Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Dec 2014, 08:28
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Carolina - 1.3
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 70 of 110 [1643 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, ..., 108, 109, 110 Next
Author Message
Marv


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 405
Location: SW Wisconsin

PostPosted: Thu 21 Nov 2013, 21:52    Post subject:  

starhawk wrote:
Hey -- my best spare system (for testing Pups and such) right now is a slightly elderly VAIO. Two questions, but specs first.

VAIO VGN-S360
Pentium M 1.7ghz CPU
1gb RAM
dying HDD but boots from CD just fine

I've run some kind of Puppy on it before (Upup Precise IIRC) and it was fine, but I'm not sure about Carolina because that's a heavyweight... so...

(1) Does Carolina 1.1 have PAE enabled (I hope not...)?
(2) Would it be advisable to run Carolina on a machine with the specs given above? or would it be frustratingly slow?

Bear with the windy old Pentium M bearing fart here...

I have the following systems side by side on a 1.6 GHz Pentium M laptop with 1Gb memory, Intel Pro 2200 wireless, integrated Intel video. Installed frugally to an 8Gb CF card in an IDE adaptor replacing the noisy merry-go-round. All non-PAE, ondemand governor, Opera and SlimBoat browsers installed to boot partition.

Xprecise 2.2, LxPup 13.10c, Carolina 1.0, Lina-lite 005, and alphaOS 12.1, oh, and Boxpup 4.12. It's an interesting horse race. I'll drop boxpup immediately though it's served for years as it can't run even Opera 12.16, drop alphaOS for difficulty of configuration and cumbersome repo though it is the most CPU efficient at idle at 1.5%. and I like the look,feel and snap once it is set up. I'll drop my lina-lite as it's really pretty much Carolina without the Adrive.

Leaving Xprecise, LxPup, and Carolina. LxPup has the smallest memory footprint at 48Mb vs 64Mb for Xprecise and Carolina. Carolina has the lowest CPU use at idle, 3% vs 8% for LxPup and Xprecise. Carolina does the best job at handling the 2200 Pro wireless. Both Xprecise and LxPup need considerable fiddling with the drop time in Frisbee to hang onto a connection. Carolina just works. In terms of 'snappiness, surprisingly little difference across the board. All three are easy to set up and have great repos. My preference in menu layout leans strongly toward Xprecise and Carolina

SO??? Carolina by a neck on this hardware (though it needed a glibc update to run SlimBoat). Xprecise by a neck on a core 2 duo or newer lappie. Both absolutely stellar beasts, (as is LxPup). On slightly different hardware the balance might tip but all three certainly deserve consideration and respect.

_________________
Pups currently in kennel Very Happy X-slacko 2.3n, Lxpup-Tahr, and not to forget trusty Carolina/Carolite (now with 3.14.20 kernel). All lean and steady pups.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 3210
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Thu 21 Nov 2013, 23:32    Post subject:  

Nice Very Happy I'll try it out on the half-in-the-ground VAIO tomorrow when I get a bit of time... busy day planned tho.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
giannis4

Joined: 28 Jun 2013
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Fri 22 Nov 2013, 17:36    Post subject:  

Hello,I am trying to figure out how can I make the language indicator appear on my panel.I go to Panel Preferences-Items,but I cant find a keyboard layout switcher there.Can somebody help please?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1513
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Fri 22 Nov 2013, 19:33    Post subject:  

giannis4 wrote:
Hello,I am trying to figure out how can I make the language indicator appear on my panel.I go to Panel Preferences-Items,but I cant find a keyboard layout switcher there.Can somebody help please?


I had trouble with this panel plugin previously, I have recompiled it and now it is working for me, you will find it in the package manager, search for xfce4-xkb-plugin, let me know if there is a problem with it, thought it appears to be working as it should for me, the flags show far right in the panel and using the mouse scroll wheel changes layouts.

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
giannis4

Joined: 28 Jun 2013
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Fri 22 Nov 2013, 19:45    Post subject:  

Geoffrey wrote:
giannis4 wrote:
Hello,I am trying to figure out how can I make the language indicator appear on my panel.I go to Panel Preferences-Items,but I cant find a keyboard layout switcher there.Can somebody help please?


I had trouble with this panel plugin previously, I have recompiled it and now it is working for me, you will find it in the package manager, search for xfce4-xkb-plugin, let me know if there is a problem with it, thought it appears to be working as it should for me, the flags show far right in the panel and using the mouse scroll wheel changes layouts.


A million thanks to you my good friend.Everything is fine now.I really appreciate your help.Take care!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Giannis!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Marv


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 405
Location: SW Wisconsin

PostPosted: Fri 22 Nov 2013, 20:59    Post subject:  

Geoffrey wrote:

I'll upload lina-1.1.iso___lina-1.1-non-pae.iso.delta, md5 a4010986da66baa4e74c9a05b8da5bf8
if you have downloaded Carolina 1.1 that will give you what you want, the resulting ISO will be lina-1.1-non-pae.iso md5 3b9a73016b20426eda4fbdb60d5d5bcc
http://smokey01.com/carolina/isos/non-pae/lina-1.1.iso___lina-1.1-non-pae.iso.delta


Thanks,
non-PAE iso generated, files slipped into the Grub4Dos kennel with the Carolina 1.0 savefile (and adrive hidden for first boot). Smooth as could be. savefile updated. Panel, glibc update, my retroretroretro Default-4.0 xfce theme, SlimBoat and Opera .desktops pointing to the installs on boot partition all there, and it's up and running. Guess I'm 1.1'd

_________________
Pups currently in kennel Very Happy X-slacko 2.3n, Lxpup-Tahr, and not to forget trusty Carolina/Carolite (now with 3.14.20 kernel). All lean and steady pups.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 3210
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Fri 22 Nov 2013, 23:11    Post subject:  

...crap...

Managed to download the PAE ver by mistake >.< I'll grab the non-PAE in the morning and try it then.

Had fun with the VAIO -- the RAM was in backwards -- top module should've been in the bottom slot, and bottom in top. Wouldn't boot till I swapped 'em. Gave me a bit of a run for it, it did...

EDIT -- more crap. The only non-PAE version is a 20mb delta file >.< can someone make a non-PAE ISO of Carolina 1.1? I really don't want to mess with swapping CDs or unetbootin or mucking up the HDD further (it's almost dead as-is).

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1513
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Fri 22 Nov 2013, 23:16    Post subject:  

starhawk wrote:
...crap...

Managed to download the PAE ver by mistake >.< I'll grab the non-PAE in the morning and try it then.

Had fun with the VAIO -- the RAM was in backwards -- top module should've been in the bottom slot, and bottom in top. Wouldn't boot till I swapped 'em. Gave me a bit of a run for it, it did...


The PAE version runs on my acer aspire 5310 Intel Celeron M 1.73 GHz.

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1513
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Fri 22 Nov 2013, 23:26    Post subject:  

I thought I'd try slimboat, I found it to be slow and on a google image search didn't load correctly, see image, that made me feel a little like the two cats on the far right Confused Evil or Very Mad Wink
Screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   85.51 KB
 Viewed   589 Time(s)

Screenshot.jpg


_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 3210
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Fri 22 Nov 2013, 23:29    Post subject:  

Yours is one of the fancier Celeron M's.

Mine is a Pentium M 1.7GHz, with a 400MHz Front-Side Bus. (Specifically it's an SL7EP -- look it up on CPUworld.) It's a PAE-incompatible chip.

Yours is a Celeron M 530 -- Socket M but just barely -- 533MHz Front-Side Bus. Don't know the SL# (there's a whole pile), but I'm told that any Pentium M or Celeron M with a 533MHz Front-Side Bus supports PAE automatically, and the ones with a 400MHz Front-Side Bus don't.

BTW your Celeron M was the last one marketed as a Celeron M, and the last one for Socket M. The later models were for Socket P (physically the same IIRC but electrically quite different) and were marketed as "Celeron" CPUs, not "Celeron M" CPUs. (Source for all this -- Wikipedia.)

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1513
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Fri 22 Nov 2013, 23:38    Post subject:  

starhawk wrote:
EDIT -- more crap. The only non-PAE version is a 20mb delta file >.< can someone make a non-PAE ISO of Carolina 1.1? I really don't want to mess with swapping CDs or unetbootin or mucking up the HDD further (it's almost dead as-is).


I didn't want to upload a ISO for the Non-Pae as we found a few things we would like to change and that would mean uploading again, it's nothing overly important but will make it better for us to create different builds and still keep everything compatible, so if you do have the PAE version give it a try first.

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 3210
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Fri 22 Nov 2013, 23:46    Post subject:  

I don't really have another spare system right now Sad I guess I'll wait for the non-PAE version to be properly ironed and massaged and uploaded, then... any guess about how long it might be?
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1513
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Fri 22 Nov 2013, 23:55    Post subject:  

starhawk wrote:
I don't really have another spare system right now Sad I guess I'll wait for the non-PAE version to be properly ironed and massaged and uploaded, then... any guess about how long it might be?
I'd give it at lest a few days, as rg66 and myself live half a planet apart, so we're not that well synchronized.
_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1513
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Sat 23 Nov 2013, 09:12    Post subject:  

lina-1.1-non-pae.iso has been uploaded, http://smokey01.com/carolina/isos/non-pae/lina-1.1-non-pae.iso
md5 3b9a73016b20426eda4fbdb60d5d5bcc

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 621
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Sat 23 Nov 2013, 09:30    Post subject:  

Geoffrey and I have released Carolite-1.1, a lite version of Carolina based on non-pae. It weighs in at just under 150mb with a basic set of apps.

Adrive Apps
----------------
mtpaint
ristretto
firefox
gnome-mplayer
xfburn
evince
geany
iso master
xarchiver

http://smokey01.com/carolina/isos/non-pae/Carolite-1.1.iso
md5 a2d93ca60c1acda710e04ec0d39fd9c7

_________________
X-slacko-2.3 - X-precise-2.4 - Carolite-1.2 - Carolina-1.2
X-slacko new repo
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 70 of 110 [1643 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, ..., 108, 109, 110 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1071s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0214s) ][ GZIP on ]