Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 23 Oct 2014, 10:43
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Misc
Archpup 13.2 info
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 6 [76 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Author Message
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1697

PostPosted: Mon 04 Feb 2013, 06:49    Post subject:  Archpup 13.2 info  

Archpup 13.2.1 has been released and has its own thread, opened by its developer


===========================================

Following Archpup-12.04, Archpup-12.12 and the planning phase, simarglreleased Archpup_13.2 in sourceforge.

At the same time simargl decided to withdraw from the Puppy Forum and not announce Archpup_13.2 in the forum.
So this post serves as an announcement rather than a traditional pupplet thread.
A "service" to puppians that followed Archpup so far.
You can contact simargl directly through the Archpup site in sourceforge (linked above).
You can monitor Archpup development through simargl's Archpup building repos

Puppians new to Archpup should know that Archpup has no resemblance to puppy outside the initrd and a couple of scripts (snapmergepuppy and sfs_load). It is basically Arch linux running with a layered (Aufs) filesystem.
It is using the pacman and PacmanXG4 (a UI for pacman) for package management and is 99.9% compatible with the Arch and AUR repos and their thousands of packages.
It does not have the various P-apps and wizards and pets can not be installed OOTB (but there is an app to install pets).
Pets and Arch packages can be converted to SFSs, with the provided scripts and installed as SFSs (Archpup supports 24 SFSs) with SFS_load.

PS: Be informed that the Archpup developer is not involved and I do not even know if he is going to "watch" this thread.
So it is possible that questions/bugs/solutions posted here, may go unanswered/unnoticed...

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy

Last edited by mavrothal on Mon 11 Feb 2013, 00:46; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 319

PostPosted: Mon 04 Feb 2013, 07:21    Post subject: Re: Archpup 13.2 info  

Mav, Are you on speaking terms with simargl?

Will he let the project go after 132?

If so has anyone else succeded in building it. I mean is there anybody to take over?

Did we tire him out?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1697

PostPosted: Mon 04 Feb 2013, 07:51    Post subject: Re: Archpup 13.2 info  

Scooby wrote:
Mav, Are you on speaking terms with simargl?

He responded in an e-mail I send. I believe he will do the same in any e-mail that relates to Archpup development and is constructive.

Scooby wrote:
Will he let the project go after 132?

There are already commits after the release of 13.2 so I would say that he will not abandon it

Scooby wrote:
If so has anyone else succeded in building it. I mean is there anybody to take over?


I do not know. I do not know.

Scooby wrote:
Did we tire him out?

I do not know that either.
But As I said above Archpup has really very little relationship with puppy outside initrd.
So he may just decided that would be confusing to be associated with Puppy.

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 319

PostPosted: Mon 04 Feb 2013, 14:29    Post subject:  

But to the user it feels just like a puppy?

I think it fit perfectly here in puppy land.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bark_bark_bark

Joined: 05 Jun 2012
Posts: 838
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon 04 Feb 2013, 16:53    Post subject:  

But it is not Puppy, it is just a Arch Linux Remaster.
_________________
Desktop: Intel 945PSN Motherboard, 3.2Ghz P-IV "Prescott 2M", 2GB RAM, 500GB WD HDD, Windows 7
(Slacko) Puppy Arcade 11 on USB Stick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1697

PostPosted: Tue 05 Feb 2013, 01:11    Post subject:  

Scooby wrote:
But to the user it feels just like a puppy?

I think it fit perfectly here in puppy land.


I agree with you but I'm not simargl Very Happy

bark_bark_bark wrote:
But it is not Puppy, it is just a Arch Linux Remaster.

except that there is no such a thing as "Arch Linux Remaster"! (try to google it)
This tells you something. No?

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl8

Joined: 06 Feb 2013
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Wed 06 Feb 2013, 11:24    Post subject:  

Hello everyone this is my first post... Razz
...Or maybe not Wink
mavrothal, I've uploaded initrd-tree to bitbucket, and then discovered that files from /dev folder
could not be added in hg (mercurial) base Confused . So I compressed them to dev_initrd_tree.tar.xz
(found info for this on Barry's blog), and adjusted newinit script accordingly. initrd.gz will build
automatically, also my plan is to edit init script so it will show more informations (for example:.
services from init.d when they start, maybe change some colors, show system version etc.)
Next, might be good idea to recompile qt with -Os in CFLAGS to try reducing its size.
qt package from arch = 20.6 MB
converted to spkg (wich uses tar.bz2 compression) = 28 MB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
anikin

Joined: 10 May 2012
Posts: 508

PostPosted: Wed 06 Feb 2013, 13:22    Post subject:  

Hi simargl,

feels good to see you again!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1697

PostPosted: Wed 06 Feb 2013, 13:44    Post subject: Quickset for Archpup 13.2  

simargl8 wrote:
Hello everyone this is my first post... Razz
...Or maybe not Wink


Welcome simargl8! What happened to the other 7 simargl's? Razz

If you intend to stick around you better open a proper thread for 13.2 in "projects"

I see you are moving to gtk3! Hopefully will not give too many bugs.
Yes, devices can not be handled by versioning systems. tarballs is the way to go.
Qt is a pretty big dependency I would avoid it if I could...

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy

Last edited by mavrothal on Wed 13 Feb 2013, 08:58; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl8

Joined: 06 Feb 2013
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Wed 06 Feb 2013, 14:06    Post subject:  

mavrothal wrote:
I see you are moving to gtk3! Hopefully will not give too many bugs.
Yes, devices can not be handled by versioning systems. tarballs is the way to go.
Qt is a pretty big dependency I would avoid it if I could...

I wanted to switch to gtk3, but then gave up ... for now
Compiled spacefm, yad and sakura with gtk3, they worked without problems
Problem with gtk3 is - it doesn't have many applications using it; for example I couldn't find simple image viewer in gtk3.
We must invent some good looking logo
Shocked
http://www.ap.org/

mavrothal wrote:
What happened to the other 7 simargl's? Razz

Laughing Laughing Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
anikin

Joined: 10 May 2012
Posts: 508

PostPosted: Wed 06 Feb 2013, 14:24    Post subject:  

A quick question: I can easily set up a bilingual keyboard layout in xorg.conf. However, it's impossible to create a monitor/display/screen section. Neither in a split form, nor in a single-file (xorg.conf). The entries just disapear upon x restart! The log shows an error, something like 'no server layout is available' The issue can be observed in 12.2 as well as 13.2. An attempt to build a skeleton conf file ends in this error:
Code:
[root@archpup ~]# uname -a
Linux archpup 3.4.28-ARCHPUP #1 SMP Fri Feb 1 14:37:57 UTC 2013 i686 GNU/Linux
[root@archpup ~]# Xorg :0 -configure
Xorg: /lib/libudev.so.1: no version information available (required by Xorg)

Fatal server error:
Server is already active for display 0
   If this server is no longer running, remove /tmp/.X0-lock
   and start again.

(EE)
Please consult the The X.Org Foundation support
    at http://wiki.x.org
 for help.
(EE)
[root@archpup ~]#

Any thoughts?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1697

PostPosted: Wed 06 Feb 2013, 14:36    Post subject:  

simargl8 wrote:

We must invent some good looking logo


what about this one an ArchCat Laughing

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl8

Joined: 06 Feb 2013
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Thu 07 Feb 2013, 03:56    Post subject:  

mavrothal wrote:
what about this one an ArchCat Laughing

Indeed, She does get some "arch" Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
dennis-slacko531


Joined: 18 Jan 2012
Posts: 103
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Thu 07 Feb 2013, 04:20    Post subject: Just wait  

Can't wait to whip some Windoze chump into dual boot paradise! I'm without a win pc but am pretty glad I can now:

1) copy the magic five files to a stick + the win version of grub4dos
2) copy the five to folder/archpup in sh*toze
3) run grub4dos thus spotting archpup to create an new MBR (microsoft bleeds red)
4) end of story, for now
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
cinclus_cinclus

Joined: 22 Feb 2009
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Thu 07 Feb 2013, 08:38    Post subject:  

Did someone try to set keyboard mapping by /etc/locale.gen and locale-gen in 13.2?

In my case I have uncommented the german settings in /etc/locale.ben but then locale-gen says it cannot find /usr/bin/localedef - though that program exists.

Second question: what is the root password for archpup?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 6 [76 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Misc
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0870s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0036s) ][ GZIP on ]