Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 28 Jul 2014, 18:33
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Drivers
How do we add modules to /etc/modules ?
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]  
Author Message
Martificiam

Joined: 04 Nov 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue 06 Nov 2012, 03:08    Post subject:  How do we add modules to /etc/modules ?  

I want to achieve this: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1530962

At the very end it says:
Quote:
7. Now we'll add the module so it will load at startup, again using a terminal:
sudo gedit /etc/modules

8. At the end of the file, add the following:
fsaa1655g
... and close the window.


But when I go to /etc there's only the modules.conf file and no modules file. Is it the same? If not, where should I add that last line? Because without it the wifi drivers won't work on my laptop. I'm running Precise 5.4 by the way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6673
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Tue 06 Nov 2012, 09:24    Post subject:  

Hello Martificiam,

did you successfully compile the module? If you run the network wizard, there is a button called Load module where you can select the compiled module, & test that it works OK, then it should be there when you reboot.

(If it's not showing in the network wizard's list, run depmod -a, in a console, then try the wizard again)

If still doesn't work, you can add modprobe fsaa1655g to the file /etc/rc.d/rc.local, then reboot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Martificiam

Joined: 04 Nov 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed 07 Nov 2012, 02:11    Post subject:  

Hello, thanks for your answer. Anyway, I have already accomplished this simple task - I've found an item in the menus, which allowed me to load kernel modules at boot (somewhere in the system menu, as far as I remember).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Drivers
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0398s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0040s) ][ GZIP on ]