Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 26 Nov 2014, 07:15
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Macpup 529
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 9 of 13 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 Next
Author Message
Gnuxo

Joined: 09 Feb 2012
Posts: 365

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb 2013, 20:25    Post_subject:  

I tried to manually add the russian language using the wizard wizard for use with the *set xkbmap* command but it seems that the OS is incapable of changing languages no matter what I do.

This is worse the I thought.

Is this that error that was supposed to be fixed soon?

What do I do in the mean time?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
runtt21


Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 1650
Location: BigD Texas

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb 2013, 20:31    Post_subject:  

I don't know. But 529 doesn't need opengl. I removed it's compositing module for e by default.
I have been doing that for a long time it is just to unstable. The last time I left it in I got flooded with complaints. So no more of that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
runtt21


Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 1650
Location: BigD Texas

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb 2013, 20:33    Post_subject:  

529 has a problem localizing . The best time right now is to use 528 for that. I have a fix but it won't be out until the next release. I have to completely rebuild e to fix it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Gnuxo

Joined: 09 Feb 2012
Posts: 365

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb 2013, 20:39    Post_subject:  

speaking of localizing.

I just switched to puppy precise 5.4.3 and it can´t switch my keyboard layout either.

Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
runtt21


Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 1650
Location: BigD Texas

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb 2013, 20:55    Post_subject:  

You should report that in the precise 5.4.3 thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
vicmz


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 1143

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb 2013, 21:11    Post_subject:  

Gnuxo wrote:
speaking of localizing.

I just switched to puppy precise 5.4.3 and it can´t switch my keyboard layout either.

Sad


Then you may want to test the new Precise 5.5 beta (you can update with a delta file and your precise-5.4.3.iso file) and report anything you wish to have fixed for the final release. I think 5.5 final could be a good base for the next Macpup.

Speaking of localizing, too -- runtt21, your derivative will require an individual langpack, as far as I know from testing Macpup 529. Many strings in some interfaces are unique to Macpup, translators will have to change those in the original langpacks and release separate packages as langpack_macpup_lang-COUNTRY.pet. This is not bad at all, the bad would be to have to start translating from scratch. It'll be of great help if you could tell us where to find existing E17 locales. In particular, the Hispanic community would be thrilled with a Macpup that can be set in Spanish -- the Hispanic love Linux and aesthetic interfaces. Very Happy

_________________
OB Precise 14.07.26 Woof-CE|Puppy Linux en español
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
runtt21


Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 1650
Location: BigD Texas

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb 2013, 21:36    Post_subject:  

" find existing E17 locales" , Actually the solution is to have e17 find puppys locales . That is why 529 doesn't localize very well. The issue with the keyboard is that e looks in different places from where puppy keeps the "rules" . /etc . When I compile e that needs to be adjusted. The e17 team has already done a ton of localizing work already. I just need to tell it where the settings are in puppy. My last two builds both had a ton of different keyboard options unlike 529 cause I told it where to look.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
natgab


Joined: 12 Feb 2012
Posts: 76
Location: Southern California, US

PostPosted: Tue 26 Feb 2013, 05:02    Post_subject:  

runtt21 wrote:
529 is PAE. I haven't decided yet on doing both a pae and non pae version. If I do a non it won't be until after the main release. And that is a long way off .I haven't decided on the version of e I am going to use. I'm not real happy with 17.0 or 17.1 so I am about to drop back to an older snapshot to see if it works better with precise.

Some of the extra modules are hardware sensitive and won't work on everyone stuff. It getting to the point that Raster is talking about dumping them altogether. The newer builds of e will give a warning message when you load any of them now. I plan on dropping some of them for the next pup.

---Hi, I downloaded 529 and then saw that it wouldn't work on my non-PAE laptop (see signature). I tested in on my C2D desktop and liked it, but I want it for my old laptop. Embarassed

I could not tell on your Macpup website which ISO was the newest non-PAE version I could test. Could you tell me which is the newest stable release to use?

_________________
R61 Thinkpad Laptop CPU 2.0 GHz C2D / RAM 4.0 GB
LCD 1280 x 800 WXGA / 80GB HD
GPU 256MB Intel GMA 965 / WIFI Intel 3945ABG / OS Vista + Xubuntu 14.04
X40 Thinkpad Laptop OS Lxpup 14 LXDE (nieces toy now)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5934
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Tue 26 Feb 2013, 05:08    Post_subject:  

Macpup 528 is based on Lucid and is not PAE.......

http://macpup.org/macpup528.php

Still running 528 myself.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
natgab


Joined: 12 Feb 2012
Posts: 76
Location: Southern California, US

PostPosted: Tue 26 Feb 2013, 05:09    Post_subject:  

James C wrote:
Macpup 528 is based on Lucid and is not PAE.......

http://macpup.org/macpup528.php

Still running 528 myself.


---Fast service, I like it. Very Happy

Thanks, I will download and start playing around.

_________________
R61 Thinkpad Laptop CPU 2.0 GHz C2D / RAM 4.0 GB
LCD 1280 x 800 WXGA / 80GB HD
GPU 256MB Intel GMA 965 / WIFI Intel 3945ABG / OS Vista + Xubuntu 14.04
X40 Thinkpad Laptop OS Lxpup 14 LXDE (nieces toy now)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
toomanyquestions

Joined: 08 Jan 2013
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Tue 26 Feb 2013, 20:02    Post_subject: 529 has efm  

Quote:
{"runtt21} "529 has EFM just enable the starter option in the settings anel. But it wont have a menu entry you will need to use the desktop icon for that.


Does anyone know how to show the desktop icons? I've probably done it before, but I can't remember how.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 4050
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Tue 26 Feb 2013, 21:19    Post_subject:  

Mmmm.. MP ain't geared for that unless you're willing to build a panel.

You want dt icons? Go vanilla..
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
toomanyquestions

Joined: 08 Jan 2013
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Tue 26 Feb 2013, 21:48    Post_subject: EFM / desktop icons  

Semme wrote:
Mmmm.. MP ain't geared for that unless you're willing to build a panel.


I also lean towards a clean desktop (I love openbox and E17). I'm not, however, I'm not a fan of JWM or ROX. Macpup would fix my 1st problem, and runtt21's wording led me to believe I could run EFM and thereby solve my 2nd dilemma. Please offer any insight/recommendations you may have.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Gnuxo

Joined: 09 Feb 2012
Posts: 365

PostPosted: Tue 26 Feb 2013, 23:37    Post_subject:  

You can enable desktop icons.

Quite easily actually.

Just drag things from rox, onto the desktop.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
toomanyquestions

Joined: 08 Jan 2013
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Wed 27 Feb 2013, 00:03    Post_subject:  

Gnuxo wrote:
Just drag things from rox, onto the desktop.


Ah, I see. Do you know the path to the EFM launcher? Or the terminal command that (I assume) will launch it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 9 of 13 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0827s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0078s) ][ GZIP on ]