Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 20 Oct 2014, 06:24
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Carolina - 1.2
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 20 of 99 [1475 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, ..., 97, 98, 99 Next
Author Message
Marv


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 348
Location: SW Wisconsin

PostPosted: Thu 25 Oct 2012, 22:36    Post subject: xfce4-panel-plugin-mount  

Does anyone else not see inserted USB drives in the panel-plugin-mount unless they are mounted? The show up both on the desktop and in thunar and mount and unmount fine. As soon as unmounted, even if from the plugin itself they disappear from the plugin before being removed! sda1 and sda2 (ide) are fine. Vfat and Ext2 USB drives behave the same. Starting USB modeswitch or not makes no difference.

I know Geoffrey had a post on this in the Saluki forum but it wasn't resolved there so far as I know. I've tried several versions, currently running 5.5 and googled to no avail. This is true in Saluki 023 and in Carolina 002 non-PAE lite. Seems to me it did work in Saluki 021 but I'll have to boot that to check. Is it logical to assume this is a 4.8 to 4.10 growing pain? If so, I can certainly wait it out.

Of course pmount works from the panel just fine but the interface of the xfce4 plugin is just enough better to make me wish it worked.

_________________
tweaked 412 based boxpup, well honed 'lina-lite-005, alphaOS 321 Wink , X-slacko 2.2n, Lxpup-Tahr, and not to forget trusty Carolina/Carolite (now with 3.17 kernel). All lean and steady pups.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1426
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Fri 26 Oct 2012, 01:56    Post subject: Re: xfce4-panel-plugin-mount  

Marv wrote:
Does anyone else not see inserted USB drives in the panel-plugin-mount unless they are mounted? The show up both on the desktop and in thunar and mount and unmount fine. As soon as unmounted, even if from the plugin itself they disappear from the plugin before being removed! sda1 and sda2 (ide) are fine. Vfat and Ext2 USB drives behave the same. Starting USB modeswitch or not makes no difference.

I know Geoffrey had a post on this in the Saluki forum but it wasn't resolved there so far as I know. I've tried several versions, currently running 5.5 and googled to no avail. This is true in Saluki 023 and in Carolina 002 non-PAE lite. Seems to me it did work in Saluki 021 but I'll have to boot that to check. Is it logical to assume this is a 4.8 to 4.10 growing pain? If so, I can certainly wait it out.

Of course pmount works from the panel just fine but the interface of the xfce4 plugin is just enough better to make me wish it worked.


Yeah that seems to be the case with the 4.10 upgrade, a number of 4.8 plugins no longer function correctly, the mounter plugin was handy, I also tried to get it working with USB , but no joy.

I have also tried to get the weather plugin to work here in Australia, but have had no luck, it works for elroy in the US though, has anyone been able to get it to function outside of the US?

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
okokoook

Joined: 08 Dec 2011
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Fri 26 Oct 2012, 10:09    Post subject:  

yeah, i also found a little weird thing about carolina 002. in carolina 001, when i view files in sfs using sfs-loader, there will be a icon like "loop4" shown in the thunar sidebar after the sfs has been opened, but in carolina 002, there is no such thing to happen. i was just curious about it.

michael
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mufeed2012

Joined: 24 Oct 2012
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Fri 26 Oct 2012, 10:15    Post subject:  

I hate this.
Last edited by mufeed2012 on Sat 27 Oct 2012, 10:01; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1426
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Fri 26 Oct 2012, 16:04    Post subject:  

@mufeed2012

Thank you, but there is no reason to be nasty, there is a thing called etiquette, which is the norm,
you are quite welcome to make comment, contribute ideas and make request, we don't hold grudges.

Geoffrey

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE

Last edited by Geoffrey on Sat 27 Oct 2012, 16:35; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jejy69


Joined: 20 Jan 2011
Posts: 707
Location: Perpignan

PostPosted: Fri 26 Oct 2012, 16:58    Post subject:  

I agree with Geoffrey.
mufeed2012 shows a certain narrowness of mind ...
Especially since Carolina is just as valid as Lxpup or better since its development is more advanced than mine.

This is appalling ... Confused

_________________
I'm Commander Shepard and this is my favorite Linux distrbution on the Citadel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
elroy


Joined: 02 Feb 2012
Posts: 374

PostPosted: Fri 26 Oct 2012, 22:45    Post subject:  

mufeed2012 wrote:
I don't like this Puppy Derivative. It does not have good looks like LXPup & It is not as functional as LXPup too. So I don't like this one. Everybody use LXPup instead of this Puppy Derivative. And If you don't like LXPup more than this then come back to this one or try:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=81728&start=15

Thanks.


Wow. I don't even know what to say, other than that this is probably the most immature, self-promoting thing I've ever seen on the murga forum. Hopefully Flash will deal with this accordingly. This is akin to spam.

Certainly every one is entitled to their opinion. However, to do so in this manner and then post a link to your own ISO minutes from it's upload being completed, that runs counter to the spirit of community.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rmcellig

Joined: 19 Nov 2011
Posts: 922
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sat 27 Oct 2012, 16:49    Post subject: unable to get Carolina 002 running.  

I copied the files in the ISO to a folder called Carolina on my HD (SDA1). When I used Grub4Dos to build the boot menu, it didn't show up. Am I doing something wrong?
carolina.png
 Description   
 Filesize   36.84 KB
 Viewed   1190 Time(s)

carolina.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1484
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 28 Oct 2012, 08:12    Post subject: Re: xfce4-panel-plugin-mount  

Hi

Geoffrey wrote:
...I have also tried to get the weather plugin to work here in Australia, but have had no luck, it works for elroy in the US though, has anyone been able to get it to function outside of the US?

It appears to be working here in the UK,
although there is some rather wierd looking icons in that first pic.

CatDude
.
Screenshot-1.png
 Description   
 Filesize   37.71 KB
 Viewed   1123 Time(s)

Screenshot-1.png

Screenshot-2.png
 Description   
 Filesize   36.18 KB
 Viewed   1138 Time(s)

Screenshot-2.png

Screenshot-3.png
 Description   
 Filesize   39.19 KB
 Viewed   1113 Time(s)

Screenshot-3.png


_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 2591
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun 28 Oct 2012, 14:44    Post subject: Re: xfce4-panel-plugin-mount  

CatDude wrote:
although there is some rather wierd looking icons in that first pic.

Don't think I will book a holiday to the Bahamas then - looks like it must be in the flightpath of one of those Boeings with the faulty loo valves...
bahamas flight path.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   28.35 KB
 Viewed   1039 Time(s)

bahamas flight path.jpg


Last edited by greengeek on Sun 28 Oct 2012, 15:14; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4350
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sun 28 Oct 2012, 14:50    Post subject:  

cthisbear wrote:
" Sometimes....very infrequently in Frisbee you have to
...
@CThisBear, I have experienced this with ALL recent builds of PUPs in the last 45 days using Frisbee. I have NOT experienced this with Dougal's version.

I am NOT promoting anything, here, with this post. I am indicating what I, too, have experienced in using Frisbee with most recent versions of PUPs.

Here to help

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 790
Location: Union New Jersey USA

PostPosted: Sun 28 Oct 2012, 19:07    Post subject: Grub4Dos not finding Carolina 002  

Hi rmcellig,

Just a guess, but I noticed your carolina folder is named "carolina 002". Note the space between carolina and 002. I'm not sure Grub4Dos knows what to do with a name divided by a space. Try renaming the folder to carolina002.

mikesLr

p.s. It's not necessary to run Grub4Dos everytime you install a new Puplet. If Grub4Dos is already installed browse to the drive on which Grub4Dos was installed and open menu.lst in a text editor.In most puppies, left-clicking it will open it in geany. If your replacing one Pup for another, scroll to the Title of the old Pup, and type a new title. Unless you want it, you can leave the drive/partition and folder ID out of the title. Grub4Dos doesn't use it; just displays it for your benefit. Scroll to and high-light the first listing of the old folder. For example, the second line of my precise non-PAE reads:
find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /precise2/initrd.gz

So I would highlight precise2. While highlighted, Click geany's menu-bar "Search" and then select replace. A dialogue will open showing precise2 in the find field and asking for a name in the replace field. You could type in carolina002. You can choose either replace or replace all. If the former you'll have to replace each instance of precise2. But it's safer if, for example you are replacing precise, but already have a precise2 and are adding a precise3.

Edited 10/29. When you're finished replacing, scroll to the line which reads:

kernel /precise2/vmlinuz psubdir=precise2 pmedia=atahd pfix=fsck

and change the last argument to read pfix=fsck,ram.

That will prevent your new Pup from inadvertently using the SaveFile from an previously installed Pup. [Remember to remove the ",ram" before rebooting, after you've configured your new Pup].

When you're finished editing the new listing, click geany's Save.

If you're adding, rather than replacing, scroll to the blank space following the last line of a listing, such as

initrd /precise2/initrd.gz

and press return a couple of time to give yourself some room. Then scroll to the beginning of title line of a listing, left-click and highlight the entire listing and click Edit (on geany's Menu) copy. Scroll to the space you created, right-click and select paste. Use find-replace as above.

Modifying menu.lst rather than re-installing Grub4Dos saves wear and tear on a drives boot record.

Last edited by mikeslr on Mon 29 Oct 2012, 10:58; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Marv


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 348
Location: SW Wisconsin

PostPosted: Sun 28 Oct 2012, 21:47    Post subject: Grub4dos menu.lst  

Nice summary, Mikeslr.

In addition to my more stable system folders, I keep a folder named experimental in the Boot partition and an entry for it in menu.lst. Then if I want to quickly try something out, I just mount the relevant iso image and copy the relevant files into experimental and reboot to it. If it's worth pursuing, I copy it to its own folder, if not, it gets permanently removed. Praise to thunar and its custom actions on rightclick.

edited: Not for the faint of heart, but I have changed the command in thunars permanently remove custom action to just rm -rf %F (with an appropriate LARGE red icon). I do enough shuffling and jiving so I like not being nagged. Running frugal, I always have a savefile backup and yes, even the poweroff button before the next save.

_________________
tweaked 412 based boxpup, well honed 'lina-lite-005, alphaOS 321 Wink , X-slacko 2.2n, Lxpup-Tahr, and not to forget trusty Carolina/Carolite (now with 3.17 kernel). All lean and steady pups.

Last edited by Marv on Mon 29 Oct 2012, 12:20; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 790
Location: Union New Jersey USA

PostPosted: Mon 29 Oct 2012, 01:14    Post subject: Grub4dos menu.lst  

Nice addition Marv. Good tip.

I've edited the instructions above for modifying menu.lst as I had left out the step to prevent inadvertently using the SaveFile from an already installed Pup.

mikesLr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4350
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Mon 29 Oct 2012, 15:14    Post subject:  

GRUB4DOS has a wonderful feature when it is used from the Menu.

The feature will find (or attempt to find) bootable entries on behalf of the user as it builds its menu.lst during installation.

I think (but understand I say "I think") that the reason for continued re-use of GRUB4DOS by those who are not as familiar with its configuration file would be to get GRUB4DOS to do all the work of properly tailoring the menu.lst.

Here to help

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 20 of 99 [1475 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, ..., 97, 98, 99 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1030s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0128s) ][ GZIP on ]