Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 14:22
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-600b1
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 10 of 17 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, ..., 15, 16, 17 Next
Author Message
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Fri 22 Jun 2012, 03:12    Post_subject: format floppy, probepart  

jamesbond wrote:
jamesbond wrote:
Shinobar wrote:
Note: Failed format floppy, tested on Fatdog64 alpha2 and beta1.
I only have one machine with floppy drive and I have not formatted a floppy for years ... Smile I'm not even sure whether the
drive is still working Rolling Eyes Thank you for the report though, I think devtmpfs doesn't automatically create this "special" floppy device
nodes. The floppy formatter program needs to be upgraded to create them on the fly.

Shinobar, do you mind testing this? Rename the fake .gz to floppy-format.sh, chmod +x and put it to /usr/sbin (replacing the original file) and see if you can format a floppy with it?

Sorry for late response. It works Smile

But the probepart shows /dev/fd0 twice:
Code:
# probepart | grep fd
/dev/fd0|none|2880
/dev/fd0|none|2880


EDIT: The probepart in the most recent woof is fixed.
Code:
#120602 kernel 3.2.18 major deviance from earlier kernels, /proc/partitions (and /sys/block) now shows /dev/sr0 when no disk.
#       new situation, getting duplicate /dev/sr0 so need 'sort -u'.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Fri 22 Jun 2012, 03:19    Post_subject: Kernel source  

BTW, where is the 3.4.2 kernel source?
The fd64-devx_600.sfs has linux-3.3.4.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 22 Jun 2012, 03:24    Post_subject:  

Pardon my naive remark.
A noob would not know about this way to do a direct link to the savefile
in the menu.lst Even I who have read here each day since 2008
did not know about it. And I have at least tested frugal install of Puppy
almost daily following the developers suggestions on many different puppies.

savefile=direct:device:sda1:/fd64b2/fd64save.ext4

I changed it to savefile=direct:device:sda1:/fd64b2/fd64save.ext3
that worked too but needed some consistence at shut down that
maybe a noob will not be aware of.

I have a noob notion that ext3 is safer to use than ext4 due to ext4 less known? First time I used it in all those years of saving a save file Smile

so I hope that the noob get instruction to do the savefile=direct:device:sda1:/fd64b2/fd64save.ext4 in an obvious way.
I had to read this thread to find out. Thanks for telling me.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1829
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Fri 22 Jun 2012, 04:43    Post_subject:  

Guys here is my (legacy) Grub menu.lst

title FatDog 6.00b1
rootnoverify (hd0,2)
kernel /fd64b1/vmlinuz savefile=direct:device:sda3/fd64b1/fd64save.ext4
initrd /fd64b1/initrd

It will not load the savefile from this location.

If I put the savefile in /mnt/home with the below config it works fine.

title FatDog 6.00b1
rootnoverify (hd0,2)
kernel /fd64b1/vmlinuz
initrd /fd64b1/initrd

What am I doing wrong?

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 552
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 22 Jun 2012, 05:05    Post_subject: Fatdog64-600b1  

smokey01 wrote:
Guys here is my (legacy) Grub menu.lst

title FatDog 6.00b1
rootnoverify (hd0,2)
kernel /fd64b1/vmlinuz savefile=direct:device:sda3/fd64b1/fd64save.ext4
initrd /fd64b1/initrd

It will not load the savefile from this location.

If I put the savefile in /mnt/home with the below config it works fine.

title FatDog 6.00b1
rootnoverify (hd0,2)
kernel /fd64b1/vmlinuz
initrd /fd64b1/initrd

What am I doing wrong?

Possibly missing a colon after sda3 Smile

_________________
Regards ETP
Accessibility Pups: -- Magoo -- The Pup With No Name -- MouseCam -- Obedient
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1485
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 22 Jun 2012, 05:19    Post_subject: Re: Fatdog64-600b1  

Hi

ETP wrote:
....
Possibly missing a colon after sda3 Smile

I reckon so too Wink Wink

CatDude
.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1829
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Fri 22 Jun 2012, 05:20    Post_subject:  

That was it, thanks ETP.

Not smart doing this when you are very tired

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7836
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 22 Jun 2012, 05:24    Post_subject: Re: Kernel source  

shinobar wrote:
BTW, where is the 3.4.2 kernel source?
The fd64-devx_600.sfs has linux-3.3.4.


Funny, I didn't check but the one I downloaded compiled nvidia just fine. All mirrors should have caught it well and truly by now.

Wait, I'll check, see screen cap
src.png
 Description   
 Filesize   23.68 KB
 Viewed   448 Time(s)

src.png


_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Fri 22 Jun 2012, 05:45    Post_subject: Re: Kernel source  

01micko wrote:
shinobar wrote:
BTW, where is the 3.4.2 kernel source?
The fd64-devx_600.sfs has linux-3.3.4.


Funny, I didn't check but the one I downloaded compiled nvidia just fine. All mirrors should have caught it well and truly by now.

Wait, I'll check, see screen cap

Thanks mike. maybe same filename but different ones. My fat64-devx_600.sfs has timpstamp 2012-06-11.
I am downloading the new, timestamp 2012-06-13.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7836
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 22 Jun 2012, 05:47    Post_subject: Re: Kernel source  

shinobar wrote:
01micko wrote:
shinobar wrote:
BTW, where is the 3.4.2 kernel source?
The fd64-devx_600.sfs has linux-3.3.4.


Funny, I didn't check but the one I downloaded compiled nvidia just fine. All mirrors should have caught it well and truly by now.

Wait, I'll check, see screen cap

Thanks mike. maybe same filename but different ones. My fat64-devx_600.sfs has timpstamp 2012-06-11.
I am downloading the new, timestamp 2012-06-13.


Which mirror do you try? If it's aarnet I'll let them know there is an issue, I used nluug only hours after release.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 22 Jun 2012, 07:39    Post_subject:  

I am interested in a 32-bit version of FatDog because it is a multi-user Puppy
so a lot of people would be able to use Puppy on 32 bit machines.

So if one had two versions of a multi-user Puppy because now they
refuse to use a single user Puppy. Yes I know that very few developers
do care about that criticism. But now when we do have a modern Puppy
that are multi-user then it is unfortunate that it is 64-bit.

Many many users of Linux still have older 32-bit computers.
So it would be great to have a modern 32-bit multi-user Puppy to recommend

Now I am a noob so I know too little. I have a lot of time but lack knowledge
So if the Devs have no time to make the compilation needed for 32-bit
would it be easy enough for a noob to do. I mean if the scripts as such
do it automatically and the only trouble is that it takes many ours a day
and many many days to accomplish but need no special knowledge to do?

As is obvious I know nothing so maybe I am way into fantasy land. Smile

Could one expect a kind of woof script in future that allow us noobs
to accomplish the 32-bit if the developers have no time to let it have
its automatic course or is it a hard and tough job to make it 32-bit from
64-bit?

I apology if all this sounds very ridiculous. All of it is from my heart
caring about all these Linux users keen on the notion of single user root.

I am all for single user root but I do care about all these others
and want them to be able to have a good multi user Puppy Linux.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2230
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Fri 22 Jun 2012, 08:15    Post_subject: Re: format floppy, probepart  

shinobar wrote:
But the probepart shows /dev/fd0 twice:
Code:
# probepart | grep fd
/dev/fd0|none|2880
/dev/fd0|none|2880


EDIT: The probepart in the most recent woof is fixed.
Code:
#120602 kernel 3.2.18 major deviance from earlier kernels, /proc/partitions (and /sys/block) now shows /dev/sr0 when no disk.
#       new situation, getting duplicate /dev/sr0 so need 'sort -u'.

Got it, added this code to line 50 in /sbin/probepart:
Code:
ALLDEVS=$(echo $ALLDEVS | tr ' ' '\n' | sort -u | tr '\n' ' ')

I don't use probepart myself; but other scripts may still depend on it.

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2230
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Fri 22 Jun 2012, 08:23    Post_subject:  

nooby wrote:
Pardon my naive remark.
A noob would not know about this way to do a direct link to the savefile
in the menu.lst Even I who have read here each day since 2008
did not know about it. And I have at least tested frugal install of Puppy
almost daily following the developers suggestions on many different puppies.

In Fatdog, open the web browser. Click Homepage. Click the FAQ links. Click the "boot options" link. The answer is there. The same information is also available here - http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/fatdog/web/faqs/boot-options.html. This link, together with my begging to please read the FAQ, was posted in the first post of Alpha2 announcement.

Quote:

savefile=direct:device:sda1:/fd64b2/fd64save.ext4

I changed it to savefile=direct:device:sda1:/fd64b2/fd64save.ext3
that worked too but needed some consistence at shut down that
maybe a noob will not be aware of.
The extension be anything. It could be savefile.nooby if you wish Very Happy Fatdog does not use the extension to determine what's inside like puppy does.

Quote:
have a noob notion that ext3 is safer to use than ext4 due to ext4 less known? First time I used it in all those years of saving a save file Smile
This was true in 2008 when ext4 was first released; but ext4 has been production-quality for at least two years now.
_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2230
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Fri 22 Jun 2012, 08:25    Post_subject:  

Gobbi wrote:
Using Skype with both Fatdog 521 and Lighthouse 5.14 was always possible only with Analogue Audio because the system recognized only the external analogue microphone and not ( no matter what I tried ) the digital microphone which is inside the usb webcam .

Is there any tweak Idea that could arrange that by the time the Skype pet arrives Question

I cannot promise anything. Skype is closed source software - you've got what they give out. All I did was to package skype with essential 32-bit libs so that it will work on Fatdog. How about using PuppyPhone instead Twisted Evil

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2230
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Fri 22 Jun 2012, 08:26    Post_subject:  

Jim1911 wrote:
I removed those parameters from my code and found that you are correct and all that's needed are the "savefile" parameters to find the save file although they do no harm.

However, when I just used the legacy parameters the save file could not be found. Grub can only find a save file located in /mnt/home.
The legacy parameters are ignored by Fatdog.
_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 10 of 17 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, ..., 15, 16, 17 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1063s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0072s) ][ GZIP on ]