Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 20 Aug 2014, 08:48
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Whippet Puppy - TESTERS NEEDED
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 4 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
Keef


Joined: 20 Dec 2007
Posts: 619
Location: Staffordshire

PostPosted: Mon 03 Sep 2012, 15:14    Post_subject:  

What James C said - /usr/lib/mozilla (nearly 8mb) and /usr/lib/seamonkey (29mb) plus ~/.mozilla (867k) all still there.

Switched to IceWM - got a black desktop until I ran the wallpaper setter (can't actually change it though - same in JWM). Pwidgets works here. All the browsers I tried crashed within seconds under IceWM.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2825
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Mon 03 Sep 2012, 15:39    Post_subject:  

I didn't mess with IceWM so that's going to be rather a bit unstable for now.

I'll probably just pull it out, along with the mechanism for switching...

...if I can figure out how! Confused

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
oldyeller


Joined: 15 Nov 2011
Posts: 779
Location: Mishawaka IN

PostPosted: Mon 03 Sep 2012, 15:42    Post_subject:  

Whippet lite really the full one

I got on the internet just fine. qtweb crashed, dillo did just fine however.

Could not charge background. Is this built on 4.2?

The light version would not boot

IBM X60
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2825
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Mon 03 Sep 2012, 15:51    Post_subject:  

It's based on TurboPup which in turn is a modified Puppy 4.2.0...

...starting to think I should work with Puplite instead. It's not nearly as much of a mess to figure out...

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Keef


Joined: 20 Dec 2007
Posts: 619
Location: Staffordshire

PostPosted: Mon 03 Sep 2012, 16:43    Post_subject:  

Solved the window focus problem by adding:
Code:
<Include>/root/.jwm/jwmrc-personal</Include>

to /etc/xdg/templates/_root_.jwmrc
Otherwise no changes are written to .jwmrc from .jwmrc-personal
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2825
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Mon 03 Sep 2012, 16:45    Post_subject:  

I had removed that line! It was causing some theming problems.

That is one messed up pup.

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 2475
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed 05 Sep 2012, 21:17    Post_subject: Re: Whippet Puppy - TESTERS NEEDED
Sub_title: Running an older system? Look in here!
 

starhawk wrote:
As a note, Whippet carries over one bit of behavior that I don't like --but don't know how to change-- namely, it does not permit you to run in RAM or specify boot options without a bootloader. So DON'T run it on a system where it will try to read an existing savefile and screw everything up! Run it on a clean system.

...if someone can tell me how to fix the "instant startup without prompt" misfeature, I'd love to know!

I seem to recall that TurboPup required the user to press madly and repeatedly on the "p" key right from the very start of the boot process. (Then you have to delete all the "p"s that appear at the boot prompt...). Doesn't cure the problem of course, just a workaround.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2825
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Wed 05 Sep 2012, 21:57    Post_subject:  

...that's really special Shocked

IIRC if you press F2 fast enough, it'll get to that screen...

...at which point it will promptly freeze solid and require a reboot.

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Tote


Joined: 19 Jan 2012
Posts: 228
Location: South Wales

PostPosted: Thu 06 Sep 2012, 04:13    Post_subject:  

Manual frugal install.. Whippet (Lite) Full one.

Selected Xorg but gave me a black screen, had to force shutdown/select Vesa, then it worked.
No tray icons, only Menu and Clock.
Can't change wallpaper.
Wireless network config worked okay, connected internet no problem.
Ran Firewall wizard, installed Firewallstate pet, icon appears but shows Firewall inactive.
Gxine/pmusic not working. (Didn't try any others.)
Downloaded Firefox-2.0.0.7 pet from PPM, wouldn't run from Desktop menu but runs from terminal.
Downloaded seamonkey-1.1.11-1 pet from PPM, runs well from Desktop menu, various websites, seems okay.
Dillo worked but crashes/closes when I try to access webpage links.
Shuts down/saves to file okay.

(Celeron M/laptop/250RAM)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 814
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Thu 06 Sep 2012, 15:08    Post_subject:  

starhawk wrote:
It's based on TurboPup which in turn is a modified Puppy 4.2.0...

...starting to think I should work with Puplite instead. It's not nearly as much of a mess to figure out...


It would be easier if you remastered Akita or Puplite.
... Or use woof2 to make a custom Wary build.

Learning woof2 takes patience, but it will save you time in the long run, if you are adding or removing a lot of apps.
I am still remastering Solidpup becuase I put a lot of time into it, but if I were to start over, I would use woof2.

To remove icewm, delete these folders: /root/.icewm, /usr/share/icewm
and these files: /usr/bin/icewm*, icesh, icehelp.

You can boot straight to desktop if you install Shinbar's firstrun pet.
But older versions of Xorg need the video driver to be set to "Vesa" and it will only boot straight to desktop at only 800x600 resolution.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2825
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Thu 06 Sep 2012, 15:32    Post_subject:  

Next versions will be based on Puplite5 almost for certain. While I could work with a beta of Akita, I'd rather not mess with that. Betas have a bad habit of breaking in unexpected places and ways... not what I'm looking for here!

One thing is for sure. I'm done with TurboPup. That thing is a mess inside, and no matter what I try, it poops the carpet whenever I try to change it or "fix" it... which means that whatever Synth did, he did very carefully and within tolerances that I'm simply too ham-handed to meet.

Thing is that it takes Puplite5 more than 5 minutes to boot on a particularly low-spec laptop (Dell Latitude CPi D300XT). I want to drastically reduce that. What things (and how) can I disable or slim down, safely, in order to accomplish this, WITHOUT going through TurboPup-level craziness?

Specs of the laptop in question...
300MHz Pentium II CPU
128MB RAM
8GB Microdrive (HDD in CF card size) hard drive (or a 6.5GB laptop HDD, haven't decided yet).
NeoMagic graphics (which work best, oddly enough, with Xorg generic driver)
1024x768 screen, 16bit

...as a side note, Xvesa does NOT work on that laptop. It actually crashes spectacularly (lots of multicolor, blinking/changing artifacts instead of an intelligible screen) less than 30sec into the desktop, and the colors are all wrong anyways. So that's one thing I can't strip out.

FWIW, I also thought about plumping up pUPnGO... but by the time I bring it back to GTK2 (IIRC it runs GTK1 now!), add full Xorg capability (it's Xvesa-only right now) and add enough programs (and their dependencies) to make it actually useful (and slightly more user-friendly) it'd be as big as Puplite5 or bigger. So there's no point in that, whatsoever -- particularly since I'm not confident (to say the least) in my ability to accomplish super-technical bits like GTK2 and Xorg...

EDIT: I'll also be trying a tool I discovered, namely Igu's version of Woofy. It's called Moo. It certainly sounds more capable than Woofy... so I'll be giving it a chance.

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 814
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Thu 06 Sep 2012, 16:16    Post_subject:  

Wow, moo looks cool! I've never heard of it before, so thanks for bringing it to my attention.

Instead of remastering next time, I think I try it out moo on Solidpup. I'm pretty sure the "update woof skeleton" option is broken now though, since Barry has moved over to woof2, but there's still a lot of nice options availiable. in moo.

You should test Akita for a while first ... seemed pretty stable to me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2825
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Thu 06 Sep 2012, 17:21    Post_subject:  

Tried Akita beta6 once. My review should still be in that thread.

...it was actually slower to boot than Puplite5, which is the other reason I'm hesitant to use it. I suppose I could test the latest beta and Puplite5 on the same machine, see how fast each is... but I'm lazy Razz

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 814
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Thu 06 Sep 2012, 22:06    Post_subject:  

starhawk wrote:
Tried Akita beta6 once. My review should still be in that thread.


Oh ... my bad. Have you tried Classic Pup yet? And does Puplite detect your sound card?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2825
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Thu 06 Sep 2012, 22:14    Post_subject:  

ClassicPup2.14X-top9 /and/ -top10 are far slower than Puplite5 on P3 and older. Not the first time I've said it, won't be the last.
_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 4 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0796s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0055s) ][ GZIP on ]