Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 31 Oct 2014, 04:41
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
pUPnGO 2012
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 9 of 27 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, ..., 25, 26, 27 Next
Author Message
Keef


Joined: 20 Dec 2007
Posts: 639
Location: Staffordshire

PostPosted: Sat 15 Dec 2012, 08:10    Post_subject:  

greengeek

Did you you type ./textmaker, or just 'textmaker'. ?
The latter won't work because usr/share/... is not in the $PATH for executables.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 2607
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat 15 Dec 2012, 12:39    Post_subject:  

Thank you both. Am I just being silly to try to add something like Freeoffice to pupngo? If extra libs are needed should I really just use a fatter puppy or might it actually be fairly easy to add any missing libs? I'm not needing to make the whole office suite work, if I can get Textmaker going it will be all I need.

EDIT:Ok, well, I borrowed a libx11.so.6 from Slacko, but I see there are other missing libs also. More research to do. Do you think I could just grab those libs from another 412 and plonk them in the appropriate directories? Or am I likely to need to recompile something?
pupngo lib missing.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   19.04 KB
 Viewed   596 Time(s)

pupngo lib missing.jpg

other missing libs.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   31.24 KB
 Viewed   604 Time(s)

other missing libs.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
goingnuts

Joined: 07 Dec 2008
Posts: 782

PostPosted: Sat 15 Dec 2012, 16:41    Post_subject:  

greengeek:You should be able to add almost anything to pupngo...if you supply what is needed...
How about using the xcorel text-suite? A static version is posted here and its a text editor with quite a lot of features. Attached an image of it running...
snap0000.png
 Description   
 Filesize   22.23 KB
 Viewed   593 Time(s)

snap0000.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Keef


Joined: 20 Dec 2007
Posts: 639
Location: Staffordshire

PostPosted: Sun 16 Dec 2012, 11:12    Post_subject:  

greengeek

It is preferable to use the libs from 412. If you don't have it, grab yourself an iso, and extract the pup_412.sfs to a directory. Take whatever you need from it. If you download using Slacko, you will need to convert it (the sfs), because of the squashfile versions.
You don't necessarily have to match the directory structure (but libs need to be in the library PATH - lib/ usr/lib usr/X11/lib etc).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 2607
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun 16 Dec 2012, 14:02    Post_subject:  

Keef wrote:
It is preferable to use the libs from 412.

Thanks Keef. I added in all the (pup412) libs that Textmaker was asking for but then came up against a "critical system error". rxvt says: "sh: getconf not found" and "sh: whereis not found". Anyone seen that sort of thing before? Maybe it is because I used libs that were not EXACTLY the name that was being looked for - the suffixes were slightly different eg when it was asking for LibX11.so.6 I found LibX11.so.6.2.0 and renamed it. (Similarly with about 10 other libs).
I'm just stumbling in the dark here, but it's a good learning experience.

goingnuts:I can take these ramblings off into another thread if you prefer - I don't want to clutter this one with my fiddlings...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
goingnuts

Joined: 07 Dec 2008
Posts: 782

PostPosted: Sun 16 Dec 2012, 14:56    Post_subject:  

greengeek: The getconf and whereis are external programs. I think getconf is in /usr/bin in P412. I have a static build (uclibc) but dont know if it works in your case (attached - rename to getconf). "whereis" is from util-linux-package - I haven't a static build atm. I do not mind some activity here in this thread Smile
getconf.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  getconf.gz 
Filesize  34.93 KB 
Downloaded  284 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Keef


Joined: 20 Dec 2007
Posts: 639
Location: Staffordshire

PostPosted: Sun 16 Dec 2012, 15:41    Post_subject:  

Rather than rename the libs, symlink them instead: I think that libX11.so.6 is usually a symlink to another lib anyway (libc.so.6 is usually a symlink too.)
Be careful when copying libs with symlinks - usually ok doing a drag'n'drop with Rox, but you need the right parameter if using 'cp' on the command line - I think its -p for 'preserve'. Otherwise the symlinks end up being renamed copies of the main lib, and they don't work either!
EDIT - cp might be used for grabbing a group of related files using a wildcard (which will inc symlinks) eg 'cp libX11.so.*'
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Ibidem

Joined: 25 May 2010
Posts: 502
Location: State of Jefferson

PostPosted: Mon 17 Dec 2012, 01:45    Post_subject:  

Keef wrote:
Rather than rename the libs, symlink them instead: I think that libX11.so.6 is usually a symlink to another lib anyway (libc.so.6 is usually a symlink too.)
Be careful when copying libs with symlinks - usually ok doing a drag'n'drop with Rox, but you need the right parameter if using 'cp' on the command line - I think its -p for 'preserve'. Otherwise the symlinks end up being renamed copies of the main lib, and they don't work either!
EDIT - cp might be used for grabbing a group of related files using a wildcard (which will inc symlinks) eg 'cp libX11.so.*'

Careful there! That last command, if it's successful and is executed alone, will be very dangerous: it would copy libX11.so.6 to libX11.so.6.3.0 (or whatever your version is).
Since it reads the file from the link you might avoid breaking stuff if you're lucky...but if you added the -p parameter, it would screw it up.

But what I assume you mean to say is good advice:
Code:
 cp -p libX11.so* /usr/lib/
will work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Keef


Joined: 20 Dec 2007
Posts: 639
Location: Staffordshire

PostPosted: Mon 17 Dec 2012, 05:24    Post_subject:  

Thanks Ibidem, I was concerned I hadn't been as clear as I should have been.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 2607
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Mon 17 Dec 2012, 15:04    Post_subject:  

It turns out I was wrong when I said that Freeoffice works without the getconf and whereis errors when run on 412Lite or Choicepup412. The errors still occur but were not visible to me because I was not having to start the textmaker file through a console window - I was starting it direct from the program icon. (but I later realised I could see the same error show up in the console if I used the ./textmaker syntax). So it seems that I can ignore the whereis and getconf errors - they don't stop Freeoffice working correctly on the fatter 412's.

I am still stuck with a critical system error "Xrender initialisation failure" if I try to run the Freeoffice version of Textmaker on pupngo. However, I then decided to try the Textmaker_2002 pet from the official puppy3 repo and that runs fine on pupngo (still gives the whereis and getconf errors).

So for now I will use the textmaker2002 and come back to the Freeoffice testing if I can work out what the xrender initialise failure is about.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 2607
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Thu 20 Dec 2012, 13:18    Post_subject:  

I made a previous post detailing how I got wireless running with WPA in a pUPnGO Live CD session. Now I have found out why I could not get it running on an HDD installed session. (It turns out I needed to remove some files that the dhcpcd routine creates each time it connects. I have also corrected my note about hostname). Here is the method I am now using to connect wireless on my installed pUPnGO:

1) Create a new file as /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf containing the following:

Code:

ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ap_scan=2
update_config=1

network={
   id_str="some name to identify the connection you are creating"
   ssid="the SSID name of your router"
   psk="the shared key password for your router"
   proto=WPA
   key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
   pairwise=TKIP
   group=TKIP
   priority=1
}


2) In a terminal do the following steps:
type: rm /etc/dhcpc/* (This step removes the dhcpcd config file which persists in an installed pupngo from the previous session and prevents the new dhcpcd from running correctly)
type: ifconfig eth1 up
(this brings up the network adapter - obviously not always eth1 for everyone)
type: wpa_supplicant -B -D wext -i eth1 -c /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf
(this will then connect but the terminal may appear to hang. Wait for about 30 seconds to allow the connection to be made between the PC and the router, then open a new terminal and continue...)

3) type: dhcpcd -t 30 -h pupngo -d eth1
(the pupngo is the hostname, which ordinarily should be made unique so each PC stays separately identified, but for the sake of testing the connection script I stayed with the default of pupngo for now)

4) type: ifconfig (and check that IP has been correctly assigned)

When I first tried to write the terminal commands up as a single script it didn't work because I did not have the -B switch in the string. The issue was that the script got hung up at the wpa_supplicant step and wouldn't proceed on to the dhcpcd step. Tempestuous offers a way around this by including the -B switch in the wpa_supplicant string.

tempestuous wrote:
wpa_supplicant may take about 30 seconds to negotiate the connection.
Hopefully you will see a connection reported, then you can open a second console and proceed to obtain an IP address (DHCP).
It's possible to background the wpa_supplicant process in order to keep using the same xterminal by adding "-B" to the command
... but do this only once you know that the wpa_supplicant command is successful, because once backgrounded you won't see any error messages.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=22469&start=10


So, my final script is:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
rm /etc/dhcpc/*
ifconfig eth1 up
sleep 2
wpa_supplicant -B -D wext -i eth1 -c /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf
sleep 30
dhcpcd -t 30 -h pupngo -d eth1

In most cases you probably don't need such a long sleep before the dhcpcd request though. For the sake of connection speed you can trial shorter timeouts, but test it to see what works with your PC/router combination. EDIT:I've got the sleep down from 30 to 12 on my system and it works reliably. (It will probably vary for different routers though.)

I have included this script in the /root/startup folder so that my machine now connects quickly after each boot. I think it might be possible for me to make it connect even faster if I can get the script to run earlier on, maybe by putting it into one of the files within /etc/rc.d I think? More research to do.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Ibidem

Joined: 25 May 2010
Posts: 502
Location: State of Jefferson

PostPosted: Fri 21 Dec 2012, 02:50    Post_subject:  

So is udhcpc (the BusyBox dhcp client) disabled or nonfunctional in pupngo? It's been fairly reliable when I used it.
It does need /usr/share/udhcpc/default.script to actually change the system after getting a lease.
Sample script from Debian:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
# Busybox udhcpc dispatcher script. Copyright (C) 2009 by Axel Beckert.
# Based on the busybox example scripts and the old udhcp source
# package default.* scripts.
RESOLV_CONF="/etc/resolv.conf"
case $1 in
    bound|renew)
   [ -n "$broadcast" ] && BROADCAST="broadcast $broadcast"
   [ -n "$subnet" ] && NETMASK="netmask $subnet"
   /sbin/ifconfig $interface $ip $BROADCAST $NETMASK
   if [ -n "$router" ]; then
       echo "$0: Resetting default routes"
       while /sbin/route del default gw 0.0.0.0 dev $interface; do :; done
       metric=0
       for i in $router; do
      /sbin/route add default gw $i dev $interface metric $metric
      metric=$(($metric + 1))
       done
   fi
   # Update resolver configuration file
   R=""
   [ -n "$domain" ] && R="domain $domain
"
   for i in $dns; do
       echo "$0: Adding DNS $i"
       R="${R}nameserver $i
"
   done
   if [ -x /sbin/resolvconf ]; then
       echo -n "$R" | resolvconf -a "${interface}.udhcpc"
   else
       echo -n "$R" > "$RESOLV_CONF"
   fi
   ;;
    deconfig)
   if [ -x /sbin/resolvconf ]; then
       resolvconf -d "${interface}.udhcpc"
   fi
   /sbin/ifconfig $interface 0.0.0.0
   ;;
    leasefail)
   echo "$0: Lease failed: $message"
   ;;
    nak)
   echo "$0: Received a NAK: $message"
   ;;
    *)
   echo "$0: Unknown udhcpc command: $1";
   exit 1;
   ;;
esac
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 2607
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri 21 Dec 2012, 12:54    Post_subject:  

goingnuts wrote:
here it is
Its only all the firmware stuff - the original linux wifi-drivers are all present in pUPnGo 2012.

When I try to download from this link I get a message saying: "Accessing directly the download link doesn't work. The download only starts if you click from the download page.". Any clues what I am doing wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2994
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Fri 21 Dec 2012, 13:44    Post_subject:  

No idea. Works for me.

...idea...

Are you copying/pasting the link into a browser window, or just clicking on it in [insert browser here]? Might be something to do with copy-paste ops if that's what you're doing... but they shouldn't be able to detect that...

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 2607
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri 21 Dec 2012, 15:11    Post_subject:  

starhawk wrote:
, or just clicking on it in [insert browser here]?

Just clicking on the links. I've tried again in another puppy, using seamonkey and theres no problem downloading, and also tried loading Links27 into pupngo and that works too. Must be something up with Dillo. When I connect to the download page with Dillo I see the attached image (which looks slightly different to what I see with Links and very different to what I see with seamonkey):
download fail1.png
 Description   
 Filesize   21.85 KB
 Viewed   1047 Time(s)

download fail1.png

download fail2.png
 Description   
 Filesize   10.96 KB
 Viewed   1092 Time(s)

download fail2.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 9 of 27 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, ..., 25, 26, 27 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1151s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0161s) ][ GZIP on ]