Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 26 Nov 2014, 06:26
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Dialup
Filemate USB Modem CX and Puppy 421
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
jpr

Joined: 01 Apr 2009
Posts: 102

PostPosted: Fri 30 Mar 2012, 16:02    Post_subject:  Filemate USB Modem CX and Puppy 421  

I have a Dell Latitude C840 laptop with dual boot: Win XP Pro and Puppy 421.
I have a Wintec Filemate USB Modem CX.
www.wintecind.com/features/FileMate/Networking/hardmodem.html
The modem works fine under windows, after installing the driver.
However, I can't get it to work under Puppy.

I have installed this pet: dgcmodem-1.10.pet
From this page:
www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=325258
I rebooted and tried again. Same results.

It looks as though the Puppy sees and initializes the modem just fine. But for some reason, the modem cannot detect any dial tone.
The modem is located on ttySL0.
USB ID 0572:1340 Revision 0100.

PupDial shows these initialization strings:
Code:

String1: ATZ
String 2: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0


Log:
Code:

--> WvDial: Internet dialer version 1.53
--> Initializing modem.
--> Sending: ATZ
ATZ
OK
--> Sending: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0
ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0
OK
--> Modem initialized.
--> Sending: ATDTxxx-xxxx
--> Waiting for carrier.
ATDTxxx-xxxx
NO DIALTONE
--> No dial tone.
--> Disconnecting at Fri Mar 30 14:23:31 2012


Any ideas?

Thanks.

PS. A similar post:
www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=606826
It worked under Puppy-520.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jpr

Joined: 01 Apr 2009
Posts: 102

PostPosted: Sat 31 Mar 2012, 00:20    Post_subject: Works in Puppy 431 Live CD  

Well, I just booted into Puppy-431 Live CD and the modem worked out of the box. I connected to the internet with no problems. In fact I am posting this from Puppy-431 Live CD. (Puppy-421 is a full installation.)
It gave me a slightly different initialization string:
Code:
Initialization string1: ATZ
Initialization string2: ATQ0V1E1S0=0&C1&D2S11=55+FCLASS=0

However, I tried pasting this strng into Puppy-421 and it didn't make a difference.
Something else is going on, besides a different string.
Both have WvDial version 1.53, however PupDial seems a bit different.
Of course kernels are different: 2.6.30.5 (i686) vs 2.6.25.16 (i686). Maybe they come with different modules/drivers?
Another difference I noticed is that the modem is found on ttyACM0 vs ttySL0.

I sure would like to get this to work in 421 though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jpr

Joined: 01 Apr 2009
Posts: 102

PostPosted: Wed 04 Apr 2012, 00:45    Post_subject: Doesn't work on Lucid Puppy-528.004  

I just tried Lucid Puppy-528.004 Live CD, and got same error as Puppy-421 - modem recognized, but no dialtone. Bummer.
This is really strange that it would be recogninzed and initialized, but wouldn't dial.

On top of that my PS/2 optical mouse wouldn't work.
So I guess this release is not a good fit for my hardware.
I guess I will try Slacko next.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jpr

Joined: 01 Apr 2009
Posts: 102

PostPosted: Wed 04 Apr 2012, 22:34    Post_subject: Doesn't work on slacko-5.3.1-SCSI-MAIN  

slacko-5.3.1-SCSI-MAIN had the same problems as Lucid Puppy-528.004
No modem (no dialtone), and my Logitech optical PS/2 mouse wouldn't work.
Both the modem and the mouse were showing in the HardInfo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jpr

Joined: 01 Apr 2009
Posts: 102

PostPosted: Tue 10 Apr 2012, 00:49    Post_subject:  

The modem works in Lucid Puppy 525 Retro. As does my mouse.

Cheers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Dialup
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0471s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0033s) ][ GZIP on ]