Carolina - 1.3

For talk and support relating specifically to Puppy derivatives
Message
Author
User avatar
James C
Posts: 6618
Joined: Thu 26 Mar 2009, 05:12
Location: Kentucky

#1461 Post by James C »

Another frugal install. Only little niggle, booted to an incorrect screen resolution using "vesa" but no big deal to choose "nouveau" and get the correct 1440x900 resolution. All else good ootb.

Code: Select all

=== report-video ===

Carolina-k3.17, version 1.2 on Sat 11 Oct 2014

Chip description:
 d.0 VGA compatible controller
 nVidia Corporation C61 [GeForce 7025 / nForce 630a] (rev a2)  
oem: NVIDIA
product: MCP61 - mcp61-86 Chip Rev
 
X Server: Xorg
Driver used: nouveau

X.Org version: 1.11.0
  dimensions:    1440x900 pixels (380x238 millimeters)
  depth of root window:    24 planes 
[  1419.113] 
X.Org X Server 1.11.0
Release Date: 2011-08-26
[  1419.113] X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0

Code: Select all

Summary
-------

-Computer-
Processor		: 2x AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5200+
Memory		: 3373MB (366MB used)
Operating System		: Unknown distribution
User Name		: root (root)
Date/Time		: Sat 11 Oct 2014 12:28:55 AM CDT
-Display-
Resolution		: 1440x900 pixels
OpenGL Renderer		: Software Rasterizer
X11 Vendor		: The X.Org Foundation
-Multimedia-
Audio Adapter		: HDA-Intel - HDA NVidia

Code: Select all

# free
             total         used         free       shared      buffers
Mem:       3373192       844940      2528252         5156        54344
-/+ buffers:             790596      2582596
Swap:      8294396            0      8294396
# 
Looking good.
Attachments
Carolina 1.2.jpg
(41.74 KiB) Downloaded 669 times

User avatar
mikeslr
Posts: 3890
Joined: Mon 16 Jun 2008, 21:20
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

lina_k3.17-1.2 lacks RaLink RT2561/RT61 driver/firmware?

#1462 Post by mikeslr »

Hi battleshooter,

While you're working on RealTek drivers, could you take a run at RT2561/RT61. This is the driver used by the Edimax wireless adapter which, several years ago was touted as "playing nice" with Linux. So I suspect that I may not be alone in having acquired some to use in a couple of computers.

Thanks, in advance,

mikesLr
Last edited by mikeslr on Fri 07 Nov 2014, 01:32, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Geoffrey
Posts: 2355
Joined: Sun 30 May 2010, 08:42
Location: Queensland

#1463 Post by Geoffrey »

@battleshooter,

I compiled hardinfo from the git and patched usb.c with a patch rg66 sent me, seems to work now showing USB devices.

hardinfo-0.5.2pre-usb-patched.pet
Attachments
hardinfo-0.5.2pre.jpg
(87.45 KiB) Downloaded 693 times
[b]Carolina:[/b] [url=http://smokey01.com/carolina/pages/recent-repo.html]Recent Repository Additions[/url]
[img]https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/s/ahfade8q4def1lq/signbot.gif[/img]

User avatar
Marv
Posts: 1264
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 13:47
Location: SW Wisconsin

#1464 Post by Marv »

Geoffrey wrote:@battleshooter,

I compiled hardinfo from the git and patched usb.c with a patch rg66 sent me, seems to work now showing USB devices.
Works here, battleshooters 3.17 kernel Carolina 1.2. Tested with 4 or 5 usb sticks, usb mouse and a usb hard drive on my Pentium M laptop. Updates correctly and reasonably fast when devices changed.

Edit: Using the 3.17 kernel Carolina 1.2 as daily driver. Hasn't blinked once in normal use. Evince, Geany, LibreOffice 4.1.4.2, Slimboat, Opera, Lxtask, Xfce terminal emulator, mtPaint, Ristretto, simple GTK radio and of course Thunar most used apps. Printing set up with hplip_print-3.13.4 and CUPS. Wireless with PWF and static IP.
Pups currently in kennel :D Older LxPupSc and X-slacko-4.4 for my users; LxPupSc, LxPupSc64 and upupEF for me. All good pups indeed, and all running savefiles for look'n'feel only. Browsers, etc. solely from SFS.

User avatar
battleshooter
Posts: 1378
Joined: Wed 14 May 2008, 05:10
Location: Australia

#1465 Post by battleshooter »

mikeslr wrote:While you're working on RealTek drivers, could you take a run at RT2561/RT61.
I had a quick look and the kernel driver seems to be installed:

Code: Select all

/lib/modules/3.17.0/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/rt2x00/rt61pci.ko
(I'm assuming you're hoping to get it working with the 3,17 kernel?)

The firmware also seems to be installed,

Code: Select all

/lib/modules/all-firmware/rt2x00/lib/firmware/rt2661.bin
/lib/modules/all-firmware/rt2x00/lib/firmware/rt2561s.bin
/lib/modules/all-firmware/rt2x00/lib/firmware/rt2561.bin
Can I have a look at any relevant dmesg information?

I came across a suggestion while looking for information on your device, someone suggested restarting the device:

Code: Select all

ifdown wlan0 && ifup wlan0
Could give that a go too? But I'm more interested in the dmesg info.
Geoffrey wrote:I compiled hardinfo from the git and patched usb.c with a patch rg66 sent me, seems to work now showing USB devices.
Excellent! Thank you Geoffrey (and rg66). Like Marv said it's working over here as well.

On the topic of Realtek, were you able to have a look at the pet I posted a little while back for your RTL8188CUS?
[url=http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=94580]LMMS 1.0.2[/url], [url=http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=94593]Ardour 3.5.389[/url], [url=http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=94629]Kdenlive 0.9.8[/url]

User avatar
battleshooter
Posts: 1378
Joined: Wed 14 May 2008, 05:10
Location: Australia

#1466 Post by battleshooter »

Gobbi wrote:I must start compiling too - some easyer things first .
Something without too many dependencies , to start with - just to get used to the process , to see it done .
Compiling's not so bad, most things can be compiled with:

Code: Select all

./configure --prefix=/usr
A bunch of text rolls across the screen telling what dependencies are available. If all is good, run

Code: Select all

make
and then

Code: Select all

make install
The main problem is when these commands don't work and you're knee deep in errors. :lol: Then it's experience and Googling to know how to fix them. Heck yes, I think 90% of compiling is knowing how to use a search engine ;)

You could try compiling mdadm yourself just for practice. It seems that all its dependencies are included in Carolina.

Oh, of course! You'll need the devx SFS for whatever version of Carolina you're on. Very important or else you're going no where.

@James C

Thanks for the report. It's good for people searching for their hardware to see where it works.

@Marv

Yep, I've been using 3.17 on a daily basis and I agree, it hasn't missed a beat. I'm pretty happy. :)
[url=http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=94580]LMMS 1.0.2[/url], [url=http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=94593]Ardour 3.5.389[/url], [url=http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=94629]Kdenlive 0.9.8[/url]

User avatar
mikeslr
Posts: 3890
Joined: Mon 16 Jun 2008, 21:20
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

More Info on the RT2561/RT61 driver/firmware problem

#1467 Post by mikeslr »

Hi battleshooter,

Thanks for taking an interest. Yes, pfind finds the drivers and firmware.
So next, I opened a terminal and ran "ifdown wlan0 && ifup wlan0". It reported:

"ifdown: can't open '/etc/network/interfaces': No such file or directory",

an inauspicious, but I suspect, significant piece of the puzzle.

Then, still being in terminal, I entered, code:

dmesg > /root/dmesg.txt

And then, to prove that I still didn't know what I was doing, I rebooted out of lina_k3.17-1.2 having forgotten to move dmesg.txt out of /root. So I had to boot back into 'lina and did it again. I've attached the entire file generated, but I suspect the most relevant portions are:

[ 43.191984] EXT4-fs (sda2): mounted filesystem with ordered data mode. Opts: (null)
[ 43.419839] ieee80211 phy0: rt2x00lib_request_firmware: Info - Loading firmware file 'rt2561s.bin'
[ 43.420849] rt61pci 0000:04:00.0: Direct firmware load for rt2561s.bin failed with error -2
[ 43.420853] ieee80211 phy0: rt2x00lib_request_firmware: Error - Failed to request Firmware
[ 43.487004] ieee80211 phy0: rt2x00lib_request_firmware: Info - Loading firmware file 'rt2561s.bin'
[ 43.487027] rt61pci 0000:04:00.0: Direct firmware load for rt2561s.bin failed with error -2
[ 43.487031] ieee80211 phy0: rt2x00lib_request_firmware: Error - Failed to request Firmware
[ 43.511582] r8169 0000:02:00.0 eth0: link down
[ 43.511669] ieee80211 phy0: rt2x00lib_request_firmware: Info - Loading firmware file 'rt2561s.bin'
[ 43.511688] rt61pci 0000:04:00.0: Direct firmware load for rt2561s.bin failed with error -2
[ 43.511691] ieee80211 phy0: rt2x00lib_request_firmware: Error - Failed to request Firmware

But I wonder about the previous two lines:

[ 33.448186] [drm:radeon_init] *ERROR* No UMS support in radeon module!
[ 41.363982] vattery-acpitoo[11521]: segfault at 0 ip b6d6e41c sp bfe2920c error 4 in libc-2.10.1.so[b6d40000+13a000]

Thanks again,

mikesLr
Attachments
dmesg.txt.gz
print-out of inquiry
(46.92 KiB) Downloaded 222 times

User avatar
rg66
Posts: 1158
Joined: Mon 23 Jul 2012, 05:53
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

#1468 Post by rg66 »

Try

Code: Select all

ifconfig wlan0 down && ifconfig wlan0 up
But it looks like it's not loading the firmware. Try and copy /lib/modules/all-firmware/rt2x00/lib/firmware/rt2561.bin to /lib/firmware.
X-slacko-5b1 - X-tahr-2.0 - X-precise-2.4
[url=http://smokey01.com/rg66/]X-series repo[/url]

User avatar
battleshooter
Posts: 1378
Joined: Wed 14 May 2008, 05:10
Location: Australia

Re: More Info on the RT2561/RT61 driver/firmware problem

#1469 Post by battleshooter »

mikeslr wrote:

Code: Select all

[   43.420849] rt61pci 0000:04:00.0: Direct firmware load for rt2561s.bin failed with error -2
Well that's interesting, same number type of error as Geoffrey. Wonder if they're related or that's just a general error code.
mikeslr wrote: But I wonder about the previous two lines:

Code: Select all

[   33.448186] [drm:radeon_init] *ERROR* No UMS support in radeon module!
[   41.363982] vattery-acpitoo[11521]: segfault at 0 ip b6d6e41c sp bfe2920c error 4 in libc-2.10.1.so[b6d40000+13a000]
I'd believe that to be a separate problem, why would the graphics driver affect the wireless?

The second, I have that too, about libc, probably dependency conflict.

That's some comments off the top of my head. I'm a bit tired to make a more appropriate diagnosis of dmesg, so I'm glad rg66 has made some suggestions. I'm keen to see if they will solve it, they may solve Geoff's issue as well.
[url=http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=94580]LMMS 1.0.2[/url], [url=http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=94593]Ardour 3.5.389[/url], [url=http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=94629]Kdenlive 0.9.8[/url]

User avatar
Geoffrey
Posts: 2355
Joined: Sun 30 May 2010, 08:42
Location: Queensland

Re: More Info on the RT2561/RT61 driver/firmware problem

#1470 Post by Geoffrey »

battleshooter wrote:I'm glad rg66 has made some suggestions. I'm keen to see if they will solve it, they may solve Geoff's issue as well.
Well it didn't fix my issue with the rtl8192cu, though that was the first thing I tied when I had the firmware not loading.
But I thought I'd try my rt2870 device again and it works once I copied the etc and lib directories from /lib/modules/all-firmware/rt2870sta-fw to /
[b]Carolina:[/b] [url=http://smokey01.com/carolina/pages/recent-repo.html]Recent Repository Additions[/url]
[img]https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/s/ahfade8q4def1lq/signbot.gif[/img]

User avatar
mikeslr
Posts: 3890
Joined: Mon 16 Jun 2008, 21:20
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

Rt61 Wireless -- Following up on Geoffrey's Suggestions

#1471 Post by mikeslr »

Hi Geoffrey, battleshooter & all,

Success!!

I followed up on Geoffrey's suggestions in his last couple of posts, 'though with a slight twist. Rather than copy the suggested files and folders, I symlinked those from their installed locations to the locations Geoffry suggested. [After installing Rox-Filer which I store on my hard-drive in a Carolina Folder. I like thunar, but for symlinking I find Rox easier to use].

I don't know if his first suggestion is necessary. I'm posting from Carolina now. Before shutting down, I'll delete the symlinks from /lib/modules/all-firmware/rt2x00/lib/firmware/rt2561.bin to /lib/firmware and see what happens when I reboot.

I guess to be more elegant, I could rename the symlinked rt2x00 folder in / to .rt2x00.> note the ".". Still, I have a gut feeling that this work-around is analogous to putting things together with duct-tape. But then, I also have that feeling when I tune in to Morgan Freeman introducing scientists who theorize about "How the Universe Works."

mikesLr

p.s. Both were necessary. Deleting the first and rebooting left me without wifi. Re-installing the links and re-starting X was insufficient. A reboot was required.

einar
Posts: 161
Joined: Fri 12 Nov 2010, 12:22

Crome 37 Netflix

#1472 Post by einar »

Hey, found this on distrowatch.com today :
Netflix is a service which allows clients to stream television and film to their computers and hand held devices. Over the years the Netflix client software has been ported to several platforms, but GNU/Linux users have largely been ignored. In the past some workarounds were put together, mostly using WINE to get Netflix streaming to Linux desktop machines. Finally, a native solution for watching Netflix on Linux desktops and laptops has been made available. As the Ubuntu Insights website reports: "Thanks to recent efforts at Netflix and Canonical, Ubuntu now supports watching Netflix with Chrome version 37. Chrome is available to all Ubuntu users with up-to-date installations of Ubuntu 12.04 LTS, 14.04 LTS and later. Netflix subscribers who already use Ubuntu can now watch simply by installing the Chrome browser."
YAY netflix on linux. last nail in the windows coffin. and now on to my question : Chrome version 37 in my favorite linux distro ?

crossing my fringers

best regards

Einar

User avatar
Geoffrey
Posts: 2355
Joined: Sun 30 May 2010, 08:42
Location: Queensland

#1473 Post by Geoffrey »

Updated repo.

codeblocks-13.12-i486 (Configurable and extensible IDE)
hardinfo-0.5.2pre (Show Hardware Information) non patched, for battleshooters 3.17 kernel use this http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 175#803175
tintii-2.9.0 (tintii selective colour)
ufraw-0.20-i486 (raw image plugin for Gimp)
urbanlightscape-1.3.3 (correct under- and overexposed parts of an image)
[b]Carolina:[/b] [url=http://smokey01.com/carolina/pages/recent-repo.html]Recent Repository Additions[/url]
[img]https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/s/ahfade8q4def1lq/signbot.gif[/img]

User avatar
battleshooter
Posts: 1378
Joined: Wed 14 May 2008, 05:10
Location: Australia

Re: Rt61 Wireless -- Following up on Geoffrey's Suggestions

#1474 Post by battleshooter »

mikeslr wrote:Success!!
That's great news!

So just to clarify the solution was to

a. Symlink /lib/modules/all-firmware/rt2x00/lib/firmware/rt2561.bin to /lib/firmware?

or

b. Symlink etc and lib directories from /lib/modules/all-firmware/rt2870sta-fw to /?

Because then in future releases I could simply symlink that and save everyone the trouble.
mikeslr wrote:I like thunar, but for symlinking I find Rox easier to use
You can symlink in Thunar by dragging and dropping while holding ctrl+shift. Just putting that out there cause I like that shortcut.
Geoffrey wrote:Well it didn't fix my issue with the rtl8192cu, though that was the first thing I tied when I had the firmware not loading. But I thought I'd try my rt2870 device again and it works
Maybe if I disappear for a few days again rg66 magically fix your rtl8192cu problem too?
einar wrote: Chrome version 37 in my favorite linux distro ?
Chromium or Chrome, or do people generally consider that the same thing?
[url=http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=94580]LMMS 1.0.2[/url], [url=http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=94593]Ardour 3.5.389[/url], [url=http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=94629]Kdenlive 0.9.8[/url]

User avatar
mikeslr
Posts: 3890
Joined: Mon 16 Jun 2008, 21:20
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

Both symlinks are required

#1475 Post by mikeslr »

Hi battleshooter,

Both a symlink of rt2561.bin in /lib/modules/all-firmware/rt2x00/lib/firmware/ to /lib/firmware

and a symlink of the rt2x00 folder in lib/modules/all-firmware to /
were necessary.

Note, however, that when I looked in rt2x00 in I discovered rt2561s.bin and rt2661.bin, along with a couple other bin files. Having a hazy recollection of coming across references to either or both of the latter files, and being uncertain that rt2561 was, in fact, the one required, I created symlinks to each of the foregoing at /lib/firmware.

I wonder if there is a command which would cause the module searching for the proper bin file to search further down the tree.

Thanks for the instructions regarding creating a symlink.

mikesLr

User avatar
Pete22
Posts: 264
Joined: Fri 08 May 2009, 22:59
Location: Utah, USA

Mouse cursor

#1476 Post by Pete22 »

Hello my Puppy friends:

I was using Carolina 1.2 on a Dell Latitude D800. The other day it quit starting.
i figured out that it was a hardware problem. So I took the hard drive out and put
it in another Dell Latitude D800. It booted right up. However, I noticed two issues.

1- The Icon theme I was using was gone. so I reloaded it. That did the trick.

2- The mouse cursor is only a spotted shadow of its former self. I tried several other
mouse themes, but that did improve the problem. I moved the mouse cord to a different
usb slot. No change. I then tried a wireless usb mouse. The cursor moves better now,
but is still only a shadow. I changed the cursor size to 24 to make it easier to see the
shadow, Any ideas to get my cursor back?

Pete

User avatar
Geoffrey
Posts: 2355
Joined: Sun 30 May 2010, 08:42
Location: Queensland

Re: Mouse cursor

#1477 Post by Geoffrey »

@Pete22

Is that a full install to the hard drive Pete, if so sounds as if it is corrupted.

I can't really help with that, maybe someone else as had a similar problem and can shed some light on it for you.
[b]Carolina:[/b] [url=http://smokey01.com/carolina/pages/recent-repo.html]Recent Repository Additions[/url]
[img]https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/s/ahfade8q4def1lq/signbot.gif[/img]

User avatar
Pete22
Posts: 264
Joined: Fri 08 May 2009, 22:59
Location: Utah, USA

Re: Mouse cursor

#1478 Post by Pete22 »

Hi Geoffrey:
Thanks for replying
Geoffrey wrote:@Pete22

Is that a full install to the hard drive Pete, if so sounds as if it is corrupted.

I can't really help with that, maybe someone else as had a similar problem and can shed some light on it for you.
It was a manual frugal install. I was hoping it was be an easy fix. However, I think you are right
about it being corrupted. Today it started acting even more crazy. So my save file is busted.

:? It happens.

Pete

User avatar
Geoffrey
Posts: 2355
Joined: Sun 30 May 2010, 08:42
Location: Queensland

#1479 Post by Geoffrey »

Yeah Pete, I know what you mean, I've had lots of broken save files.
[b]Carolina:[/b] [url=http://smokey01.com/carolina/pages/recent-repo.html]Recent Repository Additions[/url]
[img]https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/s/ahfade8q4def1lq/signbot.gif[/img]

User avatar
Moat
Posts: 955
Joined: Tue 16 Jul 2013, 06:04
Location: Mid-mitten

#1480 Post by Moat »

Geoffrey wrote:Yeah Pete, I know what you mean, I've had lots of broken save files.
That's so odd, to me... I've heard mention of the supposed fragility of a frugal Pup's save file numerous times over the last few years (myself using that save method exclusively), but have never actually had one up and corrupt, all by itself (although I've corrupted 'em plenty of times whilst mucking about the system, then boldly clicking the "Save" icon... :shock: :oops: :) ). Must be lucky, I guess. They're so easy to backup/archive, anyway - one reason I much prefer to use them.

Post Reply