Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 18 Dec 2014, 05:39
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Precise Puppy 5.4 and 5.4.2
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 12 of 29 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, ..., 27, 28, 29 Next
Author Message
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 29 Oct 2012, 16:11    Post_subject:  

rjbrewer reported here thet grubconfig is broken in the latest Slacko.

rcrsn51 found the cause and solution here

Precise suffers from the same bug, missing cp-FULL. Though I haven't tried it, it seems gubconfig is broken at the woof level.
Code:
# find / -name cp-FULL
# grep cp\-FULL `which grubconfig`
 cp-FULL -p /usr/share/grub/*/*stage* $BOOT/grub 2>$TMP/null
 cp-FULL -p /usr/local/share/grub/*/*stage* $BOOT/grub 2>$TMP/null
 cp-FULL -p /usr/lib/grub/*/*stage* $BOOT/grub 2>$TMP/null

Evidence that cp-FULL is not in Precise.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1892

PostPosted: Mon 29 Oct 2012, 16:48    Post_subject: pupmode 6 and 7 issues  

There are a couple of issues in PUPMODE 6 and 7 (save to the entire partition).
A minor one is that on first reboot you get again the first setup window although you layered file system is already all set.(see picture) After second reboot things are OK.

The big problem is that puppy fails to shutdown after exiting to console.
You must hard-shutdown and if you have an ext3 partition this will usually messup your journal.
I think it because it can not unmount the boot partition.
Looks like an aufs/rc.shutdown issue.

This issue also appears in the latest slacko so must be a woof thing
welcome_pupmode7.png
 Description   
 Filesize   118.23 KB
 Viewed   1975 Time(s)

welcome_pupmode7.png


_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Mon 29 Oct 2012, 18:08    Post_subject:  

01micko wrote:
rjbrewer reported here thet grubconfig is broken in the latest Slacko.

rcrsn51 found the cause and solution here

Precise suffers from the same bug, missing cp-FULL. Though I haven't tried it, it seems gubconfig is broken at the woof level.
Code:
# find / -name cp-FULL
# grep cp\-FULL `which grubconfig`
 cp-FULL -p /usr/share/grub/*/*stage* $BOOT/grub 2>$TMP/null
 cp-FULL -p /usr/local/share/grub/*/*stage* $BOOT/grub 2>$TMP/null
 cp-FULL -p /usr/lib/grub/*/*stage* $BOOT/grub 2>$TMP/null

Evidence that cp-FULL is not in Precise.


Yes; found same problem in Precise when doing full install
to empty drive with grub legacy.

Grub4dos is functioning okay.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3468
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 29 Oct 2012, 18:55    Post_subject:  

Barry's blog today.

" Bugs are being discovered in Precise Puppy 5.4

However, there is definitely going to be a need for a Service Pack 1,
for those who already have 5.4,
and a corresponding bug-fix release 5.4.1."

http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=03078

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
badab99

Joined: 06 Oct 2012
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon 29 Oct 2012, 21:06    Post_subject: Tranmission qt 2.5.1+ deps corrupts system fonts  

Tranmission qt 2.5.1+ deps corrupts system font.

installed from ppm ubuntu rep. required a reinstall with wipe to correct.

Not sure what caused this but it was severe. installed the 2.31 i486 pet and all is well shows 2.51 installed in ppm too. wierd
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Tue 30 Oct 2012, 00:36    Post_subject: Re: pupmode 6 and 7 issues  

mavrothal wrote:
There are a couple of issues in PUPMODE 6 and 7 (save to the entire partition).
(snip)
The big problem is that puppy fails to shutdown after exiting to console.
You must hard-shutdown and if you have an ext3 partition this will usually messup your journal.

Try pupsaveconfig-2.2.5.pet.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=661425#661425

But note that the pupsaveconfig does not allow saving session to the entire partition.
Save to the entire partition before, and then install the pupsaveconfig.

As for the rc.shutdown in the woof, the line 594-612 are better to be modified to see grand parents.
Code:
# diff -u rc.shutdown.org rc.shutdown
--- rc.shutdown.org   2012-07-17 19:51:39.000000000 +0900
+++ rc.shutdown   2012-10-30 13:56:51.366572134 +0900
@@ -599,10 +599,13 @@
 if [ "`busybox mount | grep "$ABSPUPHOME"`" != "" ];then
  #BADPIDS="`fuser -v -m $ABSPUPHOME | grep -v --extended-regexp 'kernel|COMMAND|^$' | tr -s ' ' | cut -f 3 -d ' ' | tr '\n' ' '`"
  BADPIDS="`fuser -m $ABSPUPHOME 2>/dev/null`" #100107
+ PSRESULT=$(ps -al)
+ PSRESULT=$(echo "$PSRESULT"| tr -s ' ' | cut -f4,5,14 -d' ')
  for ONEBAD in $BADPIDS
  do
   [ "$ONEBAD" = "$MYPID" ] && continue #120514 precaution.
   [ "$ONEBAD" = "$PARENT" ] && continue #120514 precaution.
+  echo "$PSRESULT" | grep -w "$ONEBAD" | grep -qw -E "$PARENT|poweroff|reboot" && continue
   #echo "`eval_gettext \"Killing process \\\${ONEBAD}...\"`"
   echo "Killing process $ONEBAD..."
   kill $ONEBAD

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
tallboy


Joined: 21 Sep 2010
Posts: 454
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Tue 30 Oct 2012, 00:58    Post_subject:  

rerwin, I always attach the modem before start, when running a puppy first time, I am sorry I didn't mention that right away. The reason for omitting it, was that it has never been recognized as a modem that way in any puppy so far.

lupu-5.2.5 and puppy-4.32 actually recognize the modem's memory if I attach it before starting up, and autmatically mount it as a memory stick.

puppy-4.32's connect wizard claims it has found the modem as /dev/ttyUSB0, but then refuse to recognize it when tested in the wizard, and will not connect.

lupu-5.2.5 refuse to accept it as a modem.

My normal procedure is to attach the modem after startup. If it comes up on the desktop as a CD disc icon - as it does in dpup-485, I mount and unmount it, and wait for it to show as a memory stick, then modify the /etc/wvdial.conf file manually, before running the connect wizard. The last point is actually important, as the connect wizard deletes any changes to the wvdial.conf, if it is closed after a failed attempt to connect. It usually take 2 connect attempts with the wizard open, before the modem stay connected.

What also really puzzled me, was that Precise would not recognize any memory that was attached after the failed attempt to make the modem work.

tallboy

_________________
True freedom is a live Puppy on a multisession CD/DVD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sky Aisling


Joined: 27 Jun 2009
Posts: 966
Location: Port Townsend, WA. USA

PostPosted: Tue 30 Oct 2012, 01:24    Post_subject: Precise Puppy 5.4
Sub_title: Kernel version may be the issue
 

Tallboy,
Perhaps the issue has to do with the kernel version.
Have you tried running Puppy-4.3.1 with the older kernel?
I corrected a similiar issue by reverting to the earlier kernel in combination with an old Dell Inspiron 600m machine.
The modem had to be plugged in before bootup.

(I realize this is off your original concern that Precise Puppy should connect to just about anything without issue.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1892

PostPosted: Tue 30 Oct 2012, 01:37    Post_subject:  Re: pupmode 6 and 7 issues [SOLVED]  

shinobar wrote:
mavrothal wrote:
There are a couple of issues in PUPMODE 6 and 7 (save to the entire partition).
(snip)
The big problem is that puppy fails to shutdown after exiting to console.
You must hard-shutdown and if you have an ext3 partition this will usually messup your journal.

Try pupsaveconfig-2.2.5.pet.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=661425#661425

But note that the pupsaveconfig does not allow saving session to the entire partition.
Save to the entire partition before, and then install the pupsaveconfig.

As for the rc.shutdown in the woof, the line 594-612 are better to be modified to see grand parents.
Code:
# diff -u rc.shutdown.org rc.shutdown
--- rc.shutdown.org   2012-07-17 19:51:39.000000000 +0900
+++ rc.shutdown   2012-10-30 13:56:51.366572134 +0900
@@ -599,10 +599,13 @@
 if [ "`busybox mount | grep "$ABSPUPHOME"`" != "" ];then
  #BADPIDS="`fuser -v -m $ABSPUPHOME | grep -v --extended-regexp 'kernel|COMMAND|^$' | tr -s ' ' | cut -f 3 -d ' ' | tr '\n' ' '`"
  BADPIDS="`fuser -m $ABSPUPHOME 2>/dev/null`" #100107
+ PSRESULT=$(ps -al)
+ PSRESULT=$(echo "$PSRESULT"| tr -s ' ' | cut -f4,5,14 -d' ')
  for ONEBAD in $BADPIDS
  do
   [ "$ONEBAD" = "$MYPID" ] && continue #120514 precaution.
   [ "$ONEBAD" = "$PARENT" ] && continue #120514 precaution.
+  echo "$PSRESULT" | grep -w "$ONEBAD" | grep -qw -E "$PARENT|poweroff|reboot" && continue
   #echo "`eval_gettext \"Killing process \\\${ONEBAD}...\"`"
   echo "Killing process $ONEBAD..."
   kill $ONEBAD


Shinobar,
your patch alone fixed the hung shutdown issue in pupmode 6 and 7!
Indeed, there was a warning before about some PIDs that were not found yo be killed.

Later The welcome screen on first reboot in pupmode 6, 7 remains after the application of the patch. So I assume is a derayedrun issue (or maybe related to my mods if no one else sees this).
No. delayed run does the job but somehow the entire /var folder is not saved to the save partition on first shutdown Confused
Can not see anything in shutdownconfig, snapmergepuppy or rc.shutdown that could account for that. Any ideas?

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4833
Location: GB

PostPosted: Tue 30 Oct 2012, 04:45    Post_subject:  

Quote:
With the device plugged during boot, attach a gzipped dmesg to your reply
....
There may be more to it than a simple mount..

Thanks again, Semme, it's much more complicated as per PM.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1112
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue 30 Oct 2012, 04:58    Post_subject:  

Since the purpose of this Puppy is to make Ubuntu repo's available to PPM, it would be useful to start making a list of Ubuntu packages that successfully install on Precise Puppy. If some or most packages require tweaking or minor modification, that should be noted as well. Once the list gets started, it may be observable that some Ubuntu repo's work and some don't. I didn't have much luck with VLC from ubuntu-precise-universe.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1939
Location: wales

PostPosted: Tue 30 Oct 2012, 05:36    Post_subject:  

nubc wrote:
Since the purpose of this Puppy is to make Ubuntu repo's available to PPM, it would be useful to start making a list of Ubuntu packages that successfully install on Precise Puppy. If some or most packages require tweaking or minor modification, that should be noted as well. Once the list gets started, it may be observable that some Ubuntu repo's work and some don't. I didn't have much luck with VLC from ubuntu-precise-universe.


hi nubc,

i agree with the starting of a list to say what works and what doesn't.... playdaze wished that a list had been started for lucid.

VLC should work, it works for me, barry made a script that detects when you try to install vlc from the ppm, and it edits the binary to allow running as root. did you choose the 'examine dependencies' option and install them all?

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1112
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue 30 Oct 2012, 08:31    Post_subject:  

Yes, I chose 'Examine dependencies' and installed all dependencies (67). After all dependencies were installed, however, VLC was not installed. Installing VLC required opening PPM again then installing it, which went smoothly. I then restarted the X server. When I got to Desktop again, I opened urxvt and entered "vlc", which returned "not a bash command."

EDIT: I tried installing again, this time with better results as 'VLC media player' is now in the menu tree under Multimedia.
Code:
# vlc
VLC media player 2.0.3 Twoflower (revision 2.0.2-93-g77aa89e)
[0x8053150] main libvlc: Running vlc with the default interface. Use 'cvlc' to use vlc without interface.
Unable to load library icui18n "Cannot load library icui18n: (libicui18n.so.48: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory)"

Works good now using 'Open with...' dialog, after I made an absolute link with vlc binary located /usr/bin

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5479
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 30 Oct 2012, 09:51    Post_subject:  

PPM problem.
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=81773

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Tue 30 Oct 2012, 12:27    Post_subject:  

Testing url:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=60180

edit:
Not necessary to highlight link first.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 12 of 29 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, ..., 27, 28, 29 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1269s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0145s) ][ GZIP on ]