Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Dec 2014, 09:44
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
slacko 5.3.3, final
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 37 of 42 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42 Next
Author Message
cowonjolt

Joined: 10 May 2012
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue 03 Jul 2012, 13:14    Post_subject: camera fail  

Need some pointers to get my camera configured. GTkam doesn't list my Fuji Finepix A-600 the list goes from A-320 to A-800 and above and none work, also tried the ptp usb one with no success. Similar results with Pupcamera. On other OS's I always used Digikam and it worked but I don't see it available anywhere for Slacko. I use camera alot in a side hobby so hope I can find a solution for Slacko. Thanks Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Tue 03 Jul 2012, 19:31    Post_subject:  

cowonjolt

digikam is available in the Slackware repos, you need to enable them in PPM configuration. However, it depends on many KDE libraries which are huge. I'll see if there is an update to libgphoto which supports your camera. Finepix are really good cameras in my opinion Smile

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
cowonjolt

Joined: 10 May 2012
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu 05 Jul 2012, 00:39    Post_subject:  

01micko, thanks for the reply. I took a quick look but was unable to find Digikam in the Slackware repos... I checked the official,salix,slacko, and the slacko official but did not find it. I assume it requires the glib2 packages plus others. Also looked at gphoto and gphoto2 but couldn't find anything for my camera but not sure I was looking in the right place for it. Look forward to hearing if you turn something up.
On another note I created an ext4 partition on a 8gig flash drive and installed woof in it but when I tried to run 0setup it errors out after a couple of downloads saying I need to change the superblock in the previous download or something like that so I was unable yet to pursue that route till I can figure out what I need to do to fix it. I'm not real clear on the woof and woof2 thing... how many different woofs are there anyway and how do you specify which one you want?. The 0setup started wanting to download what appeared to be some very old puppy stuff and that threw me a curve ball cause I'm not sure if that stuff is even in Slacko. The info I find to use of woof seems outdated but maybe I just don't understand it yet. Anyway thanks for any help you can provide. Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
cowonjolt

Joined: 10 May 2012
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sat 21 Jul 2012, 00:49    Post_subject:  

Found digikam in salix but attempts to install it lock up my system so I'm forced to use another os live that has it available for now. The other os is much slower and doesn't offer save files so have to reinstall, update, etc at every boot again. Very frustrating... Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
oldyeller


Joined: 15 Nov 2011
Posts: 822
Location: Mishawaka IN

PostPosted: Wed 25 Jul 2012, 14:44    Post_subject:  

Hello Everyone,

Does any know how to add text to the Welcome1tsboot window

Thanks for any help, have tried to edit the file but had no luck.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5497
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Wed 25 Jul 2012, 17:56    Post_subject:  

01micko,

Any help for this persons problem?
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=79887

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3554
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Mon 30 Jul 2012, 10:32    Post_subject:  

1. I've just downloaded...
slacko-5.3.3-highmem-PAE-SCSI.iso

2. If I burn the live CD and run it with access to the slackosave.3fs file for...
slacko-5.3.3.1-SCSI.iso
Will this cause a problem?
Or will it be able to update the slackosave file OK?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3554
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Wed 01 Aug 2012, 05:03    Post_subject:  

Tried to do THIS with the ISO file, but it couldn't be mounted [as per part 1]. Sad

I've done that OK with the ordinary ISO file [slacko-5.3.3.1-SCSI], and that worked OK, and is in use and doing the necessary. Very Happy
00.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   13.12 KB
 Viewed   972 Time(s)

00.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gerry

Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 960
Location: England

PostPosted: Fri 03 Aug 2012, 13:55    Post_subject:  

SeaMonkey Out of Date-

Every time I start Seamonkey I get a warning message that says that Seamonkey is out of date and I should "click here" to update it. That does not work- so what should I do? I suppose one can (somehow) update Seamonkey, or PERMANENTLY get rid of the message.

But how?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gerry

Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 960
Location: England

PostPosted: Fri 03 Aug 2012, 13:57    Post_subject:  

Double post- not my fault! Got some message about "could not find mail server codes" (or something like that).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5497
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 04 Aug 2012, 00:13    Post_subject:  

gerry wrote:
SeaMonkey Out of Date-

Every time I start Seamonkey I get a warning message that says that Seamonkey is out of date and I should "click here" to update it. That does not work- so what should I do? I suppose one can (somehow) update Seamonkey, or PERMANENTLY get rid of the message.

But how?

Try using Seamonkey menu bar->help->check for updates.
Try menu bar->Edit->Preferences->Advanced->Software Installation.
Uncheck everything about Seamonkey updating. (any time you want to check for an update, the help->check for updates should work)

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gerry

Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 960
Location: England

PostPosted: Sat 04 Aug 2012, 03:05    Post_subject:  

Nope, none of that worked.

Edit> Preferences> Advanced> BLANK

and Help has no check for updates option.

Hmmm..

The message appears on a red bar under the menu bar, and has a "check for updates" button, nothing happens there either.

Do we have Seamonkey in full, or are bits cut out to make it lighter?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5971
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 04 Aug 2012, 03:15    Post_subject:  

I'm fairly certain that SeaMonkey in Slacko has been compiled to not update and that did save a bit on the size.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 938
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Sat 04 Aug 2012, 09:22    Post_subject:  

Downloading, unpacking, renaming and substituting the seamonkey directory in /usr/lib has worked for me.
_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gerry

Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 960
Location: England

PostPosted: Sat 04 Aug 2012, 17:29    Post_subject:  

Oscar- there must be a simpler way!

I downloaded.

I unpacked (in /tmp).

Where does the renaming come in?

And do I have to go through /usr/lib/seamonkey/ and check each file against the unpacked one, and replace the old by the new one if they are different?

Phew! We need APT.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 37 of 42 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0811s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0106s) ][ GZIP on ]