Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 30 Aug 2014, 02:20
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
JWM Desktop Updates to V755 (Release) and V910 (Test)
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 13 of 16 [238 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 Next
Author Message
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2505
Location: Burghaslach, Germany somewhere also known as "Hosla"

PostPosted: Wed 14 Aug 2013, 07:16    Post subject:  

anikin wrote:
... What does it show, that's not already evident when one looks at the minimized tray?...


It is not always already evident, see my example with 6 apps in the tray, please
Wink
some_apps_in_tray.png
 Description   
 Filesize   11.68 KB
 Viewed   975 Time(s)

some_apps_in_tray.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
anikin

Joined: 10 May 2012
Posts: 460

PostPosted: Wed 14 Aug 2013, 07:47    Post subject:  

Hi Jasper et L18L,

I can't disagree with what you guys are saying Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
joewing

Joined: 24 Dec 2006
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Wed 14 Aug 2013, 18:35    Post subject:  

So it turns out there is a way to change the spacing of components in "Dock". I forgot to put it in the online documentation, but there's a "width" parameter that sets a minimum width for components in the dock. So it should be possible to space out Dock components by setting the width larger than the height of the tray should do the trick for horizontal trays. Other tray components can be spaced out with the "Spacer" tray component.

I think the popup issue should be fixed in newer versions of JWM (845 and beyond). If you want to completely disable popups, you can set:
Code:

<PopupStyle enabled="false">
</PopupStyle>


- Joe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
recobayu


Joined: 15 Sep 2010
Posts: 112
Location: indonesia

PostPosted: Sun 18 Aug 2013, 21:04    Post subject:  

Joewing, thanks of many updates of jwm. I like this window manager because of his small and fast. Very Happy
I want to ask, can I show desktop in terminal? What is the command?
Oh ya, I can change between the window by pressing ctrl + tab. But the order is not like what I want. The example, if i open abiword, then gnumeric, then mtpaint, then rox filer (so now the active window is rox filer). Could the window change to mtpaint directly when I press ctrl + tab?
Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
joewing

Joined: 24 Dec 2006
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Mon 19 Aug 2013, 10:22    Post subject:  

recobayu,

There's no direct way to have JWM show the desktop from the command line right now. Other X programs can tell JWM to show the desktop (as well as other things) using the EWMH, so it would be possible to have a separate program that just communicated with the existing version of JWM. Such a program may already exist, if not it would be fairly simple to write.

As far as the order of switching windows is concerned, there are four bindings: "next", "nextstacked", "prev", and "prevstacked". I think "nextstacked" should give you the order you want.

- Joe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MochiMoppel


Joined: 26 Jan 2011
Posts: 368
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Thu 12 Sep 2013, 22:22    Post subject: Border selection and Alt+drag  

Sorry if this has been discussed before. I tried to make my point in this thread , but was advised to ask here.

In short: In maximised state shifting the mouse to the right edge hits the border, not the scrollbar. I consider this a bug, which makes it very difficult for me to scroll through long pages, particularly since the alternative way in my Opera browser, using Alt+Ctrl+drag to pan pages, is also impossible. JWM not only captures Alt+drag to move a window, it captures Alt+any key+drag - way too much and obstructive. In Openbox Alt+Ctrl works as expected, so this can't be a "standard behaviour" issue.

Regarding the possibility to resize in maximized state: This has now been fixed for the future version, but honestly this feature is odd, but brilliant. Without the annoying border selection issue this feature is very useful, especially the possibility to resize a miximized window with the keyboard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 863
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Mon 30 Sep 2013, 09:03    Post subject:  

MochiMoppel wrote:
In maximised state shifting the mouse to the right edge hits the border, not the scrollbar.


I upgraded all my machines to JWM version 869 yesterday and the borders have now been removed so in maximised state if you push the cursor all the way to the edge you are on the scrollbar and can move it.

Thanks to Joe for all the hard work in continuing to develop JWM.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MochiMoppel


Joined: 26 Jan 2011
Posts: 368
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Tue 01 Oct 2013, 11:50    Post subject:  

OscarTalks wrote:
if you push the cursor all the way to the edge you are on the scrollbar and can move it.

I installed jwm2-845-w5c.pet today, the newest (?) pet offered for download and still hit the border and when trying to drag the scrollbar an annoying dimension indicator pops up in the center of the screen. Where can I download an even newer version?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 863
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Tue 01 Oct 2013, 12:23    Post subject:  

MochiMoppel wrote:
Where can I download an even newer version?


I just download the source code from:-

http://joewing.net/projects/jwm

The borders were removed at around version 859 so it needs to be that or a later one. The version number is up to 871 now as I write this. Are you OK with compiling? If not I can try to send a .pet to you via PM for you to test. Hopefully the OP of this thread will be uploading a .pet of a newer version soon as well.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MochiMoppel


Joined: 26 Jan 2011
Posts: 368
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Tue 01 Oct 2013, 23:16    Post subject:  

Thanks, Oscar, that's very kind of you. Actually I've never compiled anything, but now I tried for the first time. I ran configure without any options, then make and came up with a single 719K jwm file. Is this correct? File version is 871.

I haven't yet tested much but it looks good: Borders are gone and even the Alt+any key+drag bug is fixed Very Happy

What I find confusing though is the behaviour of the Maximize-... function. When I use a resized window and apply Maximize-y, the window height changes to fill the screen. That's expected, but what I don't expect is that I can't resize the left and right borders although they still show the resize cursors when I hover the mouse.Borders are fixed and the little icon on top (left of the close icon) indicates that the window is maximised. What I expect is that Maximize-y or Maximize-x simply stretches the window but keeps it in resize mode.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 863
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Wed 02 Oct 2013, 08:48    Post subject:  

Sounds like you are on the right track. Have a look at the properties of the jwm binary though. You may find that it is not stripped. Running
Code:
strip --strip-unneeded jwm
on the binary will reduce the size although it does not affect the function. Mine complied in Racy is 149k. The strip command is in the devx. Unusual for stripping to reduce size to that degree but it happens sometimes.

I see what you mean about Maximize-y. This function was introduced into JWM fairly recently. Joe does read this thread it seems, otherwise it may be worth e-mailing him to see if he wants to consider changing it to operate in the way you describe

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1063

PostPosted: Tue 17 Dec 2013, 09:28    Post subject: Fullscreen problem  

Hi Joe & Scsijon

This is an old bug, but today I found some time and patience to determine in exactly which version it appeared for the first time.

The problem is that some apps (e.g. xrick, milkytracker, hurrican) are not able to enter fullscreen mode correctly.
Hard to describe, the attached screenshot says it all.

Ok, and the version that introduces this behavior is s575. s574 and earlier are ok.

I hope it will be possible to fix this.

Thanks &
Greetings!
jwm_xrick+fullscreen.png
 Description   
 Filesize   14.44 KB
 Viewed   429 Time(s)

jwm_xrick+fullscreen.png


_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1026
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Sat 28 Dec 2013, 02:28    Post subject: I'm back.  

thanks SFR, added your message to joe's git problem #101. Hopefully it will help him sort it out.

For the rest I will build a new JWM on my systems and test this week, it should be up this weekend if no show-stoppers are found. I hope to now continue with the JWM thread for a while longer but will only do 'things' on a weekly basis from now on.

For those wondering what other Puppy related things I am up too:-

Working with the folks on woof-CE adding stuff I have for mageia2/3, Opensuse12.3 and the like into their stream for builders.

I'm also starting the long process of building a RACY (?59) with T2's Version 9.0 (which is alpha/beta only at this stage (T2 I mean)). It will allow me to start the processes that will bring the Wayland/Westen server/desktop's into puppyland as I need the core packages to be later than T2's 8.0. I will be using Kernel 3.12.3 in any case and won't be worrying about overall size at this point of time. It will have it's own thread and should start to appear in March. All related Packages will live on my site. JWM will remain my xorg/X11 Desktop of choice.

_________________
Puppy T290 - BarryK's Racy but with T2 Version 9.0 is under development.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=94575
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Argolance


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 1825
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)

PostPosted: Wed 26 Feb 2014, 21:20    Post subject:  

Bonsoir,
I found this on the Arrow JWM configuration page (not updated?):
Quote:
Other Settings
The following tags may also be supplied.
Tag Description Default Range
ButtonClose An icon to use for the close button on client windows instead of the default.
ButtonMax An icon to use for the maximize button on client windows instead of the default.
ButtonMaxActivve An icon to use for the maximize button on maximized client windows instead of the default.
ButtonMin An icon to use for the minimize button on client windows instead of the default.

This worked well with previous releases of JWM and perhaps still works but I don't know how...
I usually used a file called jwmrc-extra in /root/.jwm:
Code:
<JWM>
   <ButtonClose>/root/.jwm/W_buttons/Current_ButtonClose.xbm</ButtonClose>
   <ButtonMax>/root/.jwm/W_buttons/Current_ButtonMax.xbm</ButtonMax>
   <ButtonMaxActive>/root/.jwm/W_buttons/Current_ButtonMaxActive.xbm</ButtonMaxActive>
   <ButtonMin>/root/.jwm/W_buttons/Current_ButtonMin.xbm</ButtonMin>
</JWM>

... And console says:
Code:
JWM: warning: /root/.jwm/jwmrc-extra[2]: Balise incorrecte dans JWM: ButtonClose
JWM: warning: /root/.jwm/jwmrc-extra[3]: Balise incorrecte dans JWM: ButtonMax
JWM: warning: /root/.jwm/jwmrc-extra[4]: Balise incorrecte dans JWM: ButtonMaxActive
JWM: warning: /root/.jwm/jwmrc-extra[5]: Balise incorrecte dans JWM: ButtonMin

What's wrong?

@ joe
About tray(s) opacity:
Backgrounds and icons both become transparent. Under 0.8, it is quite impossible to see anything! Don't you think only the background should be affected by this opacity?

Thanks!
Cordialement.
023725_104x207_easyshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   6.99 KB
 Viewed   228 Time(s)

023725_104x207_easyshot.jpg


_________________


Last edited by Argolance on Thu 27 Feb 2014, 14:27; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Argolance


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 1825
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)

PostPosted: Thu 27 Feb 2014, 13:55    Post subject:  

PS:
Quote:
Configuration Changes
JWM no longer allows custom window buttons. These buttons are now custom drawn to an appropriate size using X graphics primitives.

Crying or Very sad
What a pity: not essential, indeed, but appreciated by many users...
Why not keep this feature, at least as compilation option? If JWM can do the big things, can't it do the little things as well?

Cordialement.
140227_191526_174x91_easyshot.png
 Description   I was used to these minimalist buttons: they will miss me!
 Filesize   2.26 KB
 Viewed   184 Time(s)

140227_191526_174x91_easyshot.png


_________________


Last edited by Argolance on Thu 27 Feb 2014, 14:50; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 13 of 16 [238 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1016s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0066s) ][ GZIP on ]