Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 28 Nov 2014, 02:02
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Premote rdesktop (rdp), vnc and ssh gtkdialog frontend.
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [13 Posts]  
Author Message
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 2349
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Mon 10 Sep 2012, 04:45    Post subject:  Premote rdesktop (rdp), vnc and ssh gtkdialog frontend.  

Program: Premote
license GPLv3

Tested on Slacko 6 beta, where it works without additions, and Wary 5.3 using the rdesktop 1.7.1 client from here: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=620847#620847 using the rdesktop libraries from here: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=567013&search_id=899635330#567013.

Premote probably works fine in Puppy 4.x series as well.
----

Changes:
# (YMD)2014/08/03: changed hijack ext to .hijack
# (YMD)2014/07/23:

Additional entry box (D) for network 'domain' or for general storage.

New Help text, which needs checked by translators. Please report back any errors in that text that effect translations rather than modifying the main script yourselves.

'hijack' expansion capability (as per DoMyFile, Precord etc) expanded to allow modular plugin addition of new main code, new functions, new gui panels and new gui general config buttons, More details on that simple facility, which can be used, for example, for modularly adding a new panel to the foot of the GUI can be found here:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=656913#656913

Please find Premote at foot of this post. By default its interface is in English but it is an option to also install any provided language translations dotpets for your locale.

Note that the provided command list is an exemplar only. You may need to modify the commands for your own usage circumstances and needs.

Once installed, you can start Premote from:

JWM menu Start -> Network -> Premote

Premote was designed to be a simple gtkdialog GUI front end to remote desktop and login clients such as rdesktop (rdp), vnc, and secure shell (ssh). It thus depends for functionality on the underlying commandline client being installed.

General usage.

First select command from the drop-down list. Then:

On pressing the play button, Premote operates just as if the displayed command was typed into a console window and the Enter key pressed, but it brings the following advantages of a GUI environment:

* A dropdown list of pre-saved commands, which can be edited (modified, deleted, or appended to) in your system default text editor by pressing the Edit button on the righthand side of the dropdown list.

* New commands can thus be entered and permanently saved for re-use.

* Entry boxes (variables), which can, for example be used, for playlist to convert (A), and so on for variables U, P and D. Note, however, that what you use the entry boxes to store is actually entirely up to you for the particular commandline you wish to run. The dropdown command can refer to these using standard bash shell syntax (i.e. $A, $U, $P, $D).

* Entry data can be input manually, or via drag and drop, or cut and paste from your system filemanager.

* Premote also provides brief tool-tip text over most elements of its GUI, which becomes visible when the mouse is hovered over each element.

* Pretty much any bash commandline including quote marks and \ can be entered.

----

Commandline Usage

In a console enter command: premote --help
for brief commandline usage.
----

Tips:

To keep premote as the top window,
right-click on its window bar, and select Layer -> Above

In addition to outputting command results to a controlling xterm or rxvt terminal or to an Xdialog window, it is also possible to pipe command outputs to the leafpad editor.

Alternatively, if you start premote from a terminal you can redirect its command output to that terminal using the syntax >/dev/tty
-----

William
premote-9.0.3.pet
Description  Tested on Slacko 6 beta and Precise 5.7.1 and more...
pet

 Download 
Filename  premote-9.0.3.pet 
Filesize  4.84 KB 
Downloaded  116 Time(s) 

_________________
Non enim propter gloriam, diuicias aut honores pugnamus set propter libertatem solummodo quam Nemo bonus nisi simul cum vita amittit.

Last edited by mcewanw on Sat 02 Aug 2014, 07:00; edited 16 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 2349
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Tue 11 Sep 2012, 04:36    Post subject: If you start Premote from a console  

Just another wee tip:

If you start Premote from a console and type in any valid bash command, you can redirect the output to that console by ending the command with >/dev/tty as follows:

Code:

echo "hello world" > /dev/tty


However, another app I'm releasing shortly is particularly designed for use with any set of bash commands, rather than for a particular purpose such as Premote. Nevertheless, Premote can run any command in this way and not just rdesktop, vnc and so on. It is often more useful to pipe output to Xdialog or to rxvt though when running general commands in this way. The other app will come with plenty of examples.

_________________
Non enim propter gloriam, diuicias aut honores pugnamus set propter libertatem solummodo quam Nemo bonus nisi simul cum vita amittit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 2349
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri 14 Sep 2012, 22:28    Post subject: Premote version 0.9.2 released
Subject description: Principal change is wider interface.
 

Premote rdesktop (rdp), vnc and ssh gtkdialog frontend.

Version 0.9.2 released. Download from first posts of this thread.

NOTE WELL: Principal change from ver 0.9.2 onwards is that user accessible variable C has been renamed to variable A (in line with my other program Pfetch). Hence relevant combobox commands changed to refer to A (rather than to C).

Other main change is wider interface.

A few under-the-hood alternations.

Functionality otherwise unchanged.

Note that if you ever accidentally delete or corrupt the config files for premote in $HOME/.premote, simply re-run the program and it will automatically rebuild the default config file entries.

By default its interface is in English but it is an option to also install any provided language translations dotpets for your locale. I haven't provided the premote.pot file this time since L18L has informed me that moedit can produce that automatically.

Please post any translation tar.gz or dotpets here and I will provide them as an optional collection at or near the top of the thread.

_________________
Non enim propter gloriam, diuicias aut honores pugnamus set propter libertatem solummodo quam Nemo bonus nisi simul cum vita amittit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 2349
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri 14 Sep 2012, 22:56    Post subject: re-uploaded Premote new version 0.9.2
Subject description: I had made a mistake in combobox command list - fixed
 

re-uploaded Premote new version 0.9.2

I had made a mistake in combobox command list - fixed

NOTE WELL: Principal change from ver 0.9.2 onwards is that user accessible variable C has been renamed to variable A (in line with my other program Pfetch). Hence relevant combobox commands changed to refer to A (rather than to C).

_________________
Non enim propter gloriam, diuicias aut honores pugnamus set propter libertatem solummodo quam Nemo bonus nisi simul cum vita amittit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 2349
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Thu 27 Sep 2012, 04:15    Post subject: Premote version 0.9.3 released
Subject description: Fixed helptext for internationalisation.
 

Changes:
0.9.3 Fixed helptext for internationalisation.

_________________
Non enim propter gloriam, diuicias aut honores pugnamus set propter libertatem solummodo quam Nemo bonus nisi simul cum vita amittit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 06 Oct 2012, 07:28    Post subject:  

Thank you Mr McEwan for this nice app. It will likely make it's way into the next Slacko. I successfully ssh'd into my slackware box and rdesktop'd into an XP installation, no problems whatsoever.

About time you got some feedback eh?

Cheers.
capture9683.png
 Description   running a test html page in 'links' on my slackware box
 Filesize   32.55 KB
 Viewed   3180 Time(s)

capture9683.png


_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 2349
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat 06 Oct 2012, 08:02    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
I guess you know that with the "-Y" option, and if X is running on the host, you can run any x app, including browsers. It would be a nice feature.


Thanks for the feedback. I didn't mind not having any really. If anyone finds the program useful, that's fine and good though.

Yes I know you can run remote apps using X11 forwarding. Not sure what you are suggesting though. Is it just an addition of a combobox command using -Y in the ssh command or are you talking about an extra entry box for the name of the command too? If it is the latter, I think Pfetch could do that anyway (just use the TD entry for the command you want to run alongside a suitable ssh -Y combobox command).

The reason I'd prefer not to add another entry box to Premote is to keep it as simple as it is - it was my partner who asked me to cut down the entry boxes to that minimum she required to use remote desktop to her work XP machine. Anyway, since these gtkdialog apps are so small it made sense to have specialised versions with greater or fewer entry boxes.

_________________
Non enim propter gloriam, diuicias aut honores pugnamus set propter libertatem solummodo quam Nemo bonus nisi simul cum vita amittit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 06 Oct 2012, 08:11    Post subject:  

Actually i scratched that bit I posted that you quoted Smile

You can start X remotely and use the X apps anyway, so it's just unnecessary. Successfully posting this from firefox (which I do not have installed locally but on my remote slacko box) so working in slacko as host and client.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rodin.s

Joined: 22 Sep 2010
Posts: 338
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Tue 08 Jan 2013, 08:02    Post subject: fix for gettext help translaton  

Some paragraphs of help was not translated so I have changed gettext a bit.
premote_fix-0.1.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  premote_fix-0.1.pet 
Filesize  5.7 KB 
Downloaded  477 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2579
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

PostPosted: Sun 10 Mar 2013, 06:53    Post subject: Re: fix for gettext help translaton  

rodin.s wrote:
Some paragraphs of help was not translated so I have changed gettext a bit.

rodin.s,
thank you, your version worked (too modest to name it v 0.9.4 Question )

mcevanw,
attached german translation Smile
MoManager-de_DE-premote.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  MoManager-de_DE-premote.tar.gz 
Filesize  3.29 KB 
Downloaded  385 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 2349
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jul 2014, 00:05    Post subject:  

Program: Premote
license GPLv3

Tested on Slacko 6 beta, where it works without additions, and Wary 5.3 using the rdesktop 1.7.1 client from here: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=620847#620847 using the rdesktop libraries from here: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=567013&search_id=899635330#567013.

Premote probably works fine in Puppy 4.x series as well.
----

Changes:
# (YMD)2014/07/23:

Additional entry box (D) for network 'domain' or for general storage.

New Help text, which needs checked by translators. Please report back any errors in that text that effect translations rather than modifying the main script yourselves.

'hijack' expansion capability (as per DoMyFile, Precord etc) expanded to allow modular plugin addition of new main code, new functions, new gui panels and new gui general config buttons, More details on that simple facility, which can be used, for example, for modularly adding a new panel to the foot of the GUI can be found here:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=656913#656913

Please find Premote at foot of this post.

_________________
Non enim propter gloriam, diuicias aut honores pugnamus set propter libertatem solummodo quam Nemo bonus nisi simul cum vita amittit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 2349
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jul 2014, 00:09    Post subject: Program: Premote version 0.9.8 released.  

Program: Premote version 0.9.8 released.

Download at first post of this thread.

Tested on Slacko 6 beta, where it works without additions, and Wary 5.3 using the rdesktop 1.7.1 client from here: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=620847#620847 using the rdesktop libraries from here: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=567013&search_id=899635330#567013.

Premote probably works fine in Puppy 4.x series as well.
----

Changes:
# (YMD)2014/07/23:

Additional entry box (D) for network 'domain' or for general storage.

New Help text, which needs checked by translators. Please report back any errors in that text that effect translations rather than modifying the main script yourselves.

'hijack' expansion capability (as per DoMyFile, Precord etc) expanded to allow modular plugin addition of new main code, new functions, new gui panels and new gui general config buttons, More details on that simple facility, which can be used, for example, for modularly adding a new panel to the foot of the GUI can be found here:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=656913#656913
-----

Note that the provided command list is an exemplar only. You may need to modify the commands for your own usage circumstances and needs.

William

_________________
Non enim propter gloriam, diuicias aut honores pugnamus set propter libertatem solummodo quam Nemo bonus nisi simul cum vita amittit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 2349
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat 02 Aug 2014, 07:24    Post subject: new version Premote uploaded  

New version of Premote uploaded to first post of thread.

Changes: hijack modules now use .hijack as file extension.

Note: Premote also includes same "hijack" capability as pAVrecord and Precord, which allows you to add your own bottom panel (buttons to activate other apps etc) to the GUI, as a simple addon module. The hijack facility is as described for pAVrecord here:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=656913#656913

William

_________________
Non enim propter gloriam, diuicias aut honores pugnamus set propter libertatem solummodo quam Nemo bonus nisi simul cum vita amittit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [13 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0921s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0077s) ][ GZIP on ]