Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 17 Apr 2014, 20:02
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Graphics
BDraw v1.7
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 4 [46 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
RSH


Joined: 05 Sep 2011
Posts: 2035
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri 30 Nov 2012, 19:28    Post subject:  

HI.

I have watched this from time to time and also downloaded. So, I must say: I like this. Very Happy

Last version I've tested was 1.4 - it could not set/paint a single dot.

Suggestion:

Make it able to draw a single dot and insert a function to zoom single dots to (let's say) 8 pixels (for the use of small images).

It could be then a very nice and really useful Icon Editor. Idea Very Happy Laughing

SFR @ Icon Finder wrote:
RSH wrote:
I like this that much, so i have made an icon for it.

Hope you like this.

Sure I do like! Me personally can't draw a straight line, so I always appreciate such a help.
Your icon has been included.


PLEASE!

_________________
LazY Puppy
RSH's DNA
SARA B.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 879

PostPosted: Fri 30 Nov 2012, 19:59    Post subject:  

RSH wrote:
Last version I've tested was 1.4 - it could not set/paint a single dot.

Suggestion:

Make it able to draw a single dot and insert a function to zoom single dots to (let's say) 8 pixels (for the use of small images).

It could be then a very nice and really useful Icon Editor. Idea Very Happy Laughing

Sure you can, just choose "Line", increase stroke-width a bit, and...start making dots.

Just kidding, I know what you mean. Wink

You can do it this way: choose some bigger drawing area size to get control on details, eg. 480x480, make an icon and then save it as .png with 48x48 resolution.

Zoom option has crossed my mind, but it doesn't make sense really, since it's vector graphic, so even if some part of the picture would be zoomed, you couldn't see its "pixels" anyway.

Quote:
SFR @ Icon Finder wrote:
RSH wrote:
I like this that much, so i have made an icon for it.

Hope you like this.

Sure I do like! Me personally can't draw a straight line, so I always appreciate such a help.
Your icon has been included.


PLEASE!

I'm really hopeless in drawings, isn't that ironic..? Laughing

Thanks & Greetings!
dots.png
 Description   
 Filesize   24.11 KB
 Viewed   655 Time(s)

dots.png


_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 879

PostPosted: Mon 03 Dec 2012, 08:33    Post subject:  

I couldn't stop myself: Version 1.6 uploaded.

Only one purpose: performance optimization in critical functions.
Result: ~15% less resource hungry.

Actually it's efficient enough to add (rough) preview for "Freehand" mode, what I did.
"Arc" preview has been improved too - now all stages of creation are shown.

First post updated.

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dromeno

Joined: 12 Sep 2008
Posts: 534

PostPosted: Tue 29 Jan 2013, 11:21    Post subject: How do I use this?  

BDraw looks promising but I have no idea how to use it in Lucid Pup 528005 (icewm as window manager)?

bdraw-1.61 reports "something is missing or doesn't work right" and "Double check requirements"

it is not an installable program so I do not know how to check for dependencies

bdraw-1.51 does work but it does not open existing png files, after I click on open picture the program returns to the Welcome to Bdraw dialog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 879

PostPosted: Tue 29 Jan 2013, 12:04    Post subject:  

Hey Dromeno
Quote:
bdraw-1.51 does work but it does not open existing png files, after I click on open picture the program returns to the Welcome to Bdraw dialog

BDraw won't load directly any other image type than .bdr (which is .svg really, but has "one-shape per one-line" layout).
If you'd like to include a .png image in your drawings, just choose "New" and then "Import Clipart" from Toolbox.
Quote:
bdraw-1.61 reports "something is missing or doesn't work right" and "Double check requirements"

it is not an installable program so I do not know how to check for dependencies

Ok, just launch the app from command line and post the results...

Deps are listed in the first post, but I don't recall including anything new between 1.5.1 -> 1.6.

And since you're running Lupu always choose '<button>' as drawing area in initial window, unless you have upgraded Gtkdialog to >= 0.8.1

There were some problems with IceWM + specific theme(s?) reported earlier and it's been fixed in 1.5.1, but apparently I broke it again in 1.6.

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dromeno

Joined: 12 Sep 2008
Posts: 534

PostPosted: Wed 30 Jan 2013, 06:29    Post subject:  

The console doesn't show much when I execute bdraw-1.6.sh (see screenshot)

But I am not sure yet if this is the tool I am looking for. What I would like to have is a simple screenshot annotation tool, something which does what shutter for ubuntu can or awesomscreenshot for chrome does
http://awesomescreenshot.com/
take a screenshot, add text / ellipses / arrows, perhaps a text bubble.
I know it can all be done with GIMP but it involves a lot of steps
http://www.makeuseof.com/tag/create-speech-bubbles-screenshots-gimp/

Likely it can be done in mtPaint as well but I have not found a good tutorial yet
Bdrawtest.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  Bdrawtest.jpg 
Filesize  125.63 KB 
Downloaded  266 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 879

PostPosted: Wed 30 Jan 2013, 07:55    Post subject:  

What really matters - what's the terminal output when you click 'New', adjust resolution (or not) and click 'Ok'?
Also, what's the name of your current theme? I'll try to recreate the issue.

As for annotation tool, the purpose of BDraw is just to doodle (i.e. there's no arrows and stuff), but as a last resort, why not..? Wink (see screenshot)

Greetings!
BDraw-sample.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   121.33 KB
 Viewed   364 Time(s)

BDraw-sample.jpg


_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dromeno

Joined: 12 Sep 2008
Posts: 534

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2013, 05:19    Post subject: Terminal output after clicking click 'New
Subject description: bDraw 1.6
 

Hi SFR

Using icewm theme ElbergBlue-anim

(but I do not think that is important since the same thing happens in JWM)

This is the terminal output after clicking click 'New':

sh-4.1# testbdraw

(gtkdialog5:23535): Gtk-CRITICAL **: gtk_spin_button_new_with_range: assertion `step != 0.0' failed

(gtkdialog5:23535): Gtk-CRITICAL **: gtk_spin_button_set_value: assertion `GTK_IS_SPIN_BUTTON (spin_button)' failed
**
ERROR:variables.c:166:variables_new_with_widget: assertion failed: (widget != NULL)
/usr/local/bin/bdraw-1.6.sh: line 1079: 23535 Aborted $GTKDIALOG -c -p MAIN
sh-4.1#
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 879

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2013, 07:10    Post subject:  

Ok, I see that <spinbutton> has something to do with this, but I still cannot recreate the issue under Lupu...
Could you post the exact version of Gtkdialog(s) you have installed?
Code:
gtkdialog --version
gtkdialog4 --version
gtkdialog5 --version

Also, it's worth to see how v1.6 works with pfix=ram and (it's a wild guess) with different GTK theme.

Meanwhile I attached version 1.6.1 - I replaced spinbuttons with comboboxtexts, as it was in v1.5.1, so hopefully will work ok for you now.

Greetings!
bdraw-1.6.1.sh.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  bdraw-1.6.1.sh.gz 
Filesize  7.3 KB 
Downloaded  230 Time(s) 

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rhadon


Joined: 27 Mar 2008
Posts: 1291
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2013, 14:36    Post subject:  

Hi SFR,

tested 1.6.1 with Slacko 5.4 today, and it's great Very Happy . Really good work. Haven't tested everything, but what I did by now, worked.

Not so with 1.6. Program allways stops quite after choosing picture resolution.

Error message:
Code:
# ./bdraw-1.6.sh

(gtkdialog4:26977): Gtk-CRITICAL **: IA__gtk_spin_button_new_with_range: assertion `step != 0.0' failed

(gtkdialog4:26977): Gtk-CRITICAL **: IA__gtk_spin_button_set_value: assertion `GTK_IS_SPIN_BUTTON (spin_button)' failed
**
ERROR:variables.c:189:variables_new_with_widget: assertion failed: (widget != NULL)
./bdraw-1.6.sh: line 1079: 26977 Aborted                 $GTKDIALOG -c -p MAIN
#

No matter I used my save file or pfix=ram, original gtkdialog 0.8.2 or new installed gtkdialog version 0.8.4 r503M. As you mentioned in your last post, there seemed to be a problem with the spinbuttons.

No problem for me, because 1.6.1 works fine Wink .

Cheers and thanks again Very Happy ,

Rolf

_________________
Ich verwende "frugal", und das ist gut so. Wink
Raspberry Pi without Puppy? No, thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 879

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2013, 15:39    Post subject:  

Hey, thanks a lot for confirmation, Rolf. Very Happy

But it still bugs me I can't recreate this. Confused
Anyway, before I replace v1.6 with v1.6.1 in the first post officially, I'd like to test one more thing.

Rolf, if you have a couple of minutes to spare - could you check out this piece of code?
First dialog (taken from v1.6) should produce the above error...but how about subsequent ones..?
Also, there's official spinbutton example script which also works fine for me.

Code:
#!/bin/bash

# This one should invoke GTK error
export MAIN_1='
<window>
  <vbox>
    <text><label>FIRST DIALOG</label></text>
    <hbox>
      <spinbutton range-max="100" range-step="1">
        <variable>SW</variable>
        <default>1</default>
      </spinbutton>       

      <spinbutton range-max="1.0" range-step="0.01">
         <variable>OPAC</variable>
         <default>1.0</default>
      </spinbutton>
    </hbox>
 
    <button><label>Next one please</label></button>
  </vbox>
</window>'

# How about this one?
export MAIN_2='
<window>
  <vbox>
    <text><label>SECOND DIALOG</label></text>
    <hbox>
      <spinbutton range-max="100" range-step="1">
        <variable>SW</variable>
        <default>1</default>
      </spinbutton>       

      <spinbutton range-max="1.00" range-step="0.01">
         <variable>OPAC</variable>
         <default>1.00</default>
      </spinbutton>
    </hbox>
 
    <button><label>Next one please</label></button>
  </vbox>
</window>'

# And finally how about that one...
export MAIN_3='
<window>
  <vbox>
    <text><label>THIRD DIALOG</label></text>
    <hbox>
      <spinbutton range-value="1" range-min="0" range-max="100" range-step="1">
        <variable>SW</variable>
      </spinbutton>       

      <spinbutton range-value="1.00" range-min="0.00" range-max="1.00" range-step="0.01">
         <variable>OPAC</variable>
      </spinbutton>
    </hbox>
    <button ok></button>
  </vbox>
</window>'

gtkdialog -p MAIN_1
gtkdialog -p MAIN_2
gtkdialog -p MAIN_3

Thanks again & Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rhadon


Joined: 27 Mar 2008
Posts: 1291
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri 01 Feb 2013, 05:21    Post subject:  

Hi SFR,

it seems to be a general problem. spinbutton_advanced also doesn't work for me. Error code:
Code:
# ./spinbutton_advanced

(gtkdialog:15952): Gtk-CRITICAL **: IA__gtk_spin_button_new_with_range: assertion `step != 0.0' failed

(gtkdialog:15952): Gtk-CRITICAL **: IA__gtk_spin_button_set_value: assertion `GTK_IS_SPIN_BUTTON (spin_button)' failed
**
ERROR:variables.c:189:variables_new_with_widget: assertion failed: (widget != NULL)
./spinbutton_advanced: line 89: 15952 Aborted                 $GTKDIALOG --program=MAIN_DIALOG
#


Error code from your snippet:
Code:
# ./tst-bdraw

(gtkdialog:1920): Gtk-CRITICAL **: IA__gtk_spin_button_new_with_range: assertion `step != 0.0' failed

(gtkdialog:1920): Gtk-CRITICAL **: IA__gtk_spin_button_set_value: assertion `GTK_IS_SPIN_BUTTON (spin_button)' failed
**
ERROR:variables.c:189:variables_new_with_widget: assertion failed: (widget != NULL)
./tst-bdraw: line 63:  1920 Aborted                 gtkdialog -p MAIN_1

(gtkdialog:1929): Gtk-CRITICAL **: IA__gtk_spin_button_new_with_range: assertion `step != 0.0' failed

(gtkdialog:1929): Gtk-CRITICAL **: IA__gtk_spin_button_set_value: assertion `GTK_IS_SPIN_BUTTON (spin_button)' failed
**
ERROR:variables.c:189:variables_new_with_widget: assertion failed: (widget != NULL)
./tst-bdraw: line 64:  1929 Aborted                 gtkdialog -p MAIN_2

(gtkdialog:1950): Gtk-CRITICAL **: IA__gtk_spin_button_new_with_range: assertion `step != 0.0' failed

(gtkdialog:1950): Gtk-CRITICAL **: IA__gtk_spin_button_set_value: assertion `GTK_IS_SPIN_BUTTON (spin_button)' failed
**
ERROR:variables.c:189:variables_new_with_widget: assertion failed: (widget != NULL)
./tst-bdraw: line 65:  1950 Aborted                 gtkdialog -p MAIN_3
#


Hope this helps,

Rolf

_________________
Ich verwende "frugal", und das ist gut so. Wink
Raspberry Pi without Puppy? No, thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 879

PostPosted: Fri 01 Feb 2013, 06:08    Post subject:  

Thank you Rolf!

Looks like there's nothing I can do about it at the moment...

Ok, I have attached v1.6.1 in the first post.

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dromeno

Joined: 12 Sep 2008
Posts: 534

PostPosted: Fri 01 Feb 2013, 06:33    Post subject: gtkdialog output  

Here they are:

sh-4.1# gtkdialog --version
gtkdialog version 0.8.2 release (C) 2003-2007 Laszlo Pere, 2011-2012 Thunor
Built with additional support for: Glade.
sh-4.1# gtkdialog4 --version
gtkdialog version 0.8.0 (C) 2003-2007 Laszlo Pere, 2011 Thunor
sh-4.1# gtkdialog5 --version
gtkdialog version 0.8.2 release (C) 2003-2007 Laszlo Pere, 2011-2012 Thunor
Built with additional support for: Glade.
sh-4.1#
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 879

PostPosted: Fri 01 Feb 2013, 06:46    Post subject:  

Thanks for the info Dromeno

Looks ok...I have no idea why doesn't it work for you and Rolf, even with pfix=ram...
Hope v1.6.1 runs ok for you as well.

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 4 [46 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Graphics
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0923s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0039s) ][ GZIP on ]