Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 21 Oct 2014, 22:06
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Precise Puppy 5.4 and 5.4.2
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 8 of 29 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, ..., 27, 28, 29 Next
Author Message
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 606

PostPosted: Sat 27 Oct 2012, 08:32    Post_subject: Broadcom Linux Sta Patched  

I have compiled a wl.ko for Broadcom Sta driver linux using a patch I found here:

http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/slackware-14/compiling-broadcom-driver-947294/

I don't have tested it because I don't have the notebook with Broadcom wireless here. I use to load wl.ko by linux Sta on the fly by inserting in /root/Startup a file with a kind of content of the following type:

#!/bin/sh
rmmod b43
rmmod ssb
rmmod bcma
rmmod wl
modprobe lib80211
modprobe cfg80211
insmod /pathofnewwl/wl.ko

I loaded the wl.ko for test at:

https://docs.google.com/open?id=0B9iMb4UZBeFkQ205ZTZEc3pZRjg
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
slenkar

Joined: 10 Jul 2009
Posts: 214

PostPosted: Sat 27 Oct 2012, 10:09    Post_subject:  

after the layered file system was created,. I booted precise up again and the desktop is now just black with no icons, plz help
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1460
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Sat 27 Oct 2012, 10:09    Post_subject: Re: Broadcom Linux Sta Patched  

duplicate post - sorry
_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1460
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Sat 27 Oct 2012, 10:11    Post_subject: Re: Broadcom Linux Sta Patched  

watchdog wrote:
I have compiled a wl.ko for Broadcom Sta driver linux .....


Hi watchdog

Please have a look at:
Broadcom-STA "wl" wifi drivers - repository of latest

and http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=81672&start=77 earlier in this thread from rerwin.

Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Sat 27 Oct 2012, 11:03    Post_subject:  

slenkar .... When it does that select Menu - Shutdown - Restart X server.
The retro (non PAE) version doesn't have that bug.

Art
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sky Aisling


Joined: 27 Jun 2009
Posts: 909
Location: Port Townsend, WA. USA

PostPosted: Sat 27 Oct 2012, 11:58    Post_subject: Precise Puppy 5.4
Sub_title: How does Newbie Tell if PAE or non-PAE version of Precise?
 

Artsown

How does a newbie tell if Precise version is *PAE* or *non-PAE*?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Sat 27 Oct 2012, 12:08    Post_subject: Re: Precise Puppy 5.4
Sub_title: How does Newbie Tell if PAE or non-PAE version of Precise?
 

Sky Aisling wrote:
Artsown

How does a newbie tell if Precise version is *PAE* or *non-PAE*?


Click on the "help" icon upper left.

Non-pae says "retro precise".

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sky Aisling


Joined: 27 Jun 2009
Posts: 909
Location: Port Townsend, WA. USA

PostPosted: Sat 27 Oct 2012, 12:14    Post_subject: Precise Puppy 5.4
Sub_title: PAE or non-PAE?
 

Quote:
Sky Aisling wrote:
Artsown

How does a newbie tell if Precise version is *PAE* or *non-PAE*?


rjbrewer writes:

Quote:
Click on the "help" icon upper left.

Non-pae says "retro precise".


I took my download from
http://puppylinux.org/main/Download%20Latest%20Release.htm
Is that a PAE or non-PAE download?

Edit: the main download is PAE. But, I have to ask how does a Newbie know that? Or even know what PAE is? And, if she/he needs non-PAE download where is it found? I have to keep championing for the Newbie as so many new users of Puppy are coming aboard.
Edit: non-PAE download location: http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=03066

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1460
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Sat 27 Oct 2012, 12:48    Post_subject: Re: Integration of Frisbee into Puppy -- eventually  

rerwin wrote:
From page 6: For now, please try the attached packages without Frisbee, to see if there is any wireless improvement or impact.
Richard


Hi Richard

Tried the B43 firmware and dhcpcd pets on a pristine frugal install of Precise 5.4-pae.

All seemed well....wifi connection established as expected.

Do you want me to replace the dhcpcd in Frisbee for Precise from:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=64472&start=85
and see how that behaves?

Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
oldyeller


Joined: 15 Nov 2011
Posts: 812
Location: Mishawaka IN

PostPosted: Sat 27 Oct 2012, 13:28    Post_subject:  

I have downloaded both Precise pups.

Precise 5.4 official;
works great can use puppy-precise in the ppm to download and install pkgs.

Precise-retro 5.4 non pae;
I have downloaded again and reburned it to cd and still through the ppm using puppy-precise repo can not download and install any pkgs what so ever.

the noarch-repo in the ppm works just fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tallboy


Joined: 21 Sep 2010
Posts: 444
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Sat 27 Oct 2012, 13:52    Post_subject:  

Re: Failing to get a working internet connection

watchdog wrote:
Have you tried first installing: http://distro.ibiblio.org/quirky/pet_packages-common/usb-modeswitch-1.2.4-up.pet and http://distro.ibiblio.org/quirky/pet_packages-noarch/usb-modeswitch-data-20120815.pet


Nope, and that is my point. Any new puppy should be a relatively mature product by now, and trouble like failing to get an internet connection up and running at first try, should simply not happen! I think that booting, finding all hardware, and covering all possible ways to connect to the internet, is an absolute minimum requirement for any distro. If some other applications don't work because of new kernels, libs or other dependencies, so be it. That can be explained and fixed, but only if you are online!

If I came from Windoze, and if Precise was my first attempt to use puppylinux, the next thing happening would be that all my friends would hear about that awful linux 'thing' that couldn't even find the net!

Besides, I could not download those .pets without an internet connection, in fact I couldn't even read this post... Laughing

tallboy

_________________
True freedom is a live Puppy on a multisession CD/DVD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1529
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sat 27 Oct 2012, 15:42    Post_subject: Re: ZTE MF636 USB modem not detected  

tallboy, watchdog,
There is no need to install the mentioned usb_modeswitch packages. They are built into precise 5.4. From the "wood_installed_packages list:
Code:
usb-modeswitch-1.2.4-up|...|mode switcher for hybrid USB devices|ubuntu|precise||
usb-modeswitch-data-20120815|...|mode switcher data base||||
So, that's not the problem.

Tallboy, your modem should be supported by this puppy. Would you give us some information to allow me to work the problem? Please boot pfix=ram and try to start the modem by going through the "connect" icon and following the prompts to get to pupdial. If no modem is detected (ttyUSB?), click on CHOOSE, then PROBE, to see if it is found. If not found, open a console and enter pmodemdiag, to get a pmodemdiag...tar.gz file in your main (/root) directory. Attach that file to a posting here. TIA.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1828
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Sat 27 Oct 2012, 16:51    Post_subject: Re: Precise Puppy 5.4
Sub_title: How does Newbie Tell if PAE or non-PAE version of Precise?
 

Sky Aisling wrote:
Artsown

How does a newbie tell if Precise version is *PAE* or *non-PAE*?


In a terminal type: cat /proc/cpuinfo

This will show you a lot of information about each of you processors.

Pay attention after flags:
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts rep_good nopl aperfmperf pni dtes64 monitor ds_cpl vmx smx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr pdcm sse4_1 xsave lahf_lm dts tpr_shadow vnmi flexpriority

pae will will listed if it supports it.

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 606

PostPosted: Sat 27 Oct 2012, 17:10    Post_subject:  

emil wrote:

I would wish a more prominent color for text highlighting.
otherways its superb.


Click Menu-Desktop-Chtheme GTK theme chooser. I have changed it to Polished-Blue and works fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tallboy


Joined: 21 Sep 2010
Posts: 444
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Sat 27 Oct 2012, 17:14    Post_subject:  

rerwin, will do, coming back later with full report.

tallboy

_________________
True freedom is a live Puppy on a multisession CD/DVD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 8 of 29 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, ..., 27, 28, 29 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0948s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0098s) ][ GZIP on ]