How to connect Slacko 5.4 using Broadcom BCM43224 wireless?

Rydberg

How to connect Slacko 5.4 using Broadcom BCM43224 wireless?

#1 Post by Rydberg »

Hi, I'm new to puppy linux (and linux overall) and would need some help.

I'm sitting in school and we have a 802.1x network (I think). However, when I was logging in from Windows is needed to enter a username and password (which i have), but when I'm trying to connect via the network manager or the Frisbee software i can't connect. The software just asks for a password, and my guess is that it connects to the network and thinks it's WPA2 encrypted.

I have no idea how to do this, so I would really appreciate any help i can get. My puppy linux is installed to my HDD, which doesn't seem normal around here...

I tried some fast searches on google and the forum but couldn't find anything I understood.

Burn_IT

#2 Post by Burn_IT »

Puppy has a nasty habit of picking up any old wireless internet and tries connecting to it. So you may actually be being asked to supply a password for a "neighbor's" wireless.
You may need to select the correct connection.
"Just think of it as leaving early to avoid the rush" - T Pratchett

Rydberg

#3 Post by Rydberg »

Are you sure that puppy Linux is fully compatible with 802.1x networks without any modifications of the network wizard?

I saw somewhere that someone had written about some wpa_supplicant thing...

Burn_IT

#4 Post by Burn_IT »

I think he meant the x to be a variable of unknown value.

Rydberg

#5 Post by Rydberg »

Hm, okey. So you're saying that, if i connect correctly to the network, there should be no problems at all? Cause when you go and create a network profile, you can only choose WPA, WEP and so on802.1x (WPA2-EAP-...).

Burn_IT

#6 Post by Burn_IT »

I'll need to try here from Puppy to double check this.
I can't check at the moment as my router died and I'm in the middle of setting another up and don't have ANY wireless just yet.

Rydberg

#7 Post by Rydberg »