Posted: Wed 05 Dec 2012, 17:01 Post_subject:
soft-field.net too good to be true
While searching for software for a friend who is tied to M$ I ran searches for prices on a number of well-known and expensive packages. The spread of legitimate prices for the same thing was astonishing.
One site, however, appeared to be entirely too good to be true: soft-field.net. I began to suspect this was a variant of soft-file.net, which is hosted in Russia. Here's a sample offering:
adobe-creative-suite-6
A check with network whois told me it was located in Croatia (country code HR for "Hrvatska"). Other sources mentioned Ukraine. There was even an old mention of St. Petersburg, Russia.
What these locations have in common is difficulty with prosecution for network scams. There were also mentions on-line of malware associated with downloads, as at file-sharing sites.
The student/teacher editions supposedly are discounted 80%. Interesting that "ADOBE ENCORE IS NOT INCLUDED!", since it is included in the ebay version.
I don't know, at this point, that soft-field.net is associated with soft-file.net. That was just free association on my part. I already knew soft-file.net.ru was suspect.
There is much more than a vague family resemblance between soft-field.net and soft-buy.com, which leads in another direction -- to Beijing.
Rules_post_cannot Rules_reply_cannot Rules_edit_cannot Rules_delete_cannot Rules_vote_cannot You cannot attach files in this forum You can download files in this forum