Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 16 Apr 2014, 18:46
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Squeezed Arm Puppy for Raspberry Pi, alpha4
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 14 of 16 [240 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 Next
Author Message
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2473
Location: Burghaslach, Germany somewhere also known as "Hosla"

PostPosted: Fri 07 Dec 2012, 11:24    Post subject: Re: Booting a 512M Pi  

Back on topic Bugs Laughing
woodenshoe wrote:
I have a 512M Pi board too, and it didn't boot Puppy alpha4 either.

So I downloaded the latest Raspberrian from the http://www.raspberrypi.org/ website, and after writing the image to a second card and seeing that it would boot fine, I copied the boot files ( I think it was just bootcode.bin at first ) to the Puppy card. Puppy booted then ...
Puppy will run on the 512M Pi, I'm posting from it now.
...
EDIT: bootcode.bin is in the zip file, you only need to download Raspberrian if you need something from /lib/firmware.

Thank you, that did make it for ,me too!
I have got my pi 2012-11-21

bootcode.bin has date 2012-10-28
pi_home.png
 Description   
 Filesize   39.01 KB
 Viewed   1448 Time(s)

pi_home.png

bootcode.bin.gz
Description  rename to bootcode.gz
gz

 Download 
Filename  bootcode.bin.gz 
Filesize  17.35 KB 
Downloaded  431 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ocpaul20

Joined: 31 Jan 2008
Posts: 189
Location: Right on top of CERN

PostPosted: Tue 11 Dec 2012, 07:55    Post subject:  

strange, I am having problems posting this. Even when I edit 2x ... will try again in the next one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ocpaul20

Joined: 31 Jan 2008
Posts: 189
Location: Right on top of CERN

PostPosted: Tue 11 Dec 2012, 08:08    Post subject:  

Cubieboard site
http://cubieboard.org/author/cubieboard/] cubieboard website

Articles etc
http://www.engadget.com/2012/09/05/cubieboard-for-developers

linuxbsdos site
http://www.linuxbsdos.com/2012/09/11/cubieboard-raspberry-pi-competitor-with-sata-port/

rasberry pi forum post
http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=62&t=22288

technical specs/pinouts/diagrams/etc
http://linux-sunxi.org/Cubieboard


google group on cubieboard - this is where you should go to ask questions etc
https://groups.google.com/forum/#!forum/cubieboard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2473
Location: Burghaslach, Germany somewhere also known as "Hosla"

PostPosted: Fri 04 Jan 2013, 12:29    Post subject: Squeezed Arm Puppy for Raspberry Pi, alpha4
Subject description: wrong icon for network in tray
 

This time I have been starting sap6 with ethernet cable unplugged.

Tray icon for network X is OK
but after having plugged in the ethernet cable and configurated
this icon has not been changed.
network.png
 Description   
 Filesize   47.49 KB
 Viewed   1166 Time(s)

network.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10514
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 04 Jan 2013, 15:05    Post subject:  

Sad that none of them have real analog VGA out.

I have four LCD screens for VGA and only one TV
for HDMI so that one show TV programs and
it is a waist of good monitors to not be about to use
the four LCD screens s I wait until such get made

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
laszlok53

Joined: 11 Jul 2012
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Fri 04 Jan 2013, 17:17    Post subject:  

nooby wrote:
Sad that none of them have real analog VGA out.

I have four LCD screens for VGA and only one TV
for HDMI so that one show TV programs and
it is a waist of good monitors to not be about to use
the four LCD screens s I wait until such get made


Maybe this could help?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/HDMI-Male-to-VGA-Audio-HD-Video-Cable-Converter-Adapter-1080P-HDTV-/271081462659?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&var=&hash=item3f1db6db83

/L
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10514
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 05 Jan 2013, 08:49    Post subject:  

Thanks for sharing that one. Have you tested on an old LCD monitor
or a Glass such? I've thrown away all my old clunkers though.

One commentator wrote that the adaper only works if that monitor
can really take that input and few of the old does?

Most of my four none goes beyond 1024 x 768 and
that one is more than that is it not?

One guy wrote that one would need to have real vga
out from the board for it to work good on cheap old monitors?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
laszlok53

Joined: 11 Jul 2012
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sat 05 Jan 2013, 12:31    Post subject:  

nooby wrote:
Thanks for sharing that one. Have you tested on an old LCD monitor
or a Glass such? I've thrown away all my old clunkers though.

One commentator wrote that the adaper only works if that monitor
can really take that input and few of the old does?

Most of my four none goes beyond 1024 x 768 and
that one is more than that is it not?

One guy wrote that one would need to have real vga
out from the board for it to work good on cheap old monitors?


I only tried on a 15" Philips LCD and it works on 1024x768

As I understand: HDMI has both digiatal AND analog signals. But some equipments only has digital out. This converter supposed to make analog of the digital signals, otherwise you only needed a cable without conversion. That also exist, look it up on ebay "HDMI to VGA cabel"

/ L
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1046

PostPosted: Sat 05 Jan 2013, 19:11    Post subject:  

just got my pi in the mail today. Still waiting on an HDMI adapter so that I can plug it into a monitor. Cant wait. Smile
_________________



My PC is for sale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
drspastic


Joined: 29 Aug 2008
Posts: 90
Location: ruse, bulgaria

PostPosted: Sat 05 Jan 2013, 19:25    Post subject:  

hi everyone, im glad to see we are making headway into the oncoming storm of ARM. now what are the chances of this being able to run on my olimex a13? i have just got it to boot a linaro ubuntu image....reminds me of xp; 2 days to get it to boot proper, then stuck with no network drivers or apps, and taking up all of 4 gigs!
i was dying to get a pi but the shipping took too long. i ordered the olinuxino instead because it ships in 24 hours! and its a ghz cpu. im glad.
i will be even more glad if someone helps get puppy on it, i been using puppy since it first was born and the last 5 years its been my primary os.
love puppy!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kooliepup


Joined: 13 Jan 2012
Posts: 302
Location: Victoria, Australia

PostPosted: Sun 06 Jan 2013, 02:31    Post subject: Pi Manual
Subject description: full of good stuff
 

http://downloads.raspberrypi.org/Raspberry_Pi_Education_Manual.pdf
_________________
There's no place like 127.0.0.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Hans

Joined: 16 Mar 2006
Posts: 45
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed 20 Mar 2013, 15:38    Post subject: Re: wifi
Subject description: edimax dongle
 

woodenshoe wrote:
My wifi dongle worked in Raspberrian so I did a lsmod from the command line to figure out which kernel module it was using.

Although it wasn't listed in Puppy's network module list I could load it by clicking on the "More" tab and then on the "Specify" button, but it still couldn't find any new interface.

I thought I saw some kind of error message during boot up before X came up so I exited X ( you could ctrl+alt+F1 to see the boot messages and ctrl+alt+F4 to go back to X ) and that was how I found out that the kernel module for my wifi dongle couldn't find one of its files in the /lib/firmware directory.

I copied everything from Raspberrian's /lib/firmware directory to Puppy's /lib/firmware, probably overkill, and then my wifi worked.


Yeah, good suggestion, I will give this a go. But if I run in to trouble I might decide to compile a new driver. Wat kernel source sfs can I use? It is not listed in the kernel source repo.

Greetings,
Hans
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
woodenshoe

Joined: 17 Nov 2012
Posts: 8
Location: Wisconsin

PostPosted: Wed 20 Mar 2013, 22:57    Post subject: Kernel Source  

I copied the kernel from Raspbian, I didn't compile it but I had come across a page describing how to do it.

http://elinux.org/Rpi_kernel_compilation

I don't know if that's the same source as was used for Puppy but I think it should work because copying the kernel worked.

EDIT:
It's Raspbian not Raspberrian Embarassed

Last edited by woodenshoe on Thu 01 Aug 2013, 21:53; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Hans

Joined: 16 Mar 2006
Posts: 45
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu 21 Mar 2013, 14:41    Post subject: raspberrian kernel in puppy  

You copied the entire kernel? So not only the firmware in /lib/firmware. I can try that too but I would like to stick with the original 3.1.6-cutdown kernel from Barry.
Did he not use T2 source? I think I read something like that but can't remember where.
Thanks for the tips woodenshoe , I will give it a go, and if I can get my hands on the original kernel source from Barry I will try that too and see what happens.


Anyone out there knows where I can download the kernel source sfs for the squeezed arm puppy that Barry used? I would like to stick to the original source if possible.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 204

PostPosted: Thu 21 Mar 2013, 15:54    Post subject:  

The kernel that Barry used way back when is very obsolete from when they were first getting their feet on the ground. It has lots of problems that have been fixed along the way.

If you don't want to deal with the kernel yourself, you can use Berryboot, which will install Puppy along with several other distributions in a multiboot kind of situation sharing a fairly recent, good, kernel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 14 of 16 [240 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0812s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0113s) ][ GZIP on ]