Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 21 Oct 2014, 04:49
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Upup Precise 54X7 using latest woof at time
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 11 [163 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 Next
Author Message
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2012, 16:26    Post subject:  

AudioVideo worked for me with Imagination. There was though problem to update menu. fixmenus && jwm -reload didnt make it to show. But restart X did.
Hmm.....I thought that bug was fixed. Lets see how it goes with other pets.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3336
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2012, 17:26    Post subject:  

I should try adding a pinstall.sh file to pet package

with commands like

fixmenus
jwm -reload
jwm -restart

and see if that helps.....


_____________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 607
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2012, 22:40    Post subject: T22 IBM Thinkpad  

New testing Upup_Precise-5.4.X.4:

Equipment:
IBM T22 Thinkpad
256MB RAM
20GB HDD

FIRST Test:
Live CD:
Results: 5.4.X.4 loaded and ran without any problems however as with previous version, CD could not be removed during run-time.

Did a Frugal Install, everything loaded-saved like it should. CD is now open to use for data, graphic etc., files. 'Nice' - Grub4DOS was the only version that set boot-load from the Grub menu up properly... regular GRUB couldn't cut it!

Everything tested in 5.4.X.4 ran without a single issue so far and it is a very pleasing addition to this OLD Thinkpad. I have an Exprimo-5.X.2.9 that runs also very nice (Live CD only with a savefile to HDD) on this machine but could not get versions beyond that to work?

I highly recommend 5.4.X.4 for old machines with at least the (mentioned above) configuration of my IBM T22... could be that lesser configurations will also work... be interesting to hear!

rcrsn51... Many a time you have saved my skin on this forum but on your statement that old puppy's are for older computers, I have to totally disagree as I see what has happened here with a T22 and Upup-Precise. Wink

'As always... Nice piece of work pemasu'

>>>---Indian------>

_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9199
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2012, 23:37    Post subject: Re: T22 IBM Thinkpad  

sszindian wrote:
rcrsn51... Many a time you have saved my skin on this forum but on your statement that old puppy's are for older computers, I have to totally disagree as I see what has happened here with a T22 and Upup-Precise

Umm.... My comment was in reference to your complaints about running off the Live CD on low-memory machines. Once you do an install and get to a "pfix=nocopy" environment, the situation changes, of course.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
charlie6


Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 1015
Location: South of Belgium

PostPosted: Thu 29 Nov 2012, 01:01    Post subject:  

...@>>-----sszindian----->
Hugh sszindian,
if i good remember (see Slacko story from beginning) you'd be one of those (...happy?) Brookdale 82845G video chip featured PC user ...would'nt you ?
If the case, welcome to the club! Wink
just to report that 54X4 (currently X version 1.11.3 + intel driver version 2.17.0) works OOTB without X black screen at X restart on such machine .
Also Exprimo runs nice after done an intel_drv.so rollback to version 2.11.0...see here or disregard if irrelevant
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=647116#647116
<---have fun---<< Very Happy
Cheers, Charlie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Thu 29 Nov 2012, 02:14    Post subject:  

Upup Precise is slightly bigger than official Precise Puppy. The big size of Precise Puppy is partly due to hard work to get graphics working. It has needed more graphics stuff in the build.
Also dri drivers has been included, flash has been included, python has been preincluded.
All of those makes the the official build bigger.
Rewoofing or remastering or just unsquashing the sfs and removing by hand /usr/lib/dri/*, python stuff and /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/libflashplayer.so you can get smaller iso. Removing Seamonkey helps also.
Happy tinkering.

My usual bug fix testing method is unsquashfsing, manual replacing and then mksquahsfsing the sfs again. Rewoofing takes much longer than that manual replacing.

I am not sure if it is enough for 256 Mb ram to be loaded to the ram when booting with Live CD. With Lucid Puppy the iso size limit was about 125 Mb.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2126
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Thu 29 Nov 2012, 08:09    Post subject: Upup Precise 54X4 using latest woof  

Manual frugal install to hard drive.

Report Video 1.4 - Thu 29 Nov 2012 on Upup Precise 5.4.X.4 - Linux 3.2.29 i686
Chip description:
0.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GF108 [GeForce GT 430] (rev a1)
oem: NVIDIA
product: GF108 Board - 1071v1p1 Chip Rev
X Server: Xorg Driver used: nvidia
X.Org version: 1.11.3
dimensions: 1920x1080 pixels (524x292 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes
OpenGL
Vendor NVIDIA Corporation
Renderer GeForce GT 430/PCIe/SSE2
Version 4.3.0 NVIDIA 310.19
Direct Rendering Yes
Network controller Ralink corp. RT5390 Wireless 802.11n 1T/1R PCIe

I installed vlc and kdegames from ppm, it's working well so far.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   40.48 KB
 Viewed   846 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tallboy


Joined: 21 Sep 2010
Posts: 444
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Thu 29 Nov 2012, 08:18    Post subject:  

Hi pemasu.
I have a little problem that also may affect other users, and need to be fixed. I have an old P4 1.6GHz linuxbox, with a 21" Sony Multiscan 500 PS monitor, powered by a nvidia GeForce2 MX200 graphic card.

When Precise 54x4 first boots into X, it has a resolution 640x480, and the wizard window that pops up lets me change that to 1280x1024, which is the resolution I prefer. After restart of X, the resolution is still 640x480, indicating that the 'noveou' graphic driver is no good for me.

The problem is, that the dialog window made to change the graphic driver (and most other dialog windows too - including the shutdown window), are too big for the screen's 640x480 resolution, and the windows themselves cannot be resized. All the buttons are placed out of reach, along the bottom edge, so I cannot use them.

Is it possible to give the dialog windows a dynamic size behaviour?

Alternatively, is it possible to include some more graphic drivers in the Precise 54x4?

tallboy

_________________
True freedom is a live Puppy on a multisession CD/DVD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1428
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Thu 29 Nov 2012, 09:07    Post subject:  

pemasu wrote:
AudioVideo worked for me with Imagination. There was though problem to update menu. fixmenus && jwm -reload didnt make it to show. But restart X did.
Hmm.....I thought that bug was fixed. Lets see how it goes with other pets.


Does this command fix the menu without restarting x
Code:
touch --no-create /usr/share/applications/

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 607
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Thu 29 Nov 2012, 10:20    Post subject: None  

rcrsn51 wrote:
---------------------------------------------------------
Umm.... My comment was in reference to your complaints about running off the Live CD on low-memory machines. Once you do an install and get to a "pfix=nocopy" environment, the situation changes, of course.
---------------------------------------------------------

Yes... just funning a little... hey, none of us ever meet each other, if we can't have a little clean fun here, what's the forum worth. Yea know, the rest of the world thinks we're totally nuts anyway, I mean like I have enough puppy only CD's to shingle a house... maybe more. Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy

>>>---Indian------>

_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Thu 29 Nov 2012, 12:18    Post subject:  

I will leave tomorrow to the Lapland Saariselka with our ski club for a week. This is eight time I organize ski camp there. I suppose I have possibility to follow posts that time with my android, but probably I wont reply much. When I come back, I believe I create next Upup Precise build. Barry Kauler has pinned down several PPM bugs and he will create soon updated Precise Puppy.
Saariselka.jpeg
 Description   
 Filesize   59.85 KB
 Viewed   765 Time(s)

Saariselka.jpeg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 607
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Thu 29 Nov 2012, 12:28    Post subject: Desktop  

And Upup Precise 5.4.X.4 on my desktop:

-Computer-
Processor : Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.80GHz
Memory : 765MB (261MB used)
Operating System : Unknown distribution
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Thu 29 Nov 2012 10:53:40 AM EST
-Display-
Resolution : 1440x900 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Mesa DRI Intel(R) 865G x86/MMX/SSE2
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation

-Multimedia-
Audio Adapter : ICH4 - Intel ICH5
-Input Devices-
AT Translated Set 2 keyboard
2.4G Wireless Mouse

-Printers (CUPS)-
HP_Deskjet_1050_J410_series_USB_CN0AG3H19V05HW_HPLIP
---------------------------------------------------------
Precise 5.4.X.4 so far has been the ONLY puppy version that will run some special video-sites I constantly view on gold prospecting 'WITHOUT ALL THAT BUFFERING.' It is a real pleasure to watch these as they were meant to be!!!

Overall: ALL the program apps (that I use) work without fault and fast, very pleased!

Question?: Are there going to be 'package updates' (like BK has for his Precise 4.1.1) to just add to existing Precise 5.4.X.4 or will install of complete new versions be required to upgrade?

>>>---Indian------>
desktop-1.png
 Description   
 Filesize   406.69 KB
 Viewed   747 Time(s)

desktop-1.png


_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PFan


Joined: 14 Oct 2011
Posts: 11
Location: Vermont

PostPosted: Thu 29 Nov 2012, 12:42    Post subject:  

Pemasu,
Beautiful picture there, and beautiful Upup here. Enjoy your ski time, and be safe.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Thu 29 Nov 2012, 13:36    Post subject:  

sszindian. Upup Precise 54X4 has about all updates through woof which Barry provided with his Service Pack. I am not so keen on those Service Packs. I had in Dpup Update menu tab, but I seldomly used it. Mostly it is question of time. You do one kind of update and then check what should be in Service Pack for older version. Usually those updates are difficult to maintain for example for builds which are several releases old. I am not very enthusiathic to keep track on what went to what build. And since I use woof, it is even harder to keep track what Barry provided. You have to review every woof commit.

And....then I would need to get PPM see my Service Pack updates. Hacking PPM is not my favourite job....since I want nowadays to keep it in sync with woof.

So...updating the puplet is much easier to keep the build in sync with Barrys work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 448
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Fri 30 Nov 2012, 15:32    Post subject:  

Hi everyone !

Upup on Toshiba 3000 Satellite idle .

Light as a feather !!

Dreaming of version with E17 Enlightenment desktop .
capture21043.png
 Description   
 Filesize   12.91 KB
 Viewed   614 Time(s)

capture21043.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 11 [163 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0972s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0060s) ][ GZIP on ]