Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 26 Oct 2014, 02:01
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Wary and Racy 5.3 final
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 4 of 14 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 12, 13, 14 Next
Author Message
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2530
Location: Moved from Hosla to www.eussenheim.de

PostPosted: Fri 13 Apr 2012, 05:53    Post_subject: momanager
Sub_title: pinstall of langpack
 

vicmz wrote:
On another topic, the attached file contains eight more menu entry files that have translations that can only be fixed by replacing the equivalent files in Woof. This time I made sure there weren't any more of them. No need to rush, they can be included for future releases.
see:
Wary/Racy 5.3RC2

On other words, my experience:
Updates of menu entries (in applications.in)
are made ONLY IF there is no menu entry existing in applications.

I have changed pinstall.sh
Quote:
if [ -d usr/share/applications.in ];then
# for ADESKTOPFILE in `find usr/share/applications.in -mindepth 1 -maxdepth 1 -type f -name '*.desktop' | tr '\n' ' '`
# do
# ABASEDESKTOP="`basename $ADESKTOPFILE`"
# if [ -f usr/share/applications/${ABASEDESKTOP} ];then
# if [ "`grep '^Name\[de\]' usr/share/applications.in/${ABASEDESKTOP}`" != "" ];then
# if [ "`grep '^Name\[de\]' usr/share/applications/${ABASEDESKTOP}`" = "" ];then #L18L
# #aaargh, these accursed back-slashes! ....
# INSERTALINE="`grep '^Name\[de\]' usr/share/applications.in/${ABASEDESKTOP} | sed -e 's%\[%\\\\[%' -e 's%\]%\\\\]%'`"
# sed -i -e "s%^Name=%${INSERTALINE}\\nName=%" usr/share/applications/${ABASEDESKTOP}
# fi
# fi #L18L
# fi
# done
#rm -r -f usr/share/applications.in
#...don't remove it. might be useful for ppm when install future packages.
# copy applications.in in applications
cp -u /usr/share/applications.in/* /usr/share/applications #L18L

fi

and update of menu entries was perfect Exclamation
------------------------------
edited 20120420
not quite perfect Embarassed
In the menu there were items of not installed apps
I will have to investigate further Wink
------------------------------
==edited 20120423========================
Found and tested a solution which allows change of translated menu item.
pinstall.sh of langpack_* line 14 ff.:
Code:
if [ -d /usr/share/applications.in ];then
 for ADESKTOPFILE in `find /usr/share/applications.in -mindepth 1 -maxdepth 1 -type f -name '*.desktop' | tr '\n' ' '`
 do
  ABASEDESKTOP="`basename $ADESKTOPFILE`"
  #if [ -f usr/share/applications/${ABASEDESKTOP} ];then
   #if [ "`grep '^Name\[de\]' usr/share/applications/${ABASEDESKTOP}`" = "" ];then
    if [ "`grep '^Name\[de\]' /usr/share/applications.in/${ABASEDESKTOP}`" != "" ];then
     #aaargh, these accursed back-slashes! ....
     #INSERTALINE="`grep '^Name\[de\]' /usr/share/applications.in/${ABASEDESKTOP} | sed -e 's%\[%\\\\[%' -e 's%\]%\\\\]%'`"
     #sed -i -e "s%^Name=%${INSERTALINE}\\nName=%" /usr/share/applications/${ABASEDESKTOP}
     #append a line (easier)
     INSERTALINE="`grep '^Name\[de\]' /usr/share/applications.in/${ABASEDESKTOP} `"
     echo  "${INSERTALINE}" >> /usr/share/applications/${ABASEDESKTOP}
    fi
   #fi
  #fi
 done
 #rm -r -f usr/share/applications.in
 #...don't remove it. might be useful for ppm when install future packages.
fi

=====================================

edit
vicmz,
maybe
Code:
cp -u /usr/share/applications.in/* /usr/share/applications
will solve your problem?


=====================================
2012-05-03 edited for the record
Tested another solution in langpack_de-20120503.pet

Put this code into pinstall.sh
Code:
#Need to delete all Name[$LANG1]=..... in /usr/share/applications
cd /usr/share/applications
for AFILE in `ls *.desktop` ;do sed -i "/Name\[${LANG1}/d" $AFILE ;done
cd - # thus changes are possible too


edited Names in /usr/share/sss/menu_strings.de
ex:
s%"Restart JWM"%"JWM neustarten"%
s%"Abiwordprocessor"%"Abiwort-TextVA"%
s%"Abiword word processor"%"Abiword Textverarbeitung"%
s%"FFConvert multimedia converter"%"FFConvert Multimedia-Konverter"%
...

and deleted /usr/share/applications.in from langpack


=====================================

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rodin.s

Joined: 22 Sep 2010
Posts: 338
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Fri 13 Apr 2012, 14:17    Post_subject: partview  

Partview and 'df -h' show free space of my /dev/sdb4 drive differently: partview-4.3Gb and 'df -h' -2.6Gb. I tend to trust df -h. Something wrong with partview.
partview.png
 Description   
 Filesize   42.67 KB
 Viewed   1223 Time(s)

partview.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rodin.s

Joined: 22 Sep 2010
Posts: 338
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Mon 16 Apr 2012, 16:12    Post_subject: mplayer fullscreen  

gmplayer doesn't work in fullscreen mode. I don't care much about it as I always run mplayer in urxvt and it works ok, but people say...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
kommisar

Joined: 20 Feb 2011
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed 18 Apr 2012, 12:19    Post_subject: unrar?
Sub_title: capability to unrar files in Racy 5.3?
 

I can't seem to unrar some archive using the "zip" icon on the desktop. The application apparently doesn't work with rar files. Is there any easy way to add this functionality to Racy 5.3?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
puppy_apprentice


Joined: 07 Feb 2012
Posts: 135

PostPosted: Wed 18 Apr 2012, 13:50    Post_subject:  

u can try to find a tool called unrar or try to convert your rar file to eg. zip or tar and later use tools installed in Puppy:

http://www.online-convert.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2131
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 18 Apr 2012, 14:02    Post_subject: Wary and Racy 5.3 final
Sub_title: firefox-12.0 beta 6
 

Edit: removed
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Pence

Joined: 30 Jul 2005
Posts: 201

PostPosted: Sun 22 Apr 2012, 16:17    Post_subject:  

Racy 5.3 seems to work fine with Intel core i3-2120 and Asus P8 H67-M PRO with 4gb ram. Only video setting is 1024x768 60.0* but that is the one I would have selected. Edit: Now I have that problem of no shutdown or reboot and then xorg problem after manual shutdown.
Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2530
Location: Moved from Hosla to www.eussenheim.de

PostPosted: Mon 23 Apr 2012, 04:25    Post_subject: momanager
Sub_title: menu
 

Edited my solution for translating menu items, see
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=77303&start=57
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1158
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Mon 23 Apr 2012, 10:26    Post_subject:  

Racy 5.3 ...ditto on gmplayer not working in any resolution but original file resolution -- ie "half size, double size, full screen, etc all simply show the video in original resolution with a big yellow frame around it to match the request.

Also ditto on real dislike of the Racy 53 electric blue wallpaper theme and icons -- I'm not a bling fanatic, I usually just use the stock Puppy theme, but this time I had to change everything, the desktop was so jarring and uncomfortable to look at. If I was a new user, I'd wonder whether I'd want to use Racy.

I realize that's personal, but unusual for me to have such a strong reaction. I imported icons from earlier puppies, since didn't particularly like what was available (Puppy 431 was blue, too, but very easy to work with and accept. Seemed friendlier.)

Sorry, no desire to offend anyone, just a personal reaction in case user reactions are useful.

_________________
Acer Aspire 5349-2635 laptop dual proc, 4gb ram, frugal Racy 5.5.
1999 Thinkpad 600e hacked Pent 3, overclocked 800 mHz, 490 kb running Lupu 528

Acer Iconia A1-830 x86 tablet -- Puppy some day?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1778
Location: wales

PostPosted: Mon 23 Apr 2012, 12:24    Post_subject:  

gnome-mplayer may need you graphic drivers installed to change the screen size
_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=93998
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1158
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Mon 23 Apr 2012, 15:18    Post_subject:  

666philb wrote:
gnome-mplayer may need you graphic drivers installed to change the screen size


Thanks 666philb, but which drivers do you mean? (my graphics hardware is reported as: Intel 2nd generation core processor family integrated graphics controller )

btw VLC has no problem with graphics screen sizing on this same computer. Why would Mplayer require specialized video drivers?

_________________
Acer Aspire 5349-2635 laptop dual proc, 4gb ram, frugal Racy 5.5.
1999 Thinkpad 600e hacked Pent 3, overclocked 800 mHz, 490 kb running Lupu 528

Acer Iconia A1-830 x86 tablet -- Puppy some day?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
B.K. Johnson

Joined: 12 Oct 2009
Posts: 141

PostPosted: Tue 24 Apr 2012, 03:52    Post_subject: Revol incomplete  

Retrovol in wary-5.3 seems to provide for output only. I cannot record from line input. See attachment.
retrovol.png
 Description   
 Filesize   8.84 KB
 Viewed   1187 Time(s)

retrovol.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 901
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Tue 24 Apr 2012, 20:26    Post_subject:  

Is there nothing more further down in that Retrovol window? It seems cut off in the screenshot.

These things depend on your hardware. The input / record / capture controls may show up as a different device.

You could try alsamixer (type it in to the terminal). It shows all the soundcards using the F6 key and switches between them. The F4 key will isolate and show all the capture controls.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
voronv

Joined: 23 Apr 2012
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue 24 Apr 2012, 21:42    Post_subject: Wireless setup is not getting saved to save file in Racy
Sub_title: How to make Racy save successful wireless connection and autoreconnect at boot time?
 

Is this a bug or my illiteracy?
I boot my Dell Mini 9 with Racy 5.3 from flash drive and set up a wireless connection, over Broadcom B4312 card.
It works until reboot.
It takes entire minute or 2 to "save" my settings at shut down, but when it reboots - it never auto connects to my router. It alwaqys shows some 192.168.33.0 IP address (where only it comes from?).

Sucks. Please advise.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
firak

Joined: 14 Apr 2008
Posts: 174

PostPosted: Wed 25 Apr 2012, 16:38    Post_subject:  

Racy - is the ounly puppy that support properly my sound card, and I can use the mike -also.
[url] http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=622799#622799[/url]
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 14 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 12, 13, 14 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0958s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0090s) ][ GZIP on ]