Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 18 Apr 2014, 01:37
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
Canon Printer Drivers - Updated 2012
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 7 of 9 [127 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8554
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 07 Dec 2013, 00:26    Post subject: Re: MG 2100 on networked router  

edoc wrote:
8611

Where did you get this port number?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4307
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sat 07 Dec 2013, 00:51    Post subject:  

Page 1 of this thread "bjnp://aaa.bbb.cc.dd:8611"

I also tried 9100 and 9101

I wanted to try everything I could think of before asking for help.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8554
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 07 Dec 2013, 01:05    Post subject:  

The cups-bjnp-1.0.pet only applies to Canon models that are standalone networked printers. Your MG2100 is NOT one of these.

When you run the CUPS wizard is your HP P1006 auto-detected?

Run PeasyPort on the IP address 192.168.1.1. Is Port 9100 detected? Are Ports 9101 or 9102 detected?

Does your MG2100 work as a locally connected USB printer?

Do you know for sure that your router supports two printers?

My best guess is that your router would advertise the second printer as
Code:
socket://192.168.1.1:9101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4307
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sat 07 Dec 2013, 12:51    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
The cups-bjnp-1.0.pet only applies to Canon models that are standalone networked printers. Your MG2100 is NOT one of these.


OK

Quote:
When you run the CUPS wizard is your HP P1006 auto-detected?


Yes.

Quote:
Run PeasyPort on the IP address 192.168.1.1. Is Port 9100 detected? Are Ports 9101 or 9102 detected?


IP: 192.168.1.1
Port: 1

Output:
sh: line 17:

Quote:
Does your MG2100 work as a locally connected USB printer?


Yes.

[/quote]Do you know for sure that your router supports two printers?[/quote]

I don't know & when I searched the best info I found was this thread:

"... the way the print server works with lrp you will need to set 2 tcp/ip lrp's one for each printer, haven't tried it as i don't have 2 printers , but that's the theory"

"lrp print servers dont work with mfc's etc"

Source: http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/archive/1273035

I asked on Amazon since users seem to be answering questions there.

Quote:
My best guess is that your router would advertise the second printer as
Code:
socket://192.168.1.1:9101

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8554
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 07 Dec 2013, 13:10    Post subject:  

edoc wrote:
IP: 192.168.1.1
Port: 1

Output:
sh: line 17


?????
What Puppy are you using?

In the Port box, enter 9100. That port should be detected. If not, try changing the Speed settings. Then try 9101 and 9102.

If the router is not advertising a second port, then maybe there is some internal configuration necessary.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4307
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sat 07 Dec 2013, 13:14    Post subject:  

Lighthouse64 602b2

Every setting combo I tried produced the same result.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8554
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 07 Dec 2013, 13:22    Post subject:  

edoc wrote:
Lighthouse64 602b2

The last time I checked, Lighthouse did not contain PeasyPort. Did you install it from somewhere? If so, you got an incompatible 32-bit version.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4307
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sat 07 Dec 2013, 13:35    Post subject:  

It seems to want to work ... Wink

I grabbed it from your Peasy tools thread.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=84490&sid=3b4dbb1bafc8cb2ebbc377514dc144a1

I'll run it from a 32-bit machine with Raring.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4307
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sat 07 Dec 2013, 14:17    Post subject:  

OK scanned 192.168.1.1 9100-9111 and found only 9100
_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8554
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 07 Dec 2013, 14:33    Post subject:  

edoc wrote:
OK scanned 192.168.1.1 9100-9111 and found only 9100

Maybe the router has some internal configuration for allowing two printers. If not, I have no other suggestions.

BTW, Fatdog has the 64-bit version of PeasyPort.

There is an inherent problem with installing two USB printers like you want. Suppose you connect Printer A to the router and it gets Port 9100. Then you connect Printer B on Port 9101. You then install the printers in the client machine at those ports.

But if the printers get turned on in the opposite order, they might get the opposite ports and your client setups will now be wrong.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4307
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sat 07 Dec 2013, 18:02    Post subject:  

If they power-up in the wrong order could I not power both off then use two different versions of that Console command line you gave me to reset them one at a time?

BTW: I'm willing to leave the color printer off most of the time and to only power it up as needed - if that is necessary.

So the solution may be to just swap printers when someone needs to print color.

If I want to do that on the fly what would be the most-simple way to get CUPS to see the settings for the color printer when switched in vs the usually on P1006?

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8554
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 07 Dec 2013, 19:58    Post subject:  

There are a number of strategies for handling the Canon printer, from using it as a local USB printer on a particular computer, to buying a little network-attached printer server box.

All I can suggest is that you try it different ways and see which is more convenient.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4307
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sun 08 Dec 2013, 00:54    Post subject:  

Thanks for your assistance.

I will experiment a bit.

BTW: How would I alter the Console reset command line for the P1006 if I swap-in the MG2100 now and then, please?

Quote:
cat /usr/share/foo2xqx/firmware/sihoP1006.dl | nc -w 1 192.168.1.1:9100

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8554
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 08 Dec 2013, 04:18    Post subject:  

edoc wrote:
BTW: How would I alter the Console reset command line for the P1006 if I swap-in the MG2100 now and then, please?

It wouldn't change. You still only get to use Port 9100.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4307
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sun 08 Dec 2013, 09:00    Post subject:  

This part "sihoP1006.dl" isn't device-specific?
_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 7 of 9 [127 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0637s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0047s) ][ GZIP on ]