Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 02 Sep 2014, 04:11
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Slacko 5.3.3.2 alpha (shooting for 5.3.4)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 7 of 10 [143 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Author Message
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5109
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 07 Jul 2012, 15:03    Post subject:  

Computer has a Nvidia Geforce GTX 560 Ti video card

First boot with live CD of Slacko 5.3.3.2

Boot locks up at point of starting x sever and using whatever video settings were auto set by boot process.

If boot with option puppy pfix=nox and run xorgwizard at prompt.
Choose probe -
locks up. Just get black screen lockup.
Select choose -
None of the Nvidea driver options work. Just get black screen lockup.
Select Vesa driver-
That works OK and can make usable settings and get to desktop.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 535
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 07 Jul 2012, 16:06    Post subject: Nvidia Geforce GTX 560 Ti  

bigpup
The fact that you were able to reach the desktop tends to discount a bad burn &
I speculate that the nouveau module does not like your particular card.
I suggest you blacklist nouveau in BOOT MANAGER, create a save file somewhere
and after re-booting install shinobar's nvidia-glx-295.59-k3.2.22-4g.pet which
does, according to nvidia.com support, your card.
http://shino.pos.to/party/bridge.cgi?puppy/slacko/slacko-5.3.3.2/

_________________
Regards ETP
Accessibility Pups: -- Magoo -- The Pup With No Name -- MouseCam -- Obedient
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5109
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 07 Jul 2012, 17:39    Post subject:  

ETP,

Thank you for the helpful advice and useful link. Smile
My post was more about testing results, than how do I correct this.
01micko needs to know what problems you may have.

Again thanks for willingness to help!! Very Happy Cool Wink

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2618
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sat 07 Jul 2012, 22:13    Post subject: pfix=nox  

bigpup wrote:
If boot with option puppy pfix=nox and run xorgwizard at prompt.
Choose probe -
locks up. Just get black screen lockup.
Select choose -
None of the Nvidea driver options work. Just get black screen lockup.
Select Vesa driver-
That works OK and can make usable settings and get to desktop.

Some hardware fails to get the graphical desktop automatically.
Need to pfix=nox as bigpup did. But it is not easy to type for new comers.

That is why i propose graphical boot menu with 'Safe mode'(pfix=nox,ram).

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5109
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 07 Jul 2012, 23:11    Post subject: Re: pfix=nox  

shinobar wrote:

Some hardware fails to get the graphical desktop automatically.
Need to pfix=nox as bigpup did. But it is not easy to type for new comers.

That is why i propose graphical boot menu with 'Safe mode'(pfix=nox,ram).

There are other times this would be useful too.
However, I wonder if a new user would know what to do, when this safe mode, booted him to the prompt?

Last edited by bigpup on Sun 08 Jul 2012, 00:00; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2618
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sat 07 Jul 2012, 23:45    Post subject: Re: pfix=nox  

bigpup wrote:
However, I wonder if a new user would know what to do, when this safe mode, booted him to the prompt?

Yes, is a problem. the lupq-511 and the japanese versions offers 'xorgwizard' with dialog automatically.


And i am not sure he find the 'Advanced menu'.
The document is on the CD but who reads?
Document on the lupu-528JP, coming soon)

One idea is to make the menu to be self explains.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html

Last edited by shinobar on Sun 08 Jul 2012, 00:12; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5109
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 07 Jul 2012, 23:55    Post subject:  

While you are talking about a boot menu. What about an entry that would do the same as if you hit F2? Take you to the boot options screen.
Something like:

Helpful Boot Options

Boot Problems (Help With Alternate Boot Options)

Boot Process is Broken. Help is Here. These Boot Options Can Help.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2618
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sun 08 Jul 2012, 00:17    Post subject: pfix=nox  

bigpup wrote:
While you are talking about a boot menu. What about an entry that would do the same as if you hit F2? Take you to the boot options screen.

Maybe Japanese difficulty.
1. Hard to read long explanations in english.
2. Japanese keyboard layout is different with us, the boot loader assumes. That is, we need to type '^' in Japanese keyboard instead of '='.
Must be more difficult with other keyboard layouts. Even typing 'xorgwizard'.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2618
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sun 08 Jul 2012, 02:40    Post subject: /usr/share/include  

@01mico
Why there is /usr/include (2.7MB)? And /usr/src...
And i think the NLS for gphoto2 and gtklp is better to be optional.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7796
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 08 Jul 2012, 03:16    Post subject: Re: /usr/share/include  

shinobar wrote:
@01mico
Why there is /usr/include (2.7MB)? And /usr/src...
And i think the NLS for gphoto2 and gtklp is better to be optional.


Bad redirect in woof, it's already fixed for next version.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2618
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sun 08 Jul 2012, 04:07    Post subject: mesa packages  

An idea.
The mesa package, pre-installed in the slacko alpha2, is 59MB (extracted) large.
We can divide them into mesa-glx, mesa-utils, and dri for each.
mesa-glx: under /usr/lib and /usr/lib/egl, 4.4MB(extracted)
mesa-utils: under /usr/lib, 0.4MB
mesa-dri-*: under/usr/lib/xorg/modules/dri, 52MB in total
See an example:
http://shino.pos.to/party/bridge.cgi?puppy/slacko/mesa/

And how about the mesa-glx and mesa-utils pre-installed, and the mesa-dri-* as optional?

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Terryphi


Joined: 02 Jul 2008
Posts: 759
Location: West Wales, Britain.

PostPosted: Sun 08 Jul 2012, 06:30    Post subject:  

Slacko is insisting on setting a unique hostname on reboot even though I have deliberately set it to puppypc. Why - and how do I stop this behaviour?
_________________
Classic Opera 12.16 browser SFS package for Precise, Slacko, Racy, Wary, Lucid, Quirky, etc available here Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Terryphi


Joined: 02 Jul 2008
Posts: 759
Location: West Wales, Britain.

PostPosted: Sun 08 Jul 2012, 06:46    Post subject:  

Terryphi wrote:
Slacko is insisting on setting a unique hostname on reboot even though I have deliberately set it to puppypc. Why - and how do I stop this behaviour?


OK. I see why now. It is 01mick0's fix which Barry incorporated in script /etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit which disallows puppypc as a hostname. Easily unfixed. Smile

No, I don't want to re-open the hostname on a network debate thanks!

_________________
Classic Opera 12.16 browser SFS package for Precise, Slacko, Racy, Wary, Lucid, Quirky, etc available here Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
drblock2

Joined: 19 Jan 2009
Posts: 141

PostPosted: Sun 08 Jul 2012, 09:03    Post subject: The trouble with nouveau  

Once again, as I reported for 5.3.3.1 alpha, the nvidia GeForce FX5200 boots into a desktop with corrupt icons and no menus.

The problem lies with the nouveau driver that is loaded by default on the first boot. There is a simple fix: Just add nouveau.modeset=0 to the kernel line in the grub menu entry. Now the vesa driver loads (glxgears 160 fps).

The difficulty is that most new users (unless they are devoted readers of these pages) will not know about this and other possible methods of getting rid of nouveau and will simply give up on Slacko.

Would it be possible to blacklist nouveau from the outset and recommend pets of the proprietary nvidia drivers for those who wish to upgrade from vesa. (Recommended. Nvidia.176.14.31 gives me ca. 3030 fps on this ancient Athlon.)

I have never understood the rational behind nouveau. Why would anyone want to reverse engineer an nvidia driver when nvidia provides excellent, free, easily installed drivers even for 10-year-old legacy cards like the FX5200?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5109
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 08 Jul 2012, 14:12    Post subject:  

As I remember, nouveau was developed during the early days of Linux, when manufactures of hardware, did not provide any support for Linux. It was the only way to get a driver for Nvidea hardware, with more features than Vesa driver offered.

If the Vesa driver, was the graphics driver used on first initial boot. seems a lot of graphics boot issues would not happen.

Vesa driver seems to have the best chance of working on any hardware.
Quote:
VESA is a standard method of accessing video memory. Almost all PC-type computers produced in 1994 or later have built in VESA compatibility

After getting to a usable desktop, other graphics driver options could be offered.
At best, a person would know Puppy will boot to a usable desktop and any new graphics problems, would be related to the new drivers they are trying to use.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 7 of 10 [143 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0928s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0066s) ][ GZIP on ]