Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 02 Oct 2014, 06:48
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
hard drive not recognized
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
mikey

Joined: 06 Oct 2005
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Thu 12 Apr 2012, 11:52    Post_subject:  hard drive not recognized
Sub_title: lucid and wary
 

have an old ibm t20 with an 11 gig hd. it was running windoz 2000 but I wanted to install lucid on it instead. I reformatted the hd to ext 2 and when I boot the cd, the hd is not recognized so I can't make the install.
help appreciated
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
antiloquax


Joined: 27 Jan 2012
Posts: 405

PostPosted: Thu 12 Apr 2012, 14:19    Post_subject:  

When you say "not recognised" - does gparted see it? Maybe you could reformat it (I like ext4).
Let us know more details of what happens.

_________________
My System:Arch-Arm on RPi!
"RacyPy" puplet on Toshiba Tecra 8200. PIII, 256 MB RAM.
RaspberryPy: Lobster and I blog about the RPi.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1046
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Thu 12 Apr 2012, 23:57    Post_subject:  

windows2000 was it's own trouble,as it put things in wierd places, you may need to re mbr the drive from a floppy to get it useable first.

Do you have a dos (any version except 4) Disc1 floppy by any chance around? If not freedos will do it, it's fdboot.img for the boot disk and fdbasecd.iso for the cd part if needed. Info and Help is on the webpage.
http://mirror.aarnet.edu.au/pub/freedos/files/distributions/1.0/

start it on that,
break out of the dos install program with a <ctrl>c to a prompt,
type fdisk /mbr,
that should reset the mbr to standard

?It's not a compaq by any chance is it, as they need their own version of dos.

_________________
Puppy T290 - BarryK's Racy but with T2 Version 9.0 is under development.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=94575
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
mikey

Joined: 06 Oct 2005
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Fri 13 Apr 2012, 08:34    Post_subject: re:hard drive not recognized  

it doesn't seem to matter what filing sys that gparted live formats on the hard drive since puppy lucid still doesn't find the device. using its native gparted, no device beyond the floppy and the cd are seen.
I assume like scsijon says, that the prob is in windoz 2000 mbr but am having difficulty understanding clearly his recommendations, though I will try to gin up an old floppy with dos and see if I can wipe the mbr sufficiently. and scsijon, this is an old ibm t20 fyi.
if anyone else can chime in with something effective, I'd greatly appreciate.
thanks again to all for input.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Fri 13 Apr 2012, 09:27    Post_subject:  

You might lack the driver for the HDD .
If it needs SCSI drivers then you should look for a Puppy derivate especially for these .

You might also consider an IDE kernel not a SATA kernel as by default in Puppy Linux kernel >= 2.6.30.5 .
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Tusk

Joined: 10 Aug 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat 14 Apr 2012, 12:00    Post_subject:  

Just tried the latest Wary on my T20. Same thing, no hard drive,none of the tools running live see it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3307
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 14 Apr 2012, 12:11    Post_subject:  

Type 'diskprobe' in console for list.

__________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Sat 14 Apr 2012, 12:16    Post_subject:  

Tusk wrote:
Just tried the latest Wary on my T20. Same thing, no hard drive,none of the tools running live see it.


I always do a quick erase with Dban (Dariks Boot n Nuke) on
older drives to make them usable (visible).

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2879
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Sat 14 Apr 2012, 14:40    Post_subject:  

Go in with gparted (if you can make IT recognize the drive) and create a new partition table, type "msdos" (default type). Some windows versions back in the day liked to make trouble by being inventive with those things.

Then create a new ext3 partition (ext2 can corrupt upon power failure or other unexpected shutdown).

BTW, if you hear a clicking noise when the drive is accessing (or trying to be accessed) that means mechanical failure of the drive is imminent and you need a new hard drive.

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
oldaolgeezer

Joined: 03 Dec 2006
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sat 14 Apr 2012, 20:17    Post_subject: hard drive not recognized
Sub_title: "hard drive not recognized" geometry issue in PIII Thinkpads
 

Re: "hard drive not recognized" issue in PIII Thinkpads:

While you are struggling with partitioning and formating
your disk drive in your IBM T20 Thinkpad laptop,
perhaps this might be pertinent:

I ran into a related problem trying to swap my IBM T22 Thinkpad's hard
drive into my Dell D600 laptop.

I believe I found that the BIOS of IBM Thinkpads of the T20 T21 T22
era claimed the hard drive's number of heads geometry
was 240 rather than 255 (which the Dell BIOS detected from
the hard drive's hardware itself.)

I can't find the better web page describing this issue anymore
but here is some T20 information:

http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.php?t=3315&highlight=240+heads+partition
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Tusk

Joined: 10 Aug 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue 24 Apr 2012, 07:21    Post_subject:  

The Lighthouse utility does not pick up the drive. Boot and nuked with UBCD, partitioned with PartedMagic (UBCD) not forgetting to set the boot flag, still no joy. Suspect driver problem but I don’t know for sure , any ideas how I can verify this please? Wary looks great running live, just wish I could install it. Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sun 20 May 2012, 19:00    Post_subject:  

looks like the BIOS only recognizes Win formats ?

You could try to boot with "debug" kernel parameter .

Also look into /tmp/boot* files for hints .

Maybe the HW is somewhat jerky on its last legs and you just have bad luck these days ..

# probepart
# probedisk
# disktype

are few commands that might give some output .

Check /dev directory for /dev/sda* files existence .

Probably kernel 2.6.25 would be better ( IDE kernel )
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0813s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0060s) ][ GZIP on ]