ArchPup 12.12.2

For talk and support relating specifically to Puppy derivatives
Message
Author
simargl

#436 Post by simargl »

After you install package with pacman -U pkgname, type

Code: Select all

modprobe asus_eee
to load module. Is it working?

anikin
Posts: 994
Joined: Thu 10 May 2012, 06:16

#437 Post by anikin »

simargl wrote:Is it working?
Not yet.

Code: Select all

[root@archpup eeepc-linux]# ln -s /usr/src/linux-3.6.8 /lib/modules/3.6.8/build 
ln: failed to create symbolic link '/lib/modules/3.6.8/build': File exists
[root@archpup eeepc-linux]# makepkg --asroot
==> Making package: eeepc-linux 0.39a1-8 (Fri Jan 18 19:48:32 CET 2013)
==> Checking runtime dependencies...
==> Checking buildtime dependencies...
warning: database file for 'core' does not exist
warning: database file for 'extra' does not exist
warning: database file for 'community' does not exist
==> Retrieving Sources...
  -> Found asus_eee-0.39a1.tar.gz
  -> Found asus_eee-0.39a1-spinlock-kernel-2.6.39.patch
==> Validating source files with md5sums...
    asus_eee-0.39a1.tar.gz ... Passed
    asus_eee-0.39a1-spinlock-kernel-2.6.39.patch ... Passed
==> Extracting Sources...
  -> Extracting asus_eee-0.39a1.tar.gz with bsdtar
==> Starting build()...
==> Patching...
patching file asus_eee.c
Makefile:47: /lib/modules/3.6.8/build/.config: No such file or directory
make: *** No rule to make target `/lib/modules/3.6.8/build/.config'.  Stop.
==> ERROR: A failure occurred in build().
    Aborting...
[root@archpup eeepc-linux]# 

simargl

#438 Post by simargl »

Hm.. for me it compiled in seconds, must be those wrong links - that is only change I made
in this newer kernel. Did you try stifiling's advice:

Code: Select all

ln -s /usr/src/linux-3.6.8 /lib/modules/3.6.8/build
ln -s /usr/src/linux-3.6.8 /lib/modules/3.6.8/source
Last edited by simargl on Fri 18 Jan 2013, 19:05, edited 1 time in total.

stifiling
Posts: 388
Joined: Sun 30 Dec 2007, 03:56

#439 Post by stifiling »

anikin,

do:

Code: Select all

rm -rf /lib/modules/3.6.8/build
ln -s /usr/src/linux-3.6.8 /lib/modules/3.6.8/build
and then try makepkg --asroot

anikin
Posts: 994
Joined: Thu 10 May 2012, 06:16

#440 Post by anikin »

almost there

Code: Select all

[[root@archpup eeepc-linux]# makepkg --asroot 
==> Making package: eeepc-linux 0.39a1-8 (Fri Jan 18 20:39:28 CET 2013)
==> Checking runtime dependencies...
==> Checking buildtime dependencies...
==> Retrieving Sources...
  -> Found asus_eee-0.39a1.tar.gz
  -> Found asus_eee-0.39a1-spinlock-kernel-2.6.39.patch
==> Validating source files with md5sums...
    asus_eee-0.39a1.tar.gz ... Passed
    asus_eee-0.39a1-spinlock-kernel-2.6.39.patch ... Passed
==> Extracting Sources...
  -> Extracting asus_eee-0.39a1.tar.gz with bsdtar
==> Removing existing pkg/ directory...
==> Starting build()...
==> Patching...
patching file asus_eee.c
make: nothing to be done for 'patch'.
make[1]: Entering directory `/tmp/eeepc-linux/src/asus_eee-0.39a1'
cd /lib/modules/3.6.8/build && make -C /lib/modules/3.6.8/build M=/tmp/eeepc-linux/src/asus_eee-0.39a1 modules
make[2]: Entering directory `/usr/src/linux-3.6.8'
  CC [M]  /tmp/eeepc-linux/src/asus_eee-0.39a1/asus_eee.o
  Building modules, stage 2.
  MODPOST 1 modules
  LD [M]  /tmp/eeepc-linux/src/asus_eee-0.39a1/asus_eee.ko
make[2]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/linux-3.6.8'
make[1]: Leaving directory `/tmp/eeepc-linux/src/asus_eee-0.39a1'
==> Tidying install...
  -> Purging unwanted files...
  -> Compressing man and info pages...
  -> Stripping unneeded symbols from binaries and libraries...
==> Creating package...
  -> Generating .PKGINFO file...
  -> Adding install file...
  -> Compressing package...
==> Finished making: eeepc-linux 0.39a1-8 (Fri Jan 18 20:39:34 CET 2013)
[root@archpup eeepc-linux]# pacman -U eeepc-linux 0.39a1-8
loading packages...
error: 'eeepc-linux': could not find or read package
[root@archpup eeepc-linux]# 

stifiling
Posts: 388
Joined: Sun 30 Dec 2007, 03:56

#441 Post by stifiling »

the package is created and somewhere on your computer. where it is though...i don't know. u'd have a better idea of narrowing down exactly where the .pkg.tar.xz file created to. after you pinpoint it's location though, u'd run the command

Code: Select all

pacman -U /path/to/eeepc-linux.pkg.tar.xz
i'm thinking it created to somewhere in the eeepc-linux folder that you ran the 'makepkg --asroot' command from, or maybe somewhere in the /tmp folder.

anikin
Posts: 994
Joined: Thu 10 May 2012, 06:16

#442 Post by anikin »

I did it!

Code: Select all

[root@archpup eeepc-linux]# pacman -U /tmp/eeepc-linux/eeepc-linux-0.39a1-8-i686.pkg.tar
loading packages...
error: '/tmp/eeepc-linux/eeepc-linux-0.39a1-8-i686.pkg.tar': could not find or read package
[root@archpup eeepc-linux]# pacman -U /tmp/eeepc-linux/eeepc-linux-0.39a1-8-i686.pkg.tar.xz
loading packages...
resolving dependencies...
looking for inter-conflicts...

Targets (1): eeepc-linux-0.39a1-8

Total Installed Size:   0.02 MiB

Proceed with installation? [Y/n] Y
(1/1) checking package integrity                   [----------------------] 100%
(1/1) loading package files                        [----------------------] 100%
(1/1) checking for file conflicts                  [----------------------] 100%
(1/1) checking available disk space                [----------------------] 100%
(1/1) installing eeepc-linux                       [----------------------] 100%

==> Remember to add 'asus_eee' to a file '/etc/modules-load.d/asus_eee.conf' to load it on boot.
[root@archpup eeepc-linux]# 
Thank you, simargl and stifiling !
Attachments
victorious.png
(11.22 KiB) Downloaded 1496 times

anikin
Posts: 994
Joined: Thu 10 May 2012, 06:16

#443 Post by anikin »

simargl wrote:After you install package with pacman -U pkgname, type

Code: Select all

modprobe asus_eee
to load module. Is it working?

One last remaining issue. Can't load it yet.

Code: Select all

[root@archpup ~]# modprobe asus_eee
modprobe: FATAL: Module asus_eee not found.
[root@archpup ~]# 

simargl

#444 Post by simargl »

Sorry, I forgot to change install directory, so open PKGBUILD and change last line, this:

Code: Select all

install -Dm644 $srcdir/asus_eee-$pkgver/asus_eee.ko $pkgdir/usr/lib/modules/$(uname -r)/kernel/acpi/asus_eee.ko || return 1
with this

Code: Select all

install -Dm644 $srcdir/asus_eee-$pkgver/asus_eee.ko $pkgdir/lib/modules/$(uname -r)/kernel/acpi/asus_eee.ko || return 1
Repeat everything

Code: Select all

pacman -R eeepc-linux
makepkg --asroot
pacman -U eeepc-linux-0.39a1-8-i686.pkg.tar.xz
and then it will work.

anikin
Posts: 994
Joined: Thu 10 May 2012, 06:16

#445 Post by anikin »

Redone.
It loads without a hitch and is working now. Sweet. Although, these 2 lines don't look good - should I be concerned? And there's no directory '/etc/modules-load.d', let alone 'asus_eee.conf' file. Should I create them?

Code: Select all

(1/1) installing eeepc-linux  
depmod: WARNING: could not open /lib/modules/3.6.8/modules.order: No such file or directory
depmod: WARNING: could not open /lib/modules/3.6.8/modules.builtin: No such file or directory

==> Remember to add 'asus_eee' to a file '/etc/modules-load.d/asus_eee.conf' to load it on boot.' to a file '/etc/modules-load.d/asus_eee.conf' to load it on boot.
[root@archpup eeepc-linux]#

stifiling
Posts: 388
Joined: Sun 30 Dec 2007, 03:56

#446 Post by stifiling »

anikin wrote:Redone.
It loads without a hitch and is working now. Sweet. Although, these 2 lines don't look good - should I be concerned? And there's no directory '/etc/modules-load.d', let alone 'asus_eee.conf' file. Should I create them?

Code: Select all

(1/1) installing eeepc-linux  
depmod: WARNING: could not open /lib/modules/3.6.8/modules.order: No such file or directory
depmod: WARNING: could not open /lib/modules/3.6.8/modules.builtin: No such file or directory

==> Remember to add 'asus_eee' to a file '/etc/modules-load.d/asus_eee.conf' to load it on boot.' to a file '/etc/modules-load.d/asus_eee.conf' to load it on boot.
[root@archpup eeepc-linux]#
if it's working fine then just ignore that. one thing u might want to do though is edit the /etc/rc.d/MODULESCONFIG file and add the module to the addlist line to look like this:

ADDLIST=' asus_eee '

that pretty much does the same thing as:

Code: Select all

modprobe asus_eee
without you having to manually do it every reboot.

ciento
Posts: 181
Joined: Sat 18 Sep 2010, 02:53

#447 Post by ciento »

Using wvdial for internet connection, required 2 steps,
(not unique to ArchPup):

rm /var/lock

then

mkdir /var/lock

(if the first lock is a file, not a folder)

Evidently wvdial wants to make it's own lock file,
and needs a lock folder to put it in, and if not found,
constantly seeks it, /dev/ttyACM0 used by some usb modems
will then report the device is busy.

Copy or create /etc/wvdial.conf

Thanks Simargl, for adding this crucial piece of net connectivity!

User avatar
darkcity
Posts: 2534
Joined: Sun 23 May 2010, 19:16
Location: near here
Contact:

#448 Post by darkcity »

here are a couple of useful pages for people wanting to interact with the Arch User Repositories
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/AUR_Helpers

About Arch build scripts
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/PKGBUILD

simargl

#449 Post by simargl »

ciento, I'm glad that you got it to work. /var/lock was pointing to non-existing folder /run/lock, so I edited build script to make that folder and problem is now solved.
darkcity, also there is template PKGBUILD in /usr/share/pacman, so making new one will be easier.

pakwarung
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri 25 Jan 2013, 06:53

#450 Post by pakwarung »

ciento wrote:Using wvdial for internet connection, required 2 steps,
(not unique to ArchPup):

rm /var/lock

then

mkdir /var/lock

(if the first lock is a file, not a folder)

Evidently wvdial wants to make it's own lock file,
and needs a lock folder to put it in, and if not found,
constantly seeks it, /dev/ttyACM0 used by some usb modems
will then report the device is busy.

Copy or create /etc/wvdial.conf

Thanks Simargl, for adding this crucial piece of net connectivity!
how to using it in terminal step by step? please i am newbie
cannot connect internet from usb modem sierra wireless 598u

ciento
Posts: 181
Joined: Sat 18 Sep 2010, 02:53

#451 Post by ciento »

run the command

wvdialconf

it should look for your modem,
and generate a file called

wvdial.conf in the folder /etc
it looks something like this below, fill in your account details
for phone, username, and password.

If you already have such a file from a working system,
just copy it to /etc

[Dialer Defaults]
Modem = /dev/ttyACM0
Baud = 460800
Stupid Mode = 1
Auto DNS = 1
Init1 = ATZ
Init2 = ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0
ISDN = 0
Modem Type = USB Modem
Phone = your-dialup-phone-number
FlowControl = Hardware (CRTSCTS)
Dial Command = ATDT
Username = your-isp-account-username
Password = your-isp-account-password

hope it works...

rdog
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon 18 Oct 2010, 20:47
Location: Quesnel, BC, Canada

64 arch version

#452 Post by rdog »

Hi,
I am testing out the ArchPup and thinking it would be nice to have a 64 bit version. I have run 64 bit Arch for a while and would like to have a 64 bit puppy of some kind.

Great job by the way.
Thanks,
Rob

dantata
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun 10 Feb 2013, 16:53

#453 Post by dantata »

Hey, I really wanted to try that out, but it seems that there is no .ISO in your SF account.

ciento
Posts: 181
Joined: Sat 18 Sep 2010, 02:53

#454 Post by ciento »

http://puppylinux.info/topic/archpup

links are there for iso and torrent

Cheers :)

dantata
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun 10 Feb 2013, 16:53

#455 Post by dantata »

Thanks a bunch!

Post Reply