Page 1 of 1

How to get the Arduino program up and running to program mcs

Posted: Sun 20 Jan 2013, 07:34
by tytower
I have been using Arduino for a couple of years now and it is really interesting stuff.

The worst part was getting it downloaded and operating properly.

Thats improved dramatically now with the Arduino V 1.0.3

All you need is Java JRE (java runtime environment ) version 1.6 ,and get it into your PATH and then get Arduino 1.0.3.

Thats all you need now !

On the Arduino "Getting Started " Puppy page I have put
UPDATE by Ty Tower........In Puppy Precise 5.4.2 I have used Arduino Version 1.0.3 and they say the messy downloads are not required . At this time there is no java ".sfs" for Precise that I have seen so get the java JRE 6 it installs in /usr/bin/ and you must change your PATH in your profile to use it. Go to /etc/.profile and find "PATH=" line and add "/usr/java/jre1.6.0_38/bin/:" into the line. Save
Please note the menus don't seem to work with 1.7 java but with 1.6 they are useable so use 1.6.
http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/java/ ... 77409.html
I took the I586 rpm bin file

. Then get Arduino 1.0.3 http://arduino.googlecode.com/files/ard ... inux32.tgz. It installs in / .Open the Arduino file and drag the file "arduino" onto your desktop. Reboot.

At this time I can compile and upload so it seems to be working without the rest of the downloads.
Hope that helps

EDIT The java can be obtained by "pet" see here first to get the pet downloading program
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642

When you get that java is under Internet

Also found an ".sfs" for it here
http://101.143.162.240/puppy/opt/
but when I loaded this I lost arduino altogether with a java or processing problem and removing the script in profile.d/java did not fix it so I don't know on this one . I'll edit this if I play with it and find the reason
I would rather have the ".sfs" work so I can unload it when not needed

Posted: Sun 20 Jan 2013, 09:07
by darkcity
Yep, its easy now they have the Java IDE. I heard it was a bit of a pain previously.

To integrate it with the desktop I put the Arduino app in /opt then created symlink to it in /usr/bin called arduino

And put its icon in /usr/share/pixmaps (attached)

then created the file /usr/share/application/arduino.desktop

Code: Select all

[Desktop Entry]
Name=Arduino
Version=1.0.1
GenericName=Arduino IDE
Comment=Arduino compiler
Exec=arduino
Icon=arduino.png
Categories=Utility
Terminal=false
Type=Application
Note, the full path in Exec and Icon options aren't needed as they have been placed in the default locations.

----

wiki updated http://puppylinux.org/wikka/Arduino

Posted: Sun 20 Jan 2013, 10:14
by tytower
Hmm. suppose its much the same thing . I left it in the root dir / but easy to move elsewhere.
Opening the directory and draging the "arduino" script file to the desktop creates a generic icon and then edit that to get the icon you want which is in the /arduino-1.0.3/reference/img/ directory

Posted: Sun 20 Jan 2013, 10:31
by darkcity
yep, either way is good, people can choose what they prefer 8)

Arduino 1.0.3 plus adding Java7 JRE or Java SDK

Posted: Sun 10 Feb 2013, 05:24
by WB7ODYFred
I added a test file that was tested with Arduino 1.0.3 IDE to compile and work with a OSEPP UNO R3 Plus board that I bought at Fry's Electronics Store here in Oregon. You can also find real Arduino boards at Radio Shack Store.
Whats new in the UNO board. Lady Adafruit http://youtu.be/t4vjCbJdaI4

This is a cheap easy first project to play with Arduino Jave IDE. Two resistors and a composite video cable.
Display Arduino output on a TV for a $1 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WlBXiZpuncg
I reference many URLs in the beginning comment section of the file. I used Lucid Puppy 5.2.8 version. Comment below if it worked for the Precie Puppy Linux 5.4.3.

http://www.instructables.com/id/TV-Out- ... /?ALLSTEPS

Download Java 7 from www.java.com use the 45 MegaByte NON-RPM tar.gz file.

http://www.java.com/en/download/manual.jsp?locale=en

install tarball file to directory /usr/java the use XArchive to select all and extract to directory /usr/java

Cheers on using Arduino 1.0.3 or the later version 1.5 (for the new Duo board)

Here is a set of Arduino Tutorials from Jeff Blum
Tutorial 1 Getting acquinted with Arduino http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fCxzA9_k ... =endscreen
Tutorial 2 Buttons and Switches http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_LCCGFSMOr4

Fred

Copy this to a file Arduino_1.0.3.desktop or use Menu --> Utility --> MenuMaker to create.

Code: Select all

[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Name=Arduino Java IDE
Icon=/root/Desktop/Arduino_Start_icon.png
Comment=Arduino Java IDE
Exec=/root/arduino/arduino-1.0.3/arduino
Terminal=false
Type=Application
Categories=X-PersonalUtility
GenericName=Arduino Java IDE
fSheil file contenst of arduino_start.sh

Code: Select all

#! /bin/sh
cd ~/arduino/arduino*
./arduino &

Posted: Fri 19 Apr 2013, 13:14
by Tug
Greetings Arduinistas,

I recently bought Arduino Uno Rev3 board. I have been using this laptop, Dell Inspiron 4000 with a 7G HDD and 384MB of RAM to mess around with the Arduino board. The only reason I have kept Windows XP on this laptop is because I could never get the wireless working with Puppy, so I have always dual booted with Puppy and Windows XP

But recently it seems that Windows is slower and slower so I guess it is time to wipe it out completely and use a frugal install of Puppy so I won't worry about running out of disk space anymore.

My question is: What version of Puppy should I use to work with Arduino?

If I can't get the wireless thing working on this laptop, I can run ethernet to the router.

Your advice would be appreciated.

Doug

Posted: Fri 19 Apr 2013, 23:04
by tytower
Any puppy version should do it now as long as you install a late version ( >1.0.3) Arduino IDE properly .(post 1)

Your wireless sounds like the trouble I have had with mine see
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=85614
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=84718[/url]

Posted: Fri 19 Apr 2013, 23:14
by tytower
Fred wrote:Have fun with your new Arduion boards!
Don't you think a new thread might be more appropriate with a link to this thread maybe ?
After all its covered in full by the instructable you cite.
This thread was based on installation and is gonna get pretty congested if it is used for pet projects.

I'd love to contribute to a new thread and I've got one to put in it now ,an LED sensor spotlight 20 watt run by an attiny85 and two old car batteries for about $50.

Posted: Sun 21 Apr 2013, 03:57
by Tug
Any puppy version should do it now as long as you install a late version ( >1.0.3) Arduino IDE properly .(post 1)

Your wireless sounds like the trouble I have had with mine see
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=85614
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=84718
Thanks for the info and I will check out the links about the wireless.