Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 16 Jun 2019, 03:10
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Can connect to wireless network but not receive data
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [11 Posts]  
Author Message
jonjonjon

Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat 19 May 2012, 14:43    Post subject:  Can connect to wireless network but not receive data  

I have tried running the network setup to no avail. I am able to see the wireless networks and connect yet not receive any data. My wireless card is a RTL8187SE. Wireless light stays on after boot up. It is shown as wlan. I am using a EEE 701SD. I am extremely inexperienced with Linux and would appreciate any response. If I should reroute this question somewhere else please tell me where. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 3882
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Sat 19 May 2012, 16:06    Post subject: Re: RTL8187SE Problems  

jonjonjon wrote:
I have tried running the network setup to no avail. I am able to see the wireless networks and connect yet not receive any data. My wireless card is a RTL8187SE. Wireless light stays on after boot up. It is shown as wlan. I am using a EEE 701SD. I am extremely inexperienced with Linux and would appreciate any response. If I should reroute this question somewhere else please tell me where. Thanks.


Hi, read this thread (especially the last post on the second page) and see if the solution there works for you:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=75036

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
jonjonjon

Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat 19 May 2012, 17:22    Post subject:  

Thank you for the reply. I have tried these steps, especially the last step. In the network wizard I see eth0 and wlan. When I test it, it tells me that it was able to find a live network and to proceed to either entering a static ip or use DHCP. DHCP then says it was successful. Then I connect to my network, it is a WPA2, I enter the key it says successful. After all of this I just get page load error.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 3882
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Sat 19 May 2012, 19:16    Post subject:  

I don't have wireless network and I'm not sure if I can help you better, but it will be useful for other people to answer if you give more information about the type of your network connection. How exactly you get connected from your ISP?

Do you have any other linux installed working with this wireless card?
Do you know your static IP address, Subnet Mask, Default Gateway, DNS Servers? If you have them try to use them instead of DHCP.
If you have a router try to reset the router and reconfigure it from scratch.
If you use ADSL modem try to reset and reconfigure the settings.

You can also try to boot some other linux Live CD to see if you can get working internet connection.

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 4387
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 20 May 2012, 07:07    Post subject:  

Post your Puppy version.

But I have had success with a mates' Eee_PC.

Dpup Squeeze 5.X.3.2.7

http://www.smokey01.com/pemasu/DpupSqueeze5X/DpupExprimo5X327/

Specs:

http://usa.asus.com/Eee/Eee_PC/Eee_PC_701SD/#specifications

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kattman

Joined: 11 Jul 2008
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Sun 20 May 2012, 08:10    Post subject:  

Give this a try, I works for me as i had have the same issue.
open terminal and type
Code:

iwconfig wlan0 rate 1M auto
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jonjonjon

Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun 10 Jun 2012, 20:05    Post subject:  

My Linux version is Puppy Linux 2.6.30.5 [i686 arch].

I use Comcast

The step where I enter this in "iwconfig wlan0 rate 1M auto" brings up nothing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jafadmin

Joined: 19 Mar 2009
Posts: 894

PostPosted: Sun 10 Jun 2012, 21:35    Post subject:  

In a Terminal window,

Please see if you can: ping 8.8.8.8

Please see if you can: ping google.com

Please post the IP address it gives you. (run ifconfig)

This will help us a lot to understand the problem
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mahaju


Joined: 11 Oct 2010
Posts: 491
Location: between the keyboard and the chair

PostPosted: Mon 11 Jun 2012, 00:25    Post subject:  

may be the problem is just with your browsers configuration
try pinging google.com or downloading something from quickpet, just to see if the download starts, so that at least we know the Internet is working
In windows I think you need to disable the ethernet for Wifi to work and vice versa, may be it is a similar problem in your case
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12205
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 12 Jun 2012, 02:43    Post subject:  

This is a good guide for setting up wireless connection. Maybe missed a step.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=65346

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jonjonjon

Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue 12 Jun 2012, 12:59    Post subject:  

I just followed the guide that Bigpup posted. Although I had tried it before, it has been some time since my original posting. I figured start from square one. Well, it worked. Thank you everyone that posted here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [11 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0380s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0083s) ][ GZIP on ]