Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 30 Jul 2014, 13:24
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Skype 4.2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 4 [51 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
darkstrike


Joined: 09 Jun 2008
Posts: 168
Location: Fauxburg, Nova Scotia, Canada

PostPosted: Wed 06 Mar 2013, 12:42    Post subject:  

With Microsoft forcing all MSN users to use Skype for messaging instead of Windows Live Messenger (I am hoping they will still allow 3rd party clients as I love Pidgin!), I figured it was time to update Skype on my Linux box as well.

I'm running the latest version of Lucid and downloaded this sfs and the qlib one as well. I converted both of them to .pet files using the sfs2pet converter program and installed both .pets, however, when I run Skype, I am getting an error that says "GLIBC_2.15 NOT FOUND" and Skype fails to launch....anybody have any suggestions? Sad

_________________

In memory of the dogs I've loved...Molly and Farrah...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1369
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Wed 06 Mar 2013, 14:12    Post subject:  

darkstrike wrote:
when I run Skype, I am getting an error that says "GLIBC_2.15 NOT FOUND" and Skype fails to launch....anybody have any suggestions? Sad


I would imagine it means that Lucid is now too old - can you perhaps install Precise - maybe as a frugall install?

Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.03 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darkstrike


Joined: 09 Jun 2008
Posts: 168
Location: Fauxburg, Nova Scotia, Canada

PostPosted: Wed 06 Mar 2013, 15:29    Post subject:  

Hi PeeBee,

Well, I have thought about updating to Puppy Precise in the last while, so I may have to give it a try! Currently I am running a full install of Lucid on a machine that is a little older (1.6ghz Pentium 4, 768mbs of RAM, 10gb HDD, 128mb Sapphire Radeon 9600XT video card), which is the computer I have been talking about, so I imagine it's that Lucid is too old, as you say...just thought I would see if anybody had any suggestions before I updated to Precise....it can be a bit of a faff to set back up all my programs and settings again! Wink

I also have another "tinker box" for Linux with similar stats, so I will have to try installing Precise on that as well (that machine is an 1.5ghz AMD AthlonXP 1800+, 512mbs of RAM, 10gb HDD, 64mb Nvidia Quadro2 Pro video card)...

AND, I've got a third machine (1.8ghz AMD AthlonXP 2500+, 1.5gbs RAM, 20gb HDD, 256mb ATi Radeon All-In-Wonder 9600 video card) waiting in the wings too once I find a case for the parts! Wink

_________________

In memory of the dogs I've loved...Molly and Farrah...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
mow9902

Joined: 26 Nov 2008
Posts: 110

PostPosted: Fri 08 Mar 2013, 18:46    Post subject:
Subject description: skype on lucid
 

I run lucid 5.2.8 on two different laptops. Skype version 4.0 and 4.1 run well on both machines.

You have to dowload the static versions of the apps - simply download as a zipped file - unpack into a directory and use.

I believe that since MS took over skype they have stopped making the static versions available for download off their page. You might have to look around at various forum to see if you can find a static version.

I could zip up my version - but it is about a 47M file - so not sure that I should try to post it here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Makoto


Joined: 03 Sep 2009
Posts: 1778
Location: Out wandering... maybe.

PostPosted: Fri 08 Mar 2013, 18:52    Post subject:  

Is that what causes the...

Code:
./skype: error while loading shared libraries: libQtDBus.so.4: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory


...error, too?

Yeah, all that I could find aside from the distro-specific versions, on Skype's official download page, was the 'dynamic' version. No static version in sight (although a link to a somewhat older static v4 elsewhere on this forum still works...) Sad

_________________
[ Puppy 4.3.1 JP, Frugal install | 1GB RAM | 1.3GB swap ] * My Pidgin Builds for Puppy 4.3.1+
In memory of our beloved American Eskimo puppy (1995-2010) and black Lab puppy (1997-2011).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1635
Location: wales

PostPosted: Fri 08 Mar 2013, 19:17    Post subject:  

skype 4.1 does work on lucid, but you'll need to install the missing qt dependencies from the PPM to get it to work,

you'll need to enable all the ubuntu repos in the PPM then install ....
libqt4-dbus and libqt4-webkit and there dependencies

_________________
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
LÖVE2d, a collection of 27 lua gameshttp://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=76739
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darkstrike


Joined: 09 Jun 2008
Posts: 168
Location: Fauxburg, Nova Scotia, Canada

PostPosted: Tue 12 Mar 2013, 08:31    Post subject:  

Thanks guys, maybe I'll try installing the dependencies before I format to put Puppy Precise on!
_________________

In memory of the dogs I've loved...Molly and Farrah...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 824
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Fri 10 May 2013, 10:57    Post subject: Skype 4.1.0.20 for Wheezy Puppy (TEST)  

Has anyone been able to sign in to Skype with a Microsoft account in Puppy at all? I've had no joy so far.

Anyway, I downloaded the Debian Wheezy version of Skype from the Skype website and added all the needed dependency libs into a private directory. These are all official Debian Wheezy qt, gstreamer and libaudio libs and the directory is placed inside /usr/share/skype along with the big binary and the whole thing is self-contained and launched via a script. I believe this method is OK. Correct me if I am wrong. It is big but should not clash with other programs or cause problems if uninstalled. Seems OK on brief testing here in Wheezy Puppy (except for no Microsoft sign in). Please test and comment. No warranty.

The .deb installs the file skype.conf into /etc/dbus-1/system.d so I left that in, but not sure if it is needed in Puppy or should be elsewhere or removed.

EDIT:-
Download links removed
I have posted a newer version for Dpup Wheezy here:-
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=709073#709073


I did do a similar thing with Precise Puppy, downloaded the Skype version and all dependency libs. It did work but I was getting lots of ALSA LIB messages in console relating to various things including pulse audio and something called the DSNOOP PLUG IN. What the heck is that I wonder? Doesn't sound very friendly does it?

I think I will still be mostly using good old version 2.2.0.35 of Skype to be honest. It has always served me well.

_________________
Oscar in England


Last edited by OscarTalks on Tue 18 Jun 2013, 22:17; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Fri 10 May 2013, 11:26    Post subject:  

In Precise Puppy, try to delete the content of /usr/share/alsa/alsa.conf.d. It has pulse audio related conf files, which will be noticed even though pulse audio is not in use, which causes disturbing messages.

Working fine in Dpup Wheezy. Special thanks of your effort and uploading your great achievement.

What the heck is Microsoft account. I am afraid I dont have that kind....and wont acquire one for trouble shooting. I think I have heard about that company somewhere.
I have skype account and it works fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 824
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Fri 10 May 2013, 16:03    Post subject:  

Pemasu,
In Precise Puppy removing the 2 files in /usr/share/alsa/alsa.conf.d does stop the messages relating to pulse audio.

I do still get a lot of other messages though, maybe they are not important. They seem to relate mostly to pcm_dmix (only accepts playback) and pcm_dsnoop (only accepts capture) so I guess these are part of alsa and are just talking about traffic to each being only allowed one way.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Makoto


Joined: 03 Sep 2009
Posts: 1778
Location: Out wandering... maybe.

PostPosted: Fri 10 May 2013, 16:36    Post subject:  

pemasu wrote:
What the heck is Microsoft account. I am afraid I dont have that kind....and wont acquire one for trouble shooting. I think I have heard about that company somewhere.
I have skype account and it works fine.


Microsoft now owns Skype. They're ending their MSN Messenger/Live service, for the most part, and basically converting all those accounts for use with Skype. It's not a forced change, though, as far as I'm aware.

I wouldn't be surprised if it weren't possible to set up an MSN Messenger account at this point (it's past the deadline when they were supposedly going to shut down Messenger services, anyway.)

It does pose a potential problem for those of us who do have MSN Messenger accounts, though... I don't think I'll ever be able to get Skype 4 running on this system, so here's hoping they leave the Messenger services running. Very Happy

_________________
[ Puppy 4.3.1 JP, Frugal install | 1GB RAM | 1.3GB swap ] * My Pidgin Builds for Puppy 4.3.1+
In memory of our beloved American Eskimo puppy (1995-2010) and black Lab puppy (1997-2011).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sancxjo


Joined: 29 Apr 2013
Posts: 49
Location: Russia

PostPosted: Sat 25 May 2013, 23:31    Post subject:  

Hello!
Uploaded files skype-4.1.0.20.sfs and qt-4.8.2-stripped.sfs.
Put them in a directory: /mnt/home.
In theory it should be in the Internet menu, not Network.
But it is not anywhere on the menu at all Sad .
In the terminal, typed:
Code:
skupe

Skype blinked and closed immediately.
In the terminal:
Code:
Inconsistency detected by...
Shocked
What the hell does he want?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1369
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Sun 26 May 2013, 02:19    Post subject:  

sancxjo wrote:
Hello!
Uploaded files skype-4.1.0.20.sfs and qt-4.8.2-stripped.sfs.
Put them in a directory: /mnt/home.
In theory it should be in the Internet menu, not Network.
But it is not anywhere on the menu at all Sad .
In the terminal, typed:
Code:
skupe

Skype blinked and closed immediately.
In the terminal:
Code:
Inconsistency detected by...
Shocked
What the hell does he want?


Hello

Which Puppy?

How is Puppy installed? What size savefile?

Don't understand "Put them in a directory: /mnt/home" - do you mean this is where you downloaded the sfs's to?

How did you install the sfs's?

If possible please provide the full terminal error message. A screenie if you can't capture the words as test.

Not enough information in your report at the moment I'm afraid.

Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.03 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sancxjo


Joined: 29 Apr 2013
Posts: 49
Location: Russia

PostPosted: Sun 26 May 2013, 05:44    Post subject:  

Operating System: Lxpup 13.01
Desktop Panel: lxpanel 0.5.10
Desktop Window Manager: Openbox 3.5.0
Desktop Start: xwin startlxde

Files are in the directory:
/initrd/mnt/dev_save
or this same: /mnt/home
lxpupsave-2013.05.08.3fs size 1.0 GiB
The total size of the section size 3GiB

Code:
# skype
Inconsistency detected by ld.so: dl-open.c: 667: _dl_open: Assertion `_dl_debug_initialize (0, args.nsid)->r_state == RT_CONSISTENT' failed!

I also used the menu "sfs Manager download and install sfs files"
Maybe they conflict
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1369
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Sun 26 May 2013, 07:39    Post subject:  

sancxjo wrote:
Operating System: Lxpup 13.01
Code:
# skype
Inconsistency detected by ld.so: dl-open.c: 667: _dl_open: Assertion `_dl_debug_initialize (0, args.nsid)->r_state == RT_CONSISTENT' failed!

I also used the menu "sfs Manager download and install sfs files"
Maybe they conflict


Sort of sounds like you may have a corrupt download - have you checked the md5 checksums on the sfs's? as shown in post #1

The sfs should be located either in the top level directory of the partition or in the subdirectory containing the frugal install

To install the sfs's you should just click on them (or maybe double click in LxPup 13.01)

Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.03 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 4 [51 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1033s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0125s) ][ GZIP on ]