Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 23 Nov 2014, 00:46
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » System
quickpet_precise 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 5 [74 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Author Message
spandey

Joined: 20 Sep 2012
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Sat 29 Jun 2013, 11:42    Post subject:  

Thanks now it loads but the background is totally Grey. Nothing is visible expect city names.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1876
Location: wales

PostPosted: Sun 30 Jun 2013, 04:20    Post subject:  

hi spandey .... are you connected to the internet when you run it? as googleearth needs an internet connection
_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
spandey

Joined: 20 Sep 2012
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Sun 30 Jun 2013, 06:22    Post subject:  

Hi 666philb,
Yes I am connected to internet. Google earth opens up but this what I see
capture27438.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  capture27438.png 
Filesize  125.43 KB 
Downloaded  346 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1876
Location: wales

PostPosted: Sun 30 Jun 2013, 06:30    Post subject:  

i would say it's definately to do with whatever driver you're using.... it works fine for me on my AMD and NVIDIA graphics computers, unfortunately i can't test on intel.

is it the same on precise and raring?

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
spandey

Joined: 20 Sep 2012
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Sun 30 Jun 2013, 07:20    Post subject:  

yes it's same on Precise and Raring. Do you have any old version Pet for Google earth like 6.2/6.0 which is compatible to Precise?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1876
Location: wales

PostPosted: Sun 30 Jun 2013, 07:34    Post subject:  

here's an older one to try..... works for me on precise (probably won't work on raring..although can be made to)

sfs http://ftp.nluug.nl/ibiblio/distributions/puppylinux/pet_packages-lucid/Google_Earth-5.2.1-Lucid52-sfs4.sfs

pet http://ftp.nluug.nl/ibiblio/distributions/puppylinux/pet_packages-lucid/Google_Earth-5.2.1-Lucid52.pet

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
spandey

Joined: 20 Sep 2012
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Sun 30 Jun 2013, 07:47    Post subject:  

Thanks. In the meantime I found one Google Earth in

http://www.smokey01.com/pemasu/pet_packages-upup/google_earth-6.0.3.2197.sfs

and it's working fine. Thanks a lot for all your help. Have a nice day.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
qa1433

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 11
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Fri 19 Jul 2013, 17:20    Post subject:  

Thanks! This is a great tool.
Paul Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 294

PostPosted: Sun 04 Aug 2013, 21:35    Post subject:  

Great job.

One suggestion. Somewhere, somehow, just put a little text next to each item saying what is going to happen when you press the button. Like - "Download and install pet", "Download SFS file", "Link to forum thread". etc. I think that would make it easier to use rather than pressing the button and wondering exactly is going to happen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1876
Location: wales

PostPosted: Mon 05 Aug 2013, 01:53    Post subject:  

Hi dancytron,

If you hover over a button you should get a pop-up with information

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1876
Location: wales

PostPosted: Sat 10 Aug 2013, 12:36    Post subject:  

updated...

no need to restart when updating now Smile
ability to change the size of quickpet .... good for netbooks with small screens (thanks to upera on irc)
added some drivers for 5.7

updated...
firefox
chromium
openoffice
libreoffice

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1735
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Mon 12 Aug 2013, 16:32    Post subject:  

666philb wrote:
updated...

So if we're running an older version and select update will the newer version be installed?

THanks
Thom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1876
Location: wales

PostPosted: Mon 12 Aug 2013, 16:41    Post subject:  

hi tlchost,

yes,.... the update button installs the latest version. (or should do:) )

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1154
Location: England

PostPosted: Mon 12 Aug 2013, 18:14    Post subject:  

Hi 666philb,

Your recent changes are excellent.

My regards and thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bones01

Joined: 11 Aug 2008
Posts: 371
Location: Melbourne, Aus

PostPosted: Tue 27 Aug 2013, 07:25    Post subject: Fantastic!  

I've been away from Puppy for a while (too long really) and wondered what happened to QuickPet. Thanks for putting this together.

Bones

_________________
Dell Latitude D630 running Puppy 5.2.8 frugal, Macpup 525 frugal (if I can get it working again)
Precise Puppy 5.4 live DVD
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 5 [74 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » System
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0715s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0089s) ][ GZIP on ]