Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 30 Jul 2014, 23:26
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Puppy 541 on Acer Aspire One
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Author Message
paulh177


Joined: 22 Aug 2006
Posts: 875
Location: ST862228

PostPosted: Fri 07 Dec 2012, 07:22    Post subject:  Puppy 541 on Acer Aspire One
Subject description: an old problem revisited
 

I've recently upgraded my Acer Aspire One netbook (about 4 years old now) to Puppy 541 (from 431).

I'm extremely pleased with 541 - no tweaks required to make it work with the Acer as I had to with earlier versions, just install and go.

One problem remains, however, that I've had with every Puppy version I've tried with the AOA - putting an SD card into the multi-card slot on the rhs of the machine: Puppy will only recognise the card if it is in the machine when booted. Inserting it after boot, it never gets recognised, how ever many times I refresh Pmount.

I can of course always use a USB card reader, but it would be nice to bottom this once and for all.

_________________
Want to report a bug or problem? Have a read of this first ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Fri 07 Dec 2012, 10:45    Post subject: Re: Puppy 541 on Acer Aspire One
Subject description: an old problem revisited
 

paulh177 wrote:
I've recently upgraded my Acer Aspire One netbook (about 4 years old now) to Puppy 541 (from 431).

I'm extremely pleased with 541 - no tweaks required to make it work with the Acer as I had to with earlier versions, just install and go.

One problem remains, however, that I've had with every Puppy version I've tried with the AOA - putting an SD card into the multi-card slot on the rhs of the machine: Puppy will only recognise the card if it is in the machine when booted. Inserting it after boot, it never gets recognised, how ever many times I refresh Pmount.

I can of course always use a USB card reader, but it would be nice to bottom this once and for all.


Aspire Ones are notorious for that (if they even start)
problem.

A possible fix:
http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/slackware-14/sd-card-reader-on-acer-aspire-one-a150-solved-in-13-37-a-901438/

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
paulh177


Joined: 22 Aug 2006
Posts: 875
Location: ST862228

PostPosted: Fri 07 Dec 2012, 11:11    Post subject:  

hmm.
my Puppy doesn't have a etc/rc.d/rc.modules

but i created one containing the line /sbin/modprobe acpiphp as per the link you gave, and rebooted, but it still doesn;t work. It doesn't work if I open a console and run modprobe acpiphp from there either.

_________________
Want to report a bug or problem? Have a read of this first ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
T_Hobbit


Joined: 27 May 2006
Posts: 400
Location: Portugal - Lisbon

PostPosted: Sat 08 Dec 2012, 15:41    Post subject:  

http://linuxforums.org.uk/index.php?topic=10313.msg76521#msg76521
_________________
T_Hobbit
Idea Rebuilding old DOS Machine for Wing Commander Privateer and Puppy Exclamation Old spare parts to give away - anyone interested Question
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
paulh177


Joined: 22 Aug 2006
Posts: 875
Location: ST862228

PostPosted: Sat 08 Dec 2012, 16:18    Post subject:  

Well OK, but Puppy doesn't have /etc/default/grub ... so should "pciehp.pciehp_force=1" go on the kernel line in menu.lst ... or what?
_________________
Want to report a bug or problem? Have a read of this first ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
T_Hobbit


Joined: 27 May 2006
Posts: 400
Location: Portugal - Lisbon

PostPosted: Sat 15 Dec 2012, 12:33    Post subject:  

Did not test yet. My Aspire One seems to be almost death and does not boot this days...
But when installing Puppy, the script gives the line to add to existing grub to boot Puppy. I assumed that you just needed to add that option to that line.

_________________
T_Hobbit
Idea Rebuilding old DOS Machine for Wing Commander Privateer and Puppy Exclamation Old spare parts to give away - anyone interested Question
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
paulh177


Joined: 22 Aug 2006
Posts: 875
Location: ST862228

PostPosted: Sat 15 Dec 2012, 13:30    Post subject:  

of coursze I neglected to note some important information that this is a frugal install
_________________
Want to report a bug or problem? Have a read of this first ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0506s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0033s) ][ GZIP on ]