Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 01 Aug 2014, 06:27
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Carolina - 1.2
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 49 of 92 [1374 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, ..., 90, 91, 92 Next
Author Message
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 496
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Tue 14 May 2013, 02:02    Post subject:  

lvds wrote:
Hi everyone,

I tried to watch TV and discovered mms streams don't play. Does anyone have a solution ?

Best regards


Can you give a specific example? I went to that site and everything seemed to play ok.

_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.1
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1329
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Tue 14 May 2013, 02:33    Post subject: Re: Some small flaws to fix  

xstylezx wrote:
Dromeno wrote:


Chrome: I understand that the lighter (faster but older) kernel of Carolina can not work with new chromium browsers so a surrogate is available. But: most chrome extensions do not work anymore in this version. So I hope that somebody ever will discover a workaround...


This is the deal breaker for me. I simply cannot and will not use outdated browser versions for many reasons, and not getting latest security fixes/updates is one of those reasons. However, I love carolinas looks and its professionalism. I mean, this puppy just screams high class! I just wish we could get some updated libraries so latest chromium can be used. Yes, I imagine I could use a newer firefox on carolina, and I do use firefox often. I wont just abandon chromium either, not when I dont have to. I always keep an eye on this thread in the hopes of updated libraries and a new chromium, never hurts to keep watch. Very Happy


xstylezx,

The included Firefox 17.0.5-ESR works well and is still maintained, but for how long we don't know.

Yes it would of been nice to have updated libs, but as Carolina is Wary based there will be none.

It's been a pleasure working on Carolina, but even with it's limitations is still very usable. Smile

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Shep

Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 851
Location: GIRT-BY-SEA

PostPosted: Wed 15 May 2013, 09:24    Post subject:  

lvds wrote:

I tried to watch TV and discovered mms streams don't play. Does anyone have a solution ?

I'm not able to address your question in the context of Carolina, since I am not using Carolina and have not even been following this thread. But a workaround for playing mms streams (from Firefox) has been to edit the URL and change mms:// into http://, and surprisingly, it always seems to work (for recent versions of Firefox, anyway).

Good luck with it!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Wed 15 May 2013, 10:22    Post subject:  

Puppies made by Barry have mms enabled in seamonkey.
_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3221
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 15 May 2013, 18:01    Post subject:  

I compiled mhwaveedit 1.4.21 so that LADSPA plugins can be used.

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=703773#703773

_______________________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dromeno

Joined: 12 Sep 2008
Posts: 534

PostPosted: Thu 16 May 2013, 04:12    Post subject: Declaring my love to Carolina  

I really love Carolina! Losing Chromium was difficult but Opera works fine as well, and firefox is very acceptable as long as you do not have to update it su much.

TV: XBMC is working smooth! (I watched Nixie Pixel lately at youtube talking about ubuntu 13.04 being so fast even with unity as interface, but many XBMC tv streams do not work on my machine in Ubuntu 13.04 while they do without problems in Carolina!). But there is no Boxee yet for Carolina. I have read somewhere that Boxee offers BBC streams while XBMC does not. If that is the case I would like Boxee added.

search options... I can not get recoll working yet on Carolina. I hope that will be possible soon because recoll is such a great desktop search engine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1329
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Thu 16 May 2013, 17:58    Post subject: Re: Declaring my love to Carolina  

Dromeno wrote:
I have read somewhere that Boxee offers BBC streams while XBMC does not. If that is the case I would like Boxee added.


It appears that the Boxee application was dropped for Linux, Mac and Windows, it is now a standalone d-link device.

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dromeno

Joined: 12 Sep 2008
Posts: 534

PostPosted: Fri 17 May 2013, 07:11    Post subject: rc3 delta not working?  

Weird... I have the rc2 iso and the rc3 delta file in the same directory. Clicked on the delta file, dragged the rc2 iso file in the box but no rc3 iso was generated?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dromeno

Joined: 12 Sep 2008
Posts: 534

PostPosted: Fri 17 May 2013, 07:31    Post subject: portables  

something else: forum member markreaves seems to have some experience in the creation of linux portables which are specifically tailored for certain puppies.

See for instance here for retroshare for precize:

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=689809#689809

I wonder if the time consuming task of making pets (or portable executable) files which are usable for Carolina can be automated in some way. A portable retroshare for Carolina which works from inside a truecrypt vault looks very useful and secure.[/url]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 496
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Fri 17 May 2013, 08:04    Post subject: Re: rc3 delta not working?  

Dromeno wrote:
Weird... I have the rc2 iso and the rc3 delta file in the same directory. Clicked on the delta file, dragged the rc2 iso file in the box but no rc3 iso was generated?


That delta is 007rc to 007rc3, I haven't uploaded the rc2 to rc3 delta yet. I'll do that now.

_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.1
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1329
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Fri 17 May 2013, 09:07    Post subject:  

Carolina 007rc3 is released, for details see the first post
brown-icons.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   29.09 KB
 Viewed   400 Time(s)

brown-icons.jpg


_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dromeno

Joined: 12 Sep 2008
Posts: 534

PostPosted: Fri 17 May 2013, 15:03    Post subject: Not yet working?  

I have just tried Carolina rc3 on an older laptop without pae. Did not work. Machine (Acer travelmate 4500) could not boot with the kernel (but it does boot from Saluki 23!)

I have tried it twice. First with a Carolina 007 rc2 which was converted to rc3 by using the rc2>rc3 delta file

Then with a fresh downloaded 007 rc which was converted to rc3 with the rc>rc3 delta file.

but still no show. Did I do something wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Marv


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 337
Location: SW Wisconsin

PostPosted: Fri 17 May 2013, 22:41    Post subject: rc3  

Just updated both my non-adrive and adrive versions using the PAE rc2-rc3 delta. Absolutely no problems at all. Stripped the leafpad out of my 007rc2 save files before booting it and up it comes, manilla folders Laughing and all. Haven't been running 006 or 007 on my non-PAE machines but I'll try that next as I'm gradually shifting gruntwork to 007 from my customized 005s whilst curling my one remaining hair with arch/alpha.

Thanks!

_________________
tweaked 412 based boxpup, well honed 'lina-lite-005, alphaOS 321 Wink , X-slacko 2.1, Lxpup 14.07, and not to forget trusty Carolina/Carolite (now with 3.15 kernel). All lean and steady pups.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1329
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Fri 17 May 2013, 23:57    Post subject: Re: Not yet working?  

Dromeno wrote:
I have just tried Carolina rc3 on an older laptop without pae. Did not work. Machine (Acer travelmate 4500) could not boot with the kernel (but it does boot from Saluki 23!)

I have tried it twice. First with a Carolina 007 rc2 which was converted to rc3 by using the rc2>rc3 delta file

Then with a fresh downloaded 007 rc which was converted to rc3 with the rc>rc3 delta file.

but still no show. Did I do something wrong?


How much ram does your Acer travelmate 4500 have, I tried lina-007rc3-non-pae.iso in virtualbox and it works fine,
I see the travelmate 4500 has 256/512 megs of ram, if it only has 256 then you will get a kernel panic out of memory message.

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 496
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Sat 18 May 2013, 01:24    Post subject: Re: Not yet working?  

Dromeno wrote:
I have just tried Carolina rc3 on an older laptop without pae. Did not work. Machine (Acer travelmate 4500) could not boot with the kernel (but it does boot from Saluki 23!)



You didn't say what version of Carolina you were trying. The Acer Travelmate 4500 is non-pae only. I also have the same model and the non-pae version boots without problems on my machine.

_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.1
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 49 of 92 [1374 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, ..., 90, 91, 92 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1021s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0171s) ][ GZIP on ]