Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 01 Sep 2014, 03:36
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Slacko 5.5 Final
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 19 of 27 [394 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, ..., 25, 26, 27 Next
Author Message
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4238
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Fri 01 Mar 2013, 23:18    Post subject:  

Hi 01Micko. I PM'd a link for the latest in Hardinfo.

Here to help

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2086
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sat 02 Mar 2013, 00:06    Post subject: Slacko 5.4.1 RC
Subject description: 5405 pae
 

I booted the live dvd and did a frugal install to the hard drive with
the universal installer.
video-info-glx 1.5.1 Fri 1 Mar 2013onSlackoPuppy 5.4.0.5 Linux 3.4.17-PAE i686
0.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidiaCorporationG84[GeForce 8600 GT] (rev a1)
oem: NVIDIA
product: G84 Board - p402h00 Chip Rev
X Server: Xorg Driver: nvidia
X.Org version: 1.12.3
dimensions: 1440x900 pixels (373x231 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes
direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL renderer string: GeForce 8600 GT/PCIe/SSE2
OpenGL version string: 3.3.0 NVIDIA 310.32
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz
Core 0: @1603 1: @1603 2: @1603 3: @1603 MHz

The first thing that I did after installing the proprietary nvidia
driver was to open ppm and install kdegames which worked fine.
Earlier today in my other 5405 install I had opened ppm and updated
it,do you think updating ppm may have caused the problems with installing
kdegames on that install?

That's it so far, more to install but it's working well so far.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   61.27 KB
 Viewed   397 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 865
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Sat 02 Mar 2013, 05:23    Post subject:  

Is it on purpose that Gnumeric appears in both the Personal and Business categories of the menu?
_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7794
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 02 Mar 2013, 06:30    Post subject:  

OscarTalks wrote:
Is it on purpose that Gnumeric appears in both the Personal and Business categories of the menu?
It never used to happen, it's the new menu system.

In other news, try the new hardinfo, and Billtoo, this one should open the report.

http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet_packages-slacko14/hardinfo-5.2pre-i486-s14.pet

patch for url (very crude)

Code:
diff -ru hardinfo-i18n/shell/report.c hardinfo-i18n.new/shell/report.c
--- hardinfo-i18n/shell/report.c   2013-01-22 00:20:13.000000000 +1000
+++ hardinfo-i18n.new/shell/report.c   2013-03-02 20:18:19.357390357 +1000
@@ -639,7 +639,8 @@
        gchar *temp;
       
        temp = g_strdup_printf("file://%s", file);
-       open_url(temp);
+       //open_url(temp);
+       system("FILE=`find $HOME -name 'hardinfo_report.html'`;defaultbrowser file://$FILE");
       
        g_free(temp);
         }

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7794
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 02 Mar 2013, 07:19    Post subject:  

Jades wrote:
There is an entry for Slypheed in both the Network and Internet section
Fixed
Jades wrote:
Gnumeric is in both Business and Personal.
Retained in business.
Jades wrote:
Geany is in Utility but not Document.
I'll keep it there
Jades wrote:
Newest version of Pidgin in PPM is 2.10.6.
Check the patches repo Wink


EDIT: However, the way you did it is better. Here's why.
Slackware does not support dependency resolution. When one installs Slackware TM, they are encouraged to install all packages on the DVD, about 2 GB compressed. That's it. That is the entirity (new word) of Slackware. There are NO other officially supported packages. No extra repos. KISS. This is pretty much how windows operates when you think about it. Except that on a clean windows install that costs over $100 you get a crap browser and a crap file manager and thats about it. With Slackware you get the works, web server, mail server, networking, media players, several DE/Wms, all sorts of compilers and all the latest at release time. All for free and all FOSS. Ok, nuff said.

Then comes Salix, which have developed an automated dependency tracker, so that's why our databases for PPM come from there. Armed with that info, Salix (and Slacky) manage to produce stable third party packages fully compatible with Slackware.

So.. you get pidgin from the Slackware repo, but, deps are resolved because of the work of Gapan and the Salix crew. Then patches are produced by Pat Volkerding (sw boss) as issues arise, critical bugs, security type issues.are only addressed for the "stable" version of Slackware. Feature updates are usually not updated for stable.

If you directly get pidgin (or any other package) from the "patches" repo, dependencies are not resolved. So, by getting the original, you get all the deps, then later a patched version may come up. Enter my "Updates Manager". It's designed to only show packages that have either been included in the original iso, or downloaded through PPM after installation. (With the exception of Seamonkey and Firefox, both are included as a distro builder may decide to include one, the other or neither).

Never mind that both show in the "uninstall" gui. The only time that may matter is with Firefox or SeaMonkey, and a message pops up to let you know.

Complicated? Yes! But, bear in mind, puppy is a tiny distro, supporting up to 8 major distros with woof, all with varying package management. We do what we can.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |

Last edited by 01micko on Sat 02 Mar 2013, 10:00; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2376
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 02 Mar 2013, 07:24    Post subject:  

Here's a nice touch if ur using the latest gtkdialog (i assume so, if ur using latest pmusic): http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=688921#688921
_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7794
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 02 Mar 2013, 07:26    Post subject:  

Thanks sc0ttman!
_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2376
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 02 Mar 2013, 07:28    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
Thanks sc0ttman!

Pleasure.. It's my only contribution to a mainstream puppy in about 3 years Smile

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1680
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Sat 02 Mar 2013, 07:46    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
Check the patches repo Wink


I'm sure it's age-related as I do things like forget where I parked my truck....but how to I find the patches repo?

I hope I remember I asked this question so I'll understand the answer.

Thom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4238
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sat 02 Mar 2013, 07:49    Post subject: Failure to access a LAN resource using 541RC  

On a Pristine boot immediately after FirstRUN and Frisbee setup, I tried to mount my NAS and got an error.
Code:
# /mnt/NAS2
# mount -o username=root,password=woofwoof //192.168.1.207/NASunit /mnt/NAS2
mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on  //192.168.1.207/NASunit
       missing codepage or helper program, or other error
       (for several filesystems (e.g. nfs, cifs) you might
       need a /sbin/mount.<type> helper program)
       In some cases useful info is found in syslog - try
       dmesg | tail  or so
Anyone noticed the same.

Hadn't notice this problem in earlier release.
Edit: I used YASSM ..Search and was about to attach the NAS.

Last edited by gcmartin on Sat 02 Mar 2013, 07:55; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7794
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 02 Mar 2013, 07:53    Post subject:  

.
capture11493.png
 Description   
 Filesize   51.23 KB
 Viewed   286 Time(s)

capture11493.png


_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7794
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 02 Mar 2013, 07:57    Post subject: Re: Failure to access a LAN resource using 541RC  

gcmartin wrote:
On a Pristine boot immediately after FirstRUN and Frisbee setup, I tried to mount my NAS and got an error.
Code:
# /mnt/NAS2
# mount -o username=root,password=woofwoof //192.168.1.207/NASunit /mnt/NAS2
mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on  //192.168.1.207/NASunit
       missing codepage or helper program, or other error
       (for several filesystems (e.g. nfs, cifs) you might
       need a /sbin/mount.<type> helper program)
       In some cases useful info is found in syslog - try
       dmesg | tail  or so
Anyone noticed the same.

Hadn't notice this problem in earlier release.
Edit: I used YASSM ..Search and was about to attach the NAS.


SMB?

try mount.cifs

or at least mount -t cifs

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4238
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sat 02 Mar 2013, 08:07    Post subject:  

Already tried -t cifs....but, mount.cifs. yields
Code:
# mount.cifs -o username=root,password=woofwoof //192.168.1.207/NASunit /mnt/NAS2

Mounting the DFS root for domain not implemented yet
No ip address specified and hostname not found
(This is remarkably similar to what happened in FATDOG6+ when it 1st came out. @JamesBond/@Kirk addressed it in the release of 610.)
_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2086
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sat 02 Mar 2013, 08:15    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:

In other news, try the new hardinfo, and Billtoo, this one should open the report.


Yes, it works now,thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4238
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sat 02 Mar 2013, 08:23    Post subject:  

In asn earlier post, it should have read that YASSM has no problem accessing the NAS for me.
_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 19 of 27 [394 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, ..., 25, 26, 27 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1730s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0852s) ][ GZIP on ]