Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 28 Aug 2014, 07:28
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Precise Puppy 5.4 and 5.4.2
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 17 of 29 [422 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, ..., 27, 28, 29 Next
Author Message
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 05 Nov 2012, 10:55    Post subject: Re: Puppy-Universal-Installer crashes
Subject description: on trying to do full install of Precise Puppy
 

julakali wrote:
This is an answer to a bug posted on Page 4 of this Thread...

boon wrote:
Hi, I already posted this in the beginners section.

I got following problem. Trying to do a full install of Precise on my hard drive, Puppy-Universal-Installer crashes after selecting the partition to install to. When I start puppyinstaller from console, I get:
Quote:

** (gtkdialog4:4524): ERROR **: gtkdialog: Error in line 5, near token '</label>': syntax error



Any idea what is going on?
Thank you for the great work, boon


There seems to be an error, which is actually in line ~750 of /usr/sbin/puppyinstaller.
The error is in the line that contains the label "You have choosen to install Puppy to partition [...]".
I just removed that label from the script to continue...


edit: happens with german language pack


You will need to contact Forum member L18L about this, he is the 'de' langpack maintainer -- there is also a thread in this Forum.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2505
Location: Burghaslach, Germany somewhere also known as "Hosla"

PostPosted: Mon 05 Nov 2012, 10:57    Post subject: regular expression evaluation and learning tool  

file:///usr/share/doc/HOWTO-regexps.htm wrote:
[Note: Puppy has a regular expression evaluation and learning tool in the Utilities menu]


Once upon a time (version 1.04) I have used it much.
But now it seems to have disappeared Crying or Very sad


-------------------------------------------
edited
I am going to have a look on puppy installer now

------------

edit
fixed, thank you
puppyinstaller.mo.gz
Description  save as
/usr/share/locale/de/LC_MESSAGES/puppyinstaller.mo
gz

 Download 
Filename  puppyinstaller.mo.gz 
Filesize  45.85 KB 
Downloaded  459 Time(s) 

Last edited by L18L on Mon 05 Nov 2012, 14:26; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
otropogo


Joined: 24 Oct 2009
Posts: 702
Location: Southern Rocky Mt. Trench

PostPosted: Mon 05 Nov 2012, 12:18    Post subject: Re: adding wallpapers - how  

666philb wrote:
otropogo wrote:


Meanwhile, I can't find any means of adding a new wallpaper to the selection provided. I've never had this issue before either.


put your new background in /usr/share/backgrounds

or you could use don570's pet, which gives you an option to send a picture to the backgrounds folder by right clicking http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=67013


Thanks, I'm in lupuplus right now, but will try your suggestion next time I boot with Puppy 5.4

Ok, /usr/share/backgrounds works for me. Thanks. The right choice of background makes the wrong resolution more palatable.

_________________
otropogo@gmail.com facebook.com/otropogo

Last edited by otropogo on Mon 05 Nov 2012, 12:43; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5096
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 05 Nov 2012, 12:35    Post subject:  

Barry,

A lot of the programs:

Help selections do nothing when clicked on.
You get a help menu, but none of the selections do anything if they point to a web site or URL

Also the about screen web links will do nothing when clicked on.

This got fixed in Lucid Puppy.
Works also in Slacko.

Not sure what needs to be done, but 01micko should be able to provide info to you.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
otropogo


Joined: 24 Oct 2009
Posts: 702
Location: Southern Rocky Mt. Trench

PostPosted: Mon 05 Nov 2012, 12:36    Post subject:  

James C wrote:
Another quick test of Precise 5.40 with a different Nvidia card. Sound,internet and display all correct on boot.

# report-video
VIDEO REPORT: Precise Puppy, version 5.4

Chip description:
oem: NVIDIA
product: nv44 Board - p382h1 Chip Rev

Driver used by Xorg:
vesa

Video mode used by Xorg:
Resolution: Depth 24 Depth: "Display"



Interesting. In my installation of 5.4 all report-video displays is the name of the video chip : ATI ATOM RV515 1:00,

and the colour depth (24),


I haven't found a way to copy and paste the display from urxvt.


In lupuplus 528, the same command provides the full name of the card (Radeon X1300/X1550 Series), and the resolution of the display (1280x768), as well as the depth.

There's also a Lighthouse 0.6 popup with the same information and NO mention of "vesa" in either the terminal (ROX) or Lighthouse:

Quote:
sh-4.1# report-video
Lucid , version 528 on Mon 5 Nov 2012

Chip description:
0.0 VGA compatible controller
ATI Technologies Inc RV515 PRO [Radeon X1300/X1550 Series]
oem: ATI ATOMBIOS
product: RV515 01.00

X Server: Xorg
Driver used: radeon

X.Org version: 1.7.6
dimensions: 1024x768 pixels (270x203 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

...the above also recorded in /tmp/root/ as report-video,
and archived with xorg.conf and Xorg.0.log as report-video-full.gz



_________________
otropogo@gmail.com facebook.com/otropogo

Last edited by otropogo on Tue 06 Nov 2012, 01:02; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1393
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Mon 05 Nov 2012, 13:11    Post subject: Re: Preparation for integration of Frisbee
Subject description: Architecture mods to facilitate adding Frisbee as another network manager
 

rerwin wrote:
Barry and testers, The 3.0 version needs testing by wireless users, because I have no wireless setup.


Hi Richard
Have tested your pets - have sent you a PM with the results as I had problems.
Regards
Peter

_________________
LxPup-14.03 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon 05 Nov 2012, 16:57    Post subject:  

some missing firmwares:
# ls /lib/modules/3.2.29/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/rtlwifi
rtl8192c rtl8192ce rtl8192cu rtl8192de rtl8192se rtlwifi.ko

# ls /lib/modules/all-firmware/rtlwifi/lib/firmware/rtlwifi
rtl8192cfw.bin rtl8192cufw.bin rtl8192sefw.bin rtl8712u.bin

Firmware for rtl8192de is missing:
# modinfo rtl8192de
firmware: rtlwifi/rtl8192defw.bin

and.....

# modinfo rtl8192ce
firmware: rtlwifi/rtl8192cfwU_B.bin
firmware: rtlwifi/rtl8192cfwU.bin

firmware: rtlwifi/rtl8192cfw.bin

Those 2 bolded ones are missing. I created a pet which installs them to the right location. It could help for those toshiba laptop users which have lockup problems. Not sure. I read that kernel 3.7 will address them better, but you can try.

/etc/modules/firmware.dep file need correction to this row:
rtlwifi:rtl8192ce.ko,rtl8192cu.ko,rtl8192de.ko,rtl8192se.ko,r8712u.ko

I just have to say that highlighting with default themes is bit difficult.Lol.
rtl8192ce_de_missing_firmwares-0.0.1.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  rtl8192ce_de_missing_firmwares-0.0.1.pet 
Filesize  23.77 KB 
Downloaded  532 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4344

PostPosted: Mon 05 Nov 2012, 17:50    Post subject:  

Everyone needs to realize that Ubuntu packages are built for 686 cpus with the CMOV instruction. This means that Precise will fail on all 486 and 586, the via c3, pentium, pentium mmx, amd geode and the vortex86 series of cpus and several others (see /proc/info to find out if you have the cmov flag)

This is a likely cause of the non-reproducible bug reports. @Barry, didn't you have a gecko edubook? That would be a good test box for this.

Edit: at 1 point choosing PAE in the kernel config also enabled some cmov instructions that prevented booting on these cpus, though IDK if it is still the case.

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
FeodorF


Joined: 07 Jul 2010
Posts: 168
Location: Heidelberg, Germany

PostPosted: Mon 05 Nov 2012, 18:02    Post subject: cmov flag  

technosaurus wrote:
Everyone needs to realize that Ubuntu packages are built for 686 cpus with the CMOV instruction. This means that Precise will fail on all 486 and 586, the via c3, pentium, pentium mmx, amd geode and the vortex86 series of cpus and several others (see /proc/info to find out if you have the cmov flag)

This is a likely cause of the non-reproducible bug reports. @Barry, didn't you have a gecko edubook? That would be a good test box for this.


Well, Pentium III 933 - they look good!
cmov-pentium933.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  cmov-pentium933.png 
Filesize  126.55 KB 
Downloaded  460 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4344

PostPosted: Mon 05 Nov 2012, 18:30    Post subject: Re: cmov flag  

FeodorF wrote:
technosaurus wrote:
Everyone needs to realize that Ubuntu packages are built for 686 cpus with the CMOV instruction. This means that Precise will fail on all 486 and 586, the via c3, pentium, pentium mmx, amd geode and the vortex86 series of cpus and several others (see /proc/info to find out if you have the cmov flag)

This is a likely cause of the non-reproducible bug reports. @Barry, didn't you have a gecko edubook? That would be a good test box for this.


Well, Pentium III 933 - they look good!
Yes, PII should be fine too.
_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Wognath

Joined: 19 Apr 2009
Posts: 169

PostPosted: Mon 05 Nov 2012, 21:23    Post subject: Scanner woes  

Hello,
I'm using Precise on a Lenovo netbook with VIA Nano processor. No issues yet apart from scanner. It's an HP C4480 Photosmart printer/scanner. Here is what I have tried:

Installed hplip_print-3.12.10a.pet and hplip_scan-3.12.10a.pet
from http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=444080

Printer installs and works with no problems.

Peasyscan:
Failed to open device 'hpaio:/usb/Photosmart_C4400_series?serial=CN89BHF1D30557':Invalid argument

sane-find-scanner
found USB scanner (vendor=0x03f0 [HP], product=0x6c11 [Photosmart C4400 series]) at libusb:001:006

scanimage -L
device `hpaio:/usb/Photosmart_C4400_series?serial=CN89BHF1D30557' is a Hewlett-Packard Photosmart_C4400_series all-in-one

xsane GUI (USB)
no devices available

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

[Edit] this works (i.e. scans and outputs file):
Code:
#scanimage -d hpaio:/usb/Photosmart_C4400_series?serial=CN89BHF1D30557 --resolution 200 > /root/my-documents/scan.jpg
I still can't get the xsane gui to open...
Last edited by Wognath on Wed 07 Nov 2012, 16:41; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
prehistoric


Joined: 23 Oct 2007
Posts: 1266

PostPosted: Mon 05 Nov 2012, 21:48    Post subject: Precise Puppy 5.4 on Dell Inspiron 14R N4010  

I've been slow to read this topic and respond. Precise Puppy 5.4 works on most of my collection of antique machines with PII and later processors. (IIRC 686 started with the Pentium Pro, but I don't know anyone who still has one working.)

Naturally, when I went to show 5.4 to a friend I ran into the grub-config bug, then tried to install VLC from Ubuntu-precise-universe. (Not recommended.)

I was able to set up a multiboot system using Lupu 5.28.005 to configure grub.

Moral: never throw a good dog out.

VLC is sufficiently large and complicated that I would recommend making this an .sfs file instead of a .pet.

This group seems to be on top of all the problems I found.

Added: almost forgot my subject line. Just tried 5.4 on a Dell Inspiron 14R N4010 I was repairing for a friend. Works great.
I used the copy partition feature in gparted to move the diagnostic and recovery partitions to a new drive, despite a very slow disk making many retries. Replacing this hard drive is close to a nightmare. This is the first time I've had to pull a laptop motherboard to change a hard drive. Geeksquad didn't even realize the disk was on the point of failing. Dell and BestBuy seem to have decided the design life of this machine was the 3 years you can expect the disk to last in regular use. I'm replacing it with an SSD. (Yes, it is running W7, which knows about limiting writes, though not as well as Puppy.)

Some organization should warn consumers about virtually unrepairable and unsupportable products.

Last edited by prehistoric on Mon 05 Nov 2012, 22:02; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 05 Nov 2012, 21:58    Post subject:  

Precise Puppy 5.4.1-beta1 is uploaded.

This is the first beta of the upcoming 5.4.1 bug-fix release for 5.4.

Blog announcement and download:

http://bkhome.org/blog2/?viewDetailed=00015

This was built last night, so I missed some of the recent posts above.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9058
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 05 Nov 2012, 22:37    Post subject: Re: Scanner woes  

Wognath wrote:
scanimage -L
device `hpaio:/usb/Photosmart_C4400_series?serial=CN89BHF1D30557' is a Hewlett-Packard Photosmart_C4400_series all-in-one

xsane GUI (USB)
no devices available

It's unusual when scanimage detects the backend correctly but xsane doesn't.

Has this scanner worked with other Puppies or other versions of HPLIP?

I just tested my Photosmart C4680 in Precise with the hplip_scan-3.12.10a.pet and it worked fine.

Do you have a different machine to test it on?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2081
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Tue 06 Nov 2012, 00:57    Post subject: Precise Puppy 5.4
Subject description: precise 5.4.0.90 on emachines D620 laptop
 

I did a manual frugal install to a 4gb flash drive, it has a 3gb
savefile.
VIDEO REPORT: Precise Puppy, version 5.4.0.90
Chip description:
oem: ATI ATOMBIOS
product: RS690 01.00
Driver used by Xorg:
radeon
Video mode used by Xorg:
Resolution: Depth 24 Depth: "Display"
OpenGL
Vendor X.Org R300 Project
Renderer Gallium 0.4 on ATI RS690
Version 2.1 Mesa 8.0.4
Direct Rendering Yes
# glxgears
Running synchronized to the vertical refresh. The framerate should be
approximately the same as the monitor refresh rate.
55 frames in 5.0 seconds = 10.908 FPS
65 frames in 5.0 seconds = 12.954 FPS
65 frames in 5.0 seconds = 12.954 FPS
Computer
Processor AMD Athlon(tm) Processor 2650e
Memory 1812MB (112MB used)
Network controller Broadcom Corporation BCM4312 802.11b/g LP-PHY (rev 01)
Crystal Eye webcam

I installed vlc 2.0.3,kdegames,and guvcview from ppm and they all work
fine first go, no missing dependencies.
I was going to install cheese for the webcam but the download would
have been 192mb and guvcview does the same thing with a much smaller
download.
Highlighting text in the hardinfo report works fine.
That's it so far, it does what I want/need on this particular laptop, thanks.
screenshot2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   47.96 KB
 Viewed   1734 Time(s)

screenshot2.jpg

screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   36.33 KB
 Viewed   1806 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg


Last edited by Billtoo on Tue 06 Nov 2012, 05:33; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 17 of 29 [422 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, ..., 27, 28, 29 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1132s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0083s) ][ GZIP on ]