Bitdefender

Antivirus, forensics, intrusion detection, cryptography, etc.
stuart_c

Bitdefender

#1 Post by stuart_c »

Hello All,

I am completely new to Linux. I simply have some old x86 boxes and am assessing what I will need to install in order to carry out my online activities under Linux, (a 'Persistent Live' version for the time being).

It's only really used for surfing the web; but I don't want to delete the commercial s/w and it only has a small HDD.

A couple of people have kindly made the following suggestions, given the modest spec' of the P.C(s) I have access to, and my all round online requirements one of which is Puppy.

'Puppy' certainly appears to be the lightest. It is in fact the only one I've seen to date which runs "live" with under 512mb, therefore does not require additional HDD partitions and works on the h/w which is currently on my desk.

Do you feel that Bitdefender would offer the best security solution for a new user to carry out online banking and, if so, which version of the s/w would I need?

Many thanks if anyone has experience of BD installation in any such environment,

Stuart.

RetroTechGuy

Re: Bitdefender

#2 Post by RetroTechGuy »

stuart_c wrote:Hello All,

I am completely new to Linux. I simply have some old x86 boxes and am assessing what I will need to install in order to carry out my online activities under Linux, (a 'Persistent Live' version for the time being).

It's only really used for surfing the web; but I don't want to delete the commercial s/w and it only has a small HDD.

A couple of people have kindly made the following suggestions, given the modest spec' of the P.C(s) I have access to, and my all round online requirements one of which is Puppy.

'Puppy' certainly appears to be the lightest. It is in fact the only one I've seen to date which runs "live" with under 512mb, therefore does not require additional HDD partitions and works on the h/w which is currently on my desk.