Page 1 of 2

Introducing: The all new freememapplet v1.0!

Posted: Wed 24 May 2006, 23:00
by lior2b
I've promised to check out wmpupmem and see if I could fix it. Well, here are the results:

freememapplet v1.0
(*) Complete rewrite, absolutely no code has been copied and pasted (hence the new name)
(*) Gtk1 instead of Xlib. This fixes the problem with JWM swallowing the app...
(*) Tooltips
(*) Enhanced color flashing
(*) Color, time intervals and memory level definitions can be easily set through defined values
(*) Now displays the size in KB, MB, GB, etc. format, instead of only MB.

It is originally made for Puppy2, I'm not sure if this has any use for Puppy1. Please test it (just copy binary to /usr/bin and change .jwmrc-tray from wmpupmem to freememapplet), and post you impressions.

Posted: Thu 25 May 2006, 00:05
by Flash
lior2b, the file .jwmrc-tray is found 2 places: /root/.jwmrc-tray and /initrd/pup_ro2/root/.jwmrc-tray. I replaced them both to make sure. Nothing happened so I restarted X to start the program.

It is an application that shows in the system tray when it is running, like SeaMonkey would if it were running. When I clicked it in the system tray, the window showing free memory showed up in the upper left-hand corner of the desktop, covering the "Home" icon. I found that I could right-click on it, choose "move" and drag the window around.

Posted: Thu 25 May 2006, 01:15
by lior2b
hmmm, I suppose changing /root/.jwmrc-tray is sufficient.

About your experience, I believe you forgot something... Two quick questions: a) Are you running Puppy2? b) Have you changed the name too? it should look like this:

Code: Select all

<Swallow name="freememapplet">
	freememapplet
</Swallow>

Posted: Thu 25 May 2006, 02:01
by Flash
No, I hadn't changed the second line to freememapplet. When I did, and restarted X, I can't find the program. How do I start it or where is it in the menu?

Posted: Thu 25 May 2006, 09:31
by lior2b
I didn't make a dotpup because freememapplet will be available (I hope :P) in the official Puppy2, hence, you can't install it easily as other programs, and it won't show up in the menu. It shouldn't be in the menu anyway, because it is a tray app. Detailed installation insctructions might be:
1) Download freememapplet-1.0.tar.gz
2) Extract and copy the binary to /usr/bin:

Code: Select all

tar xzf freememapplet-1.0.tar.gz && cp freememapplet-1.0/freememapplet /usr/bin/freememapplet
3) Change .jwmrc-tray as described above
4) Restart X (you can restart JWM, but than you will have to kill the old wmpupmem app...)
Expected behavior: A tray app should appear, displaying your free memory...

Does it work for you?

Posted: Thu 25 May 2006, 09:50
by Lobster
this is what I get in p2a8
You can see the background is dark blue instead of grey - the M looks a bit squashed.
My res is 1280 x 1024

:)

hope that helps -more testers using Puppy2 alpha 8 needed

Posted: Thu 25 May 2006, 09:55
by lior2b
Lobster, that's because it's ain't my app :|
Your screenshot shows the old wmpupmem... Check .jwmrc-tray and see if you've changed both the name attribute and the node's text...

Posted: Thu 25 May 2006, 10:45
by Lobster
:roll:
You mean follow your instruction :oops:

Downloaded and did again (and altered .jwmrc-tray)

Looks better when you do it right . . .

Posted: Thu 25 May 2006, 10:57
by lior2b
That's my app alright :D Thanks for the screenshot...
Why don't you change blinky's background to the PuppyXP tray color? Somthing like:

Code: Select all

blinky -bg "#3A82F8"

Posted: Thu 25 May 2006, 13:08
by Flash
lior2b, I didn't answer your second question. I'm running the 24 May snapshot of Puppy2.

changing taskbar widget colours

Posted: Thu 25 May 2006, 15:57
by Lobster
lior2b wrote: Why don't you change blinky's background to the PuppyXP tray color? Somthing like:

Code: Select all

blinky -bg "#3A82F8"
Done that - very nice thanks
in .jwmrc-tray - maybe that could be done by the JWM configurator?

I also changed the background colour of xload

thanks again

Posted: Thu 25 May 2006, 18:52
by Nathan F
That looks great. I'm going to go ahead and try it in 109CE and report back.

Nathan

Posted: Thu 25 May 2006, 19:17
by eMeRy
Hope the picture go through...
The program on jwm tray of 1.08 puppy. Fine. Seems the bg colour can't be modified... Maybe next version?

eMeRy

Posted: Thu 25 May 2006, 19:45
by Nathan F
Also running in 109CE. Very nice.

Nathan

Posted: Sat 27 May 2006, 16:09
by lior2b
freememapplet v1.2, read here.

Posted: Sat 27 May 2006, 17:25
by Flash
I found and deleted the first freememapplet folder from /usr/bin. I think I followed the instructions in your first post, but even after restarting X nothing happened. So I found the gear icon in /usr/bin/freememapplet and clicked it. Here's what I got:

Posted: Sat 27 May 2006, 17:41
by lior2b
BarryK wrote:So, I created a script, /usr/sbin/calcfreespace.sh, that performs a more accurate calculation and modified Lior's program to execute that.
You get "None" because you don't have calcfreespace.sh... actually, I don't have it either :D You have three option: 1) Use the old freememapplet, 2) Wait until Barry releases his script 3) Add a script called calcfreespace.sh in /usr/sbin which has:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
df -k | grep ' /$' | tr -s ' ' | cut -f 4 -d ' '
in it... This what the old freememapplet uses...

Also, the help won't work because no /usr/share/doc/freememapplet.htm is available...

Posted: Sat 27 May 2006, 17:58
by lior2b
eMeRy wrote:Seems the bg colour can't be modified... Maybe next version?
Actually, the blue background color signifies that your current memory levels are normal. It's blue for normal (>=20M), puprle for low (<20M), and flashing reds for critical (<3M). I hope this stuff will be explaind in a future help document...

I wanted to maintain uniformity, hence I allowed the colors and memory level definitions to be changed at compile time and not through cmd arguments. Meaning Barry will set the colors as he likes, and everyone will be referring to those...

Posted: Sun 28 May 2006, 01:49
by BarryK
calcfreespace.sh attached.

Download it to /usr/sbin, then:
#

Code: Select all

 gunzip calcfreespace.sh.gz
# chmod 755 calcfreespace.sh

Posted: Sun 28 May 2006, 03:02
by Flash
That fixed it (Puppy2a8). One question: why doesn't it agree with "free"?