could this issue be caused by the frugal install itself? And has anybody any idea how to fix this acpitool -s problem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
scabz


Joined: 30 Apr 2009
Posts: 302
Location: Tallahassee FL US

PostPosted: Fri 09 Aug 2013, 11:10    Post subject:  

you can suspend without acpitool.
paste this in console
Code:
echo mem > /sys/power/state

this method works on my eeepc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger 
Mr.Puppy

Joined: 05 Aug 2013
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Fri 09 Aug 2013, 11:41    Post subject:  

scabz wrote:
you can suspend without acpitool.
paste this in console
Code:
echo mem > /sys/power/state

this method works on my eeepc.


This method works. And how do I suspend it to disk like Windows XP does with Hibernate?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
scabz


Joined: 30 Apr 2009
Posts: 302
Location: Tallahassee FL US

PostPosted: Fri 09 Aug 2013, 12:26    Post subject:  

i have never used Hibernate, found this post though http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=59336
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 848
Location: lincoln

PostPosted: Fri 09 Aug 2013, 12:33    Post subject:  

ozsouth kindly created 'suspbase' which solved the problem on my thinkpads (T61,T500)

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=86228&search_id=234277193

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Fri 09 Aug 2013, 17:37    Post subject:  

Acpitool: commandline ACPI status program for laptops from 2008

acpi-tool-0.5.1 racy-5.3 from 2012
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0555s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0057s) ][ GZIP on ]