Fixing My PUP001 File--Need Pointers

Booting, installing, newbie
Weeble

Fixing My PUP001 File--Need Pointers

#1 Post by Weeble »

I'm having problems with my PUP001 file and am thinking I need to set up a fresh one and move over the important stuff, unless there's a way to fix my present one. Either way, I don't know what to do, and need some pointers. I am presently using the Puppy 1.0.8r1 LiveCD (I previously used at least 1.0.7, 1.0.8 Beta(where some of my problems started) on an old generic AMD-K6-2/300, 256MB RAM. My hard drives are set up as FAT32 (originally under Windows 95B). I'm not new to personal computing (I started in 1987 with a TRS-80 Model III) but I am new to Linux and am at the stage of "I know how to do it, but I don't know how to do it in Linux." Any and all help will be appreciated.

Here are my problems:
1) I have to set up ALSA on each boot. Apparently some files are missing. The technical details are in a post I made to the Users forum under "Can't save ALSA config".

2) After I used 1.0.8 beta, I couldn't go back to 1.0.7 without the desktop coming up funny--particularly, the Start menu icon, the taskbar elements and the window headers come up in small letters on red background. It doesn't do that with 1.0.8x.

3) I'm having problems with Sylpheed. I have multiple accounts under Hotpop.com (they don't have webmail access, so POP3 is the only way to get at the mail) and I can only access the first one I set up. With the rest, I get connection errors, even though the setup is identical. I would especially appreciate help that I can apply to my Gmail accounts as well. I'm having to access them via webmail.