Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 23 Nov 2014, 06:08
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
ArchPup 12.12.2
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 31 [461 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 29, 30, 31 Next
Author Message
rcrd

Joined: 20 Dec 2012
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri 21 Dec 2012, 05:04    Post subject:  

Success!!

@mavrothal
Thanks for your advice. I had the savefile in /archpup so I moved it to /archpup1212 and it works!! Thanks a lot.

@oui
I had remastered archpup to suit my needs, ie Spanish kb layout, utf-8 for terminal, software installed via pacman, and I like ii... but it bugged me that the savefile was nott working. I think both options, remaster and savefile have a place and I will use them both as needed.

Thanks everybody for your help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl
Guest


PostPosted: Fri 21 Dec 2012, 06:22    Post subject:  

For new release I plan to add help section in the menu. It will be under System --> How-to, and
for now has 3 items:
    Install ArchPup to USB or HDD
    Manage packages with pacman
    Use ArchPup specific scripts
That will be simple txt files located in /usr/share/archpup/doc and opened with geany. If someone wants to help
and make guide for wireless connection or something else, just post on this forum and I will add them too.
Also there will be new script called arch2sfs, that will convert all Arch packages inside curent folder to SFS module.
Back to top
oui

Joined: 20 May 2005
Posts: 2142
Location: near Woof (Germany) :-) Acer Laptop emachines 2 GB RAM AMD64. franco-/germanophone, +/- anglophone

PostPosted: Fri 21 Dec 2012, 06:49    Post subject:  

Hi

simargl wrote:
For new release I plan to add help section in the menu. It will be under System --> How-to, and
for now has 3 items:
    Install ArchPup to USB or HDD
    Manage packages with pacman
    Use ArchPup specific scripts
That will be simple txt files located in /usr/share/archpup/doc and opened with geany. If someone wants to help
and make guide for wireless connection or something else, just post on this forum and I will add them too.
Also there will be new script called arch2sfs, that will convert all Arch packages inside curent folder to SFS module.


really good. especially arch2sfs (as we already have pet2sfs!)!

perhaps an HOWTO install grub2 (simplified installation) and then start Archpup frugal with it?

menuentry "archpup (on /dev/sda5)" {
set root='(hd0,5)'
linux /archpup/vmlinuz pdev1=sda5 psubdir=archpup
initrd /archpup/initrd.gz
}

rgds

PS: you also can "feed" /root/.history with adequate commands and include an /root/archpuppy-links.html that the user can (or not) declare as his home page after that in his lovely browser after installation! a /mnt/home also would be useful (a lot more if it would be automatic recognized)!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrd

Joined: 20 Dec 2012
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat 22 Dec 2012, 07:32    Post subject:  

Hi all,

I decided to try and use a tiling window manager in Archpup. I downloaded i3 with dmenu via pacman and installed it modified the xinitrc (comented out the openbox line and added an exec i3 command). It works absolutely fine apart from the fact that it didn't reboot or poweroff. I had a look at the wmreboot and wmpoweroff scripts and saw it gets the parameter from /etc/windowmanager, which after installing i3 still said "openbox". So I changed it to i3. It now reboots almost fine. When it reboots I get 3 small and very distorted pictures of what I recognized as the background, and after a couple of seconds it reboots. Would anybody know why I these three very distorted images? My other question is, is the content of etc/windowmanager static or does it get read from somewhere else?
Also, when I tell i3 to end the x session, it does ended it, but then restarts a new one straight away. Any idea where I should look in archpup to sort out this behaviour?

You can see a screenshot of i3 working in archpup here http://ge.tt/6g6pH3U/v/0

Thanks, and sorry if my question turn out to be dumb, I'm only trying to learn.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Keef


Joined: 20 Dec 2007
Posts: 646
Location: Staffordshire

PostPosted: Sat 22 Dec 2012, 07:48    Post subject:  

rcrd

I get a similar effect even with Openbox - a distorted picture of what looks like the last desktop setup appears ( (or probably when the last snapmerge happened ), and then X restarts and it is back to normal. I've had this behaviour every time since making a savefile.

It does not seem possible to exit X easily - logout in Openbox restarts X, and Ctrl-Alt-Backspace doesn't work either, although this may have been disabled in the kernel according to the Arch wiki.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1791

PostPosted: Sat 22 Dec 2012, 16:12    Post subject:  

Anybody had problems setting the localtime/timezone?
Just linking the /usr/share/zoneinfo /Continent/City to /etc/localtime did not work for me.
I had to hardcode the timezone in /etc/profile Confused
Any ideas?

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 326

PostPosted: Sat 22 Dec 2012, 17:11    Post subject: Timezone  

I dont know how to fix it but when I tried to run Torbrowser it complains about timezone settings?

Could you tell me how you hardcoded it in etc/profile?

See if I can get Torbrowser running
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Keef


Joined: 20 Dec 2007
Posts: 646
Location: Staffordshire

PostPosted: Sat 22 Dec 2012, 17:14    Post subject:  

I can't get the time right either.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 326

PostPosted: Sat 22 Dec 2012, 17:38    Post subject:  

I read rcrd post on using another window manager.

I was thinking maybe I could run xfce or compiz on top of archpuppy?
Do you think it possible?

I want to try it since I get a lot of problems with screentearing when playing videos with smplayer. Would changing window manager fix tearing?

cannot try it from here, I am at a different location and cannot get wireless to work. Tried running with linux-firmware-20121118.sfs but it doesnt make a difference. I have Intel Centrino wireless N1030.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5932
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 22 Dec 2012, 18:32    Post subject:  

Keef wrote:
I can't get the time right either.


Same here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5932
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 22 Dec 2012, 18:48    Post subject:  

For what it's worth....
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Beginners%27_Guide#Time_zone
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1791

PostPosted: Sun 23 Dec 2012, 02:42    Post subject: Re: Timezone  

Scooby wrote:
I dont know how to fix it but when I tried to run Torbrowser it complains about timezone settings?

Could you tell me how you hardcoded it in etc/profile?


Go to /etc/profile and replace
export TZ=$(cat /etc/localtime)
with
export TZ="Continent/City" (yours of course Very Happy )

James C wrote:
For what it's worth....
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Beginners%27_Guide#Time_zone

No, this is not it.
I _think_ it has to do with the encoding of /usr/share/zoneinfo files

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
oui

Joined: 20 May 2005
Posts: 2142
Location: near Woof (Germany) :-) Acer Laptop emachines 2 GB RAM AMD64. franco-/germanophone, +/- anglophone

PostPosted: Sun 23 Dec 2012, 03:03    Post subject: Printing with USB-Printer  

Hi

Are you all printing with success in ArchPup?

On my PC, no way in ArchPup (but immediately printing in ArchBang).

lsusb Question

Quote:
# lsusb
unable to initialize libusb: -99


usbview Question

Quote:
Can not open the file /sys/kernel/debug/usb/devices

Verify that you have USB compiled into your kernel,
have the USB core modules loaded, and have the
usbdevfs filesystem mounted.


rgds
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl
Guest


PostPosted: Sun 23 Dec 2012, 04:43    Post subject: Re: Timezone  

Scooby wrote:
I dont know how to fix it but when I tried to run Torbrowser it complains about timezone settings?

Could you tell me how you hardcoded it in etc/profile?

See if I can get Torbrowser running

Hi,
/etc/localtime is text file not symlink, just open it and replace /usr/share/zoneinfo/CET with
what you need.

oui: See this topic:
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=147916 and
http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-7207894.html#7207894
Seems that /proc/bus/usb is now outdated, support for it has been removed in kernel 3.5. and
it's replaced with /sys/bus/usb/
Back to top
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1791

PostPosted: Sun 23 Dec 2012, 05:02    Post subject: Re: Timezone  

simargl wrote:

/etc/localtime is text file not symlink


Is there any reason for that or just an oversight?

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 31 [461 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 29, 30, 31 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0846s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0067s) ][ GZIP on ]