Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Dec 2014, 13:19
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Wary and Racy 5.3 final
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 9 of 14 [209 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 Next
Author Message
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3982
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Fri 18 May 2012, 16:01    Post subject: Re: Racy/Wary: Upgrade glibc/gcc  

Terryphi wrote:
Last year Barry discussed the possibility of upgrading the versions of glibc and gcc in Wary/Racy:

http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02372

At that time he decided to stick with the existing versions and I supported this view because of the risk of breaking older programs. However, things have moved on. I think it is now time to reconsider because Lucid and Precise have later versions and some recent programs now require them.


Still i am able to compile most newer CLI source with Puppy 4 glibc-2.6.1 .
Problems with X/gtk/glib-GUI applications .

I think Puppy is missing a Xorg-server -version 1.5 and glibc-2.8 to reduce the stepping height .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9375
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 20 May 2012, 11:08    Post subject:  

Read here about continuing problems with printing in Wary.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
TKLF

Joined: 22 May 2012
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu 24 May 2012, 02:59    Post subject:  

Apologies if this is a dumb question, but...
Does the newer kernel and Xorg in Racy nullify some of the Wary compatibility with older systems?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MagicZaurus

Joined: 05 Jan 2009
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Sun 27 May 2012, 08:50    Post subject: Wireless connection not possible  

In Wary 5.3 I'm not able to establish a wireless connection with my router. In Wary 5.2.2 it is not a problem at all and working very nice.

In the log file of the Simple Network Setup (SNS), I find the following lines.

Code:

STEP1c: ifconfig wlan0 down
STEP2: iwconfig wlan0 mode managed
STEP3: iwconfig wlan0 channel 3
STEP4: iwconfig wlan0 essid "2WIRE_ABC"
STEP5a: ifconfig wlan0 up
STEP5b: wpa_supplicant -B -Dwext -iwlan0 -c"/etc/simple_network_setup/wpa_supplicant.conf-2WIRE_ABC-00:18:DA:02:1A:F9"
daemon: No such device
Running: wpa_cli -i wlan0 status
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory


The driver used is iwl3945. I had a look at the SNS script (/usr/local/simple_network_setup/sns, but could not find any comment on changes since Wary 5.2.2 which could cause this.

Anybody has any ideas where it could go wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
johnywhy

Joined: 20 Aug 2011
Posts: 353

PostPosted: Mon 28 May 2012, 02:42    Post subject:  

thanks for your hard work. great to have an update.

-have had some SD card-reader issues, both internal and usb.
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=78565

-have had connection issues with simple network tool, had to use the wizard instead (frisbee is best).
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=78553

-major remastering issues
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=78575

-xandr issues
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=78566

-respository issues
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=78559
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=629610#629610

-wine does not run
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=78629

i give up on racy. too many problems. unusable.

i think Puppy needs a more thorough, systematic testing cycle before new releases, imho.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Mon 28 May 2012, 14:45    Post subject: Re: Wireless connection not possible  

MagicZaurus wrote:
In Wary 5.3 I'm not able to establish a wireless connection with my router. In Wary 5.2.2 it is not a problem at all and working very nice.

In the log file of the Simple Network Setup (SNS), I find the following lines.

Code:

STEP1c: ifconfig wlan0 down
STEP2: iwconfig wlan0 mode managed
STEP3: iwconfig wlan0 channel 3
STEP4: iwconfig wlan0 essid "2WIRE_ABC"
STEP5a: ifconfig wlan0 up
STEP5b: wpa_supplicant -B -Dwext -iwlan0 -c"/etc/simple_network_setup/wpa_supplicant.conf-2WIRE_ABC-00:18:DA:02:1A:F9"
daemon: No such device
Running: wpa_cli -i wlan0 status
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory


The driver used is iwl3945. I had a look at the SNS script (/usr/local/simple_network_setup/sns, but could not find any comment on changes since Wary 5.2.2 which could cause this.

Anybody has any ideas where it could go wrong?


Compare the /etc/network-wizard/wireless/profiles and wpa
profiles.
If not the same, drag the files from 5.2.2 to 5.3.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MagicZaurus

Joined: 05 Jan 2009
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Tue 29 May 2012, 23:07    Post subject: Wireless connection not possible  

Hi rjbrewer,

thanks for the idea. Unfortunately the files seem to be exactly the same and I copied them over, just to make sure I didn't miss out anything during visual compare. But still no connection.

Maybe I need to dig more deeper.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1178
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jun 2012, 12:42    Post subject:  

johnywhy wrote:

i give up on racy. too many problems. unusable.

i think Puppy needs a more thorough, systematic testing cycle before new releases, imho

-have had some SD card-reader issues, both internal and usb.
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=78565


Uhhh, In Lucid, not Racy.

Quote:
-have had connection issues with simple network tool, had to use the wizard instead (frisbee is best).
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=78553


This is a problem? Three alternatives two of which work well with your computer?

Quote:
-major remastering issues
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=78575


You remastered and said it worked fine. This seems to be a savefile to card issue, and may be procedural -- you never specified steps to reproduce this issue, and it involved a couple of different (simultaneous?) installs of a remastered OS.

Quote:
-xandr issues
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=78566


Known bug in late X11, not Racy specifically, and a regression, therefore sometimes not present in less cutting edge Puppies.

Quote:
-respository issues
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=78559
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=629610#629610


If you boot stock Racy53 disk (not your remaster) using boot parameter pfix=ram, do you have this issue?

Quote:
-wine does not run
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=78629


A.) Racy does not include Wine, so it is not a subject of a its "testing cycle." It's your installation of some version of Wine, a program, that is the issue. You did not specify the method of installation, version of the program or steps to reproduce your error...

and,

B.) From reading your description you probably mean Wine isn't associated with your .exe files, rather than it does not "run".

Suggestion: rather than post that Racy is "unusable", provide "thorough, systematic testing" services to the likewise volunteer developers,

Systematic, and thorough, as in, including full steps to reproduce any discovered issues, full description of your hardware with that issue, OS version under test (so as not to confuse, say Lucid with Racy.), type of install (frugal, full), and media type, all on a per issue basis.

Imho

_________________
Acer Aspire 5349-2635 laptop dual proc, 4gb ram, frugal Racy 5.5.
1999 Thinkpad 600e hacked Pent 3, overclocked 800 mHz, 490 kb running Lupu 528

Acer Iconia A1-830 x86 tablet -- Puppy some day?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
johnywhy

Joined: 20 Aug 2011
Posts: 353

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jun 2012, 17:08    Post subject:  

vtpup wrote:
Uhhh, In Lucid, not Racy.

yes, my bad.

vtpup wrote:
Three alternatives two of which work well with your computer?

true, but when something doesn't work that worked in the previous racy, it makes me nervous about the release.

vtpup wrote:
You remastered and said it worked fine. This seems to be a savefile to card issue, and may be procedural -- you never specified steps to reproduce this issue, and it involved a couple of different (simultaneous?) installs of a remastered OS.

The first step of making the remaster worked fine, but actually installing the remaster failed. I don't think i left any steps out, and it involved only one remaster.


vtpup wrote:

Quote:
-xandr issues\


Known bug in late X11, not Racy specifically, and a regression, therefore sometimes not present in less cutting edge Puppies.

I believe xandr works in previous racy, but i will recheck.

vtpup wrote:

Quote:
-respository issues

If you boot stock Racy53 disk (not your remaster) using boot parameter pfix=ram, do you have this issue?

will test

vtpup wrote:
Wine-- You did not specify the method of installation, version of the program or steps to reproduce your error...

ok, i will provide that info. I believe its a version of wine and install method that worked with previous racy, but will check.

vtpup wrote:
Suggestion: provide "thorough, systematic testing" services to the likewise volunteer developers,

i'd be happy to, if racy devs care to hear it.

_________________
asus X502C notebook pc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1178
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jun 2012, 23:43    Post subject:  

[quote="johnywhy"]

vtpup wrote:
You remastered and said it worked fine. This seems to be a savefile to card issue, and may be procedural -- you never specified steps to reproduce this issue, and it involved a couple of different (simultaneous?) installs of a remastered OS.
Quote:
The first step of making the remaster worked fine, but actually installing the remaster failed. I don't think i left any steps out, and it involved only one remaster.


Steps to reproduce = open a clean install of stock Racy 53 and note down, step by step, each action you take to remaster and trial run, in detail, including screen messages and key presses to reach the repeatable issue expression so that another person can repeat (reproduce) your issue. Note software versions installed, and hardware used to do this. Report all of that as an issue. That is thorough and systematic testing, ie. providing steps to reproduce.

_________________
Acer Aspire 5349-2635 laptop dual proc, 4gb ram, frugal Racy 5.5.
1999 Thinkpad 600e hacked Pent 3, overclocked 800 mHz, 490 kb running Lupu 528

Acer Iconia A1-830 x86 tablet -- Puppy some day?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cecc

Joined: 21 Aug 2007
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Wed 06 Jun 2012, 04:04    Post subject: jwm menus doesn't display Chinesecorrectly  

This character display problem of jwm menus exists in many versions of Puppies. So I hope there is a solution.

After I had installed the Chinese WenQuanYi MicroHei TTF font in Wary 5.3, and set the system locale to zh_CN, I clicked the "Menu" in the left bottom, the Chinese characters in jwm menus were all displayed in small cubics and could not be recognized. To solve this problem, we need to do some modifications to jwmrc in /root/.jwm.

(Below is one kind of modifiation suggested by labrador several years ago.)

Just open jwmrc in /root/.jwm and replace the dash character with a blank character in all the fontname config lines.

the original fontname config line:

Code:
<font>DejaVu Sans-12:bold</font>


the modified fontname config line:

Code:
<font>DejaVu Sans 12:bold</font>


When we use "DejaVu Sans-12:bold" in fontname, jwm seems to just use DejaVu Sans the English font to display the menus, and will not use Chinese WenQuanYi MicroHei TTF font to display the Chinese characters in the menus. After we replace the dash with a blank character in fontname, jwm will not recognise the fontname in jwmrc and use the suitable fonts in the system to correctly display the menu characters.

And to let all the jwm themes support Chinese menus, we need to go to /root/.jwm/themes and replace the dash character with a blank character in all the fontname config lines of all the *-jwmrc files.

Making these modifications to jwm config files will change the original jwm menu font settings, so I hope that there is a better solution for this problem.

Hope that Barry will do some modifications in Woof or shinobar will do some improvements in his QuickSetup first-run PET to solve this jwm menu display problem, so that the subsequent Puppies will not have this problem.

Thank you all!

Best Regards,

Cecc

_________________
Chinese Puppy Linux Forum
Chinese Puppy Linux Project Blog
they are in Chinese.

Last edited by cecc on Thu 07 Jun 2012, 10:05; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Wed 06 Jun 2012, 17:07    Post subject: Re: jwm menus doesn't display Chinesecorrectly  

cecc wrote:
the original fontname config line:

Code:
<font>DejaVu Sans-12:bold</font>


the modified fontname config line:

Code:
<font>DejaVu Sans 12:bold</font>


And to let all the jwm themes support Chinese menus, we need to go to /root/.jwm/themes and replace the dash character with a blank character in all the fontname config lines of all the *-jwmrc files.

Automated tool: (need to extract and give executable permission)
http://shino.pos.to/linux/puppy/jwm_font_repair.sh.gz
cecc wrote:
Hope Barry to make some modifications in Woof or shinobar to do some improvements in his QuickSetup first-run PET to solve this jwm menu display problem, so that the subsequent Puppies will not have this problem.

So do i hope. All the Japanese versions and my multilingual versions are treated this. And the lang_support_all has the script at /usr/local/bin/jwm_font_repair.sh.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=51702

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1113
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed 06 Jun 2012, 18:28    Post subject:
Subject description: default resolution
 

I like to run versions as a live CD without saving the settings, so a version has to be reasonably right for me OOTB. I am sure a default resolution of 1280x1024 covers more circumstances than lower resolutions. Nevertheless, I *never* use this resolution because everything is too small. I prefer the resolution of 1024x768 and occasionally 800x600. In the last several recent versions of Wary (run as live CD) I have not been able to change the resolution from default 1280x1024, even when I have upgraded Xorg in Wary 5.3. This latter upgrade involved a 10-minute download by cable connection and had no success at changing the resolution. I wouldn't use Wary 5.3 as a live CD even if the upgrade had been successful at changing the default resolution, because I am not gonna waste 10 to 15 minutes changing the resolution. Is there some way to ensure that a resolution of 1024x768 is easily attainable without jumping through hoops or doing a frugal install?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1178
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Wed 06 Jun 2012, 21:00    Post subject:
Subject description: default resolution
 

nubc wrote:
I like to run versions as a live CD without saving the settings, so a version has to be reasonably right for me OOTB. I am sure a default resolution of 1280x1024 covers more circumstances than lower resolutions. Nevertheless, I *never* use this resolution because everything is too small. I prefer the resolution of 1024x768 and occasionally 800x600. In the last several recent versions of Wary (run as live CD) I have not been able to change the resolution from default 1280x1024, even when I have upgraded Xorg in Wary 5.3. This latter upgrade involved a 10-minute download by cable connection and had no success at changing the resolution. I wouldn't use Wary 5.3 as a live CD even if the upgrade had been successful at changing the default resolution, because I am not gonna waste 10 to 15 minutes changing the resolution. Is there some way to ensure that a resolution of 1024x768 is easily attainable without jumping through hoops or doing a frugal install?


remaster?

Personal savefile on the CD and then close it?

_________________
Acer Aspire 5349-2635 laptop dual proc, 4gb ram, frugal Racy 5.5.
1999 Thinkpad 600e hacked Pent 3, overclocked 800 mHz, 490 kb running Lupu 528

Acer Iconia A1-830 x86 tablet -- Puppy some day?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1113
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed 06 Jun 2012, 21:34    Post subject:  

I guess I meant this as a suggestion for future editions of Wary, and any other Puppy for that matter. Just provide two possible resolutions and I'll be happy. Or allow resolution selection earlier in the setup process so that resolution is actually selectable when running as a live CD. If the resolution of 1024x768x16 is preselected in my Xorg setup, does this not indicate that 1024x768x16 resolution is standard and suitable for my computer?

Edit: In Windows, user can make a 1280x 1024 resolution look like 1024x768 by going into advanced Display settings to change the DPI setting from Normal size (96 dpi) to Large size (120 dpi). Nice and quick tweak, but Windows asks you to reboot.
http://blogs.msdn.com/b/fontblog/archive/2005/11/08/490490.aspx

Last edited by nubc on Fri 08 Jun 2012, 10:04; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 9 of 14 [209 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1288s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0064s) ][ GZIP on ]