Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 26 Nov 2014, 16:23
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
slacko 5.3.3, final
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 23 of 42 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, ..., 40, 41, 42 Next
Author Message
Volhout


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 410

PostPosted: Fri 27 Apr 2012, 02:51    Post_subject: scsi  

01micko

Are you actually still building with SCSI drivers ? Who is still using SCSI I wonder.... All I read is reports on laptops and quad cores ....
Remember we also dropped analog modems (still in Wary I think).

Volhout ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 27 Apr 2012, 02:56    Post_subject:  

Billtoo

Hmmmm... I have a Cedar Pro HD 5450 .. pretty low end and getting "old" in computer terms.. Nexuiz runs fine for me.. I bet you need the "newer" graphics driver I was talking about, I'll see what I can hunt up.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 27 Apr 2012, 03:00    Post_subject: Re: scsi  

Volhout wrote:
01micko

Are you actually still building with SCSI drivers ? Who is still using SCSI I wonder.... All I read is reports on laptops and quad cores ....
Remember we also dropped analog modems (still in Wary I think).

Volhout ...


Yes, there is plenty of old and not so old scsi gear out there capable of running Slacko. Smile

Analog modem drivers are huge, and mostly unsupported in newer kernels, scsi modules are small and supported.

EDIT: I just remembered.. Aitch uses Slacko in scsi gear Cool

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3454
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri 27 Apr 2012, 03:54    Post_subject:  

" Nice report mate... but the wrong bloody slacko version!!! "

Knew this would happen.

Learning Windows has turned him into a tyrant.

The dev has turned and become a critic.

They're onto me I fear.


""""""""""""

Sound works well.
Screen good.

But.........
Me interface won't load.
Ah! the dangers of getting old.

Your report your majesty....
just the Dell Studio Studio XPS.

The Asus EeePc is unavailable.
Located near where you lived once...ha!..ha!

Thanks mate.....Chris.
chris2_report.gz
Description  chris2_report
gz

 Download 
Filename  chris2_report.gz 
Filesize  13.81 KB 
Downloaded  183 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 27 Apr 2012, 05:45    Post_subject:  

Chris,

Seems to be some weird doubling up of some firmwares

try this in the terminal

Code:
rm /lib/modules/all-firmware/b43/lib/firmware/b43/*


Reboot

If that fails, I'm compiling the proprietary driver for broadcom known as "wl". I'll post a pet later.

Cheers

_________________________________________________________________


Broadcom WL pets are uploaded.

http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/pet_packages-slacko/broadcom_wl-K3.1.10-slacko_4gA.pet

http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/pet_packages-slacko/broadcom_wl-K3.1.10-slacko_paeA.pet

.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
ICPUG

Joined: 24 Jul 2005
Posts: 1290
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 27 Apr 2012, 07:51    Post_subject:  

gcmartin wrote:
playdayz wrote:
Slacko Libre Proof of Concept ...
Thanks Playdayz. I know the value of what you present for us.

Question for thought (no requirement to reply)
Could your work be collapsed into a PET? (say, a Libre PET that offers a JAVA dependency as it installs while accomplishing the desktop integration)

I know you (& others) have probably thought of this, before, and there are probably some hurdles that are involved.


The immediate hurdle I can think of is that if in a PET it fills up your save file! An sfs is a different matter but then I'm not sure if a separate sfs can load into RAM.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 27 Apr 2012, 08:13    Post_subject:  

I tend to agree ICPUG, but some people prefer full installs, a pet is easier, also, I know gcmartin often netboots and runs in RAM so therefore a pet is easier. I'm uploading the Libre pet now, will take awhile, it includes playdayz integration.

@gcmartin, I'm not adding java as a dep to the libre pet, it's optional and is (AFAIK) only needed for Base, which many users don't use. Can you link me to the exact Java pet that works correctly for you and I'll upload that too and make an sfs.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1162
Location: England

PostPosted: Fri 27 Apr 2012, 09:03    Post_subject:  

Hi 01micko,

My SFS' load into RAM, including jre 1.7 and LibreOffice (3.4.0.2). All LibreOffice programs load instanteously from Quickstart (which may not be included in later versions). Offline Help works except for the search feature.

You can see from the picture below, bottom left corner that I have no swap file, 597 and a bit MB RAM which is only some one third used. I also have Acrobat reader, Opera 11.62 and other SFS' in use or ready for instant use.

I use seaside's SFS loader/unloader and also his SFS tray loader - there are no checks and "fixmenus" is not updated so seaside's programs are super fast - he even has another program "to load all SFS' in any directory at once". None of these conflict with the pre-installed SFS load-on-the-fly.

I use technosaurus' Simple Menu.pet which loads instantaneously and his Create Menu.pet (where I excluded the alternative Drive icons and converted it to an SFS) which works well and takes less than a second (using "fixmenus" reverts to my usual JWM menu). Also radky's PupMenu takes some two seconds to load or refresh - whereas "fixmenus" takes some fifteen seconds on my ancient desktop computer.

My regards
0.Full-screen.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   197.45 KB
 Viewed   880 Time(s)

0.Full-screen.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1162
Location: England

PostPosted: Fri 27 Apr 2012, 09:08    Post_subject:  

My apology for this double post - now used.

Addendum 1:

Another apology, in the above post the LibreOffice.sfs should have read v. 3.3.0.4 and I omitted to say it is Slacko 5.3.1 Main.

Addendum 2:

I should also have said that I use a Multi-session live-CD and a USB stick (with many absolute links to the loaded CD - which I infrequently update.) which includes my SFS files, SeaMonkey, some 35 Wine programs and even a few pets (which I only istall when rarely needed), some configuration files and all my data (which is saved-on-the-fly so I have nothing to save on reboot or shutdown).

I have two internal hard drives, but I only mount either to make backups or to download files larger than 240 MB.
.

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 27 Apr 2012, 09:20    Post_subject:  

playdayz wrote:
What I *think* might be happening is that the original Slacko iso is built using a newer more efficient compression, but when remastered mksquashfs uses the older compression.


Too true.

Maybe this (untested) patch to remasterpup2?
EDIT: see next page for newer patch

Appends the "-comp xz" option telling mksquashfs to use xz compression if using a 3 series kernel or greater.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Fri 27 Apr 2012, 10:11    Post_subject:  

The xz compression was added to the standard kernel with version 2.6.38 .

Since There are/had been several Puppy kernels out version 2.6.39.x the code schould be something like

Code:
KERNEL_VERSION=`uname -r`
KERNEL_VERSION="${KERNEL_VERSION//[[:punct:][:alpha:]]/}"
KERNEL_MAJOR="${KERNEL_VERSION:0:1}"
[ "$KERNEL_MAJOR" = 0 ] && KERNEL_VERSION=1000
KERNEL_VERSION="${KERNEL_VERSION:0:4}"
[ $KERNEL_VERSION -lt 1000 ] && KERNEL_VERSION=$((KERNEL_VERSION*10))
[ $KERNEL_VERSION -ge 2638 ] && COMP="-comp xz" #||gui to select compression
 


(I bloated it for test if kernel 0.9.x)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3789

PostPosted: Fri 27 Apr 2012, 11:20    Post_subject:  

Quote:
rxvt -bg orange -fg black -title "$m_01" -geometry 80x6 -e mksquashfs $@ "$COMP"

Appends the "-comp xz" option

Unfortunately the -comp xz seemed to be ignored in remasterpup2 when building the sfs. I tried a few things including hard-coding -comp xz and some "" but it is beyond me. I did do one manually and the difference was from 321MB to 272 MB. Maybe after 5.3.3 is released would be a better time for this? Then I could post a derivative. Concerning the -comp xz, rerwin knows remasterpup2 pretty well, I will ask him.

shinobar, Do I interpret correctly that gcmartin's comments about the "disappearance of java" mean that the java executable is not in the path? i was concentrating on java for Libre and the browsers which seems to work fine, but would a good fix be to make /usr/bin/java containing
Code:
/usr/java/java1.6.0_31/bin/java "$@"


I guess the purpose is to run java programs. Are there any to test that people would like to run in Puppy?

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Fri 27 Apr 2012, 11:37    Post_subject:  

Quote:
+ KERNELMAJVER="`echo $KERNERLVER|cut -1`"
+ [ "$KERNELMAJVER" -ge "3" ] && COMP="-comp xz"


typo ..

but Puppy scripts use sometimes KERNELVER and sometimes KERNVER

this has to be looked for also everytime .
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Iguleder


Joined: 11 Aug 2009
Posts: 1923
Location: Israel, somewhere in the beautiful desert

PostPosted: Fri 27 Apr 2012, 13:17    Post_subject:  

Code:
-Xbcj x86


Makes the output image smaller Wink

_________________
My homepage
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
ICQ 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1519
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Fri 27 Apr 2012, 15:32    Post_subject:  

01micko wrote:


Broadcom WL pets are uploaded.

http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/pet_packages-slacko/broadcom_wl-K3.1.10-slacko_4gA.pet

http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/pet_packages-slacko/broadcom_wl-K3.1.10-slacko_paeA.pet

.


Hi Mick

Which version of the Broadcom sources are your pets?

Please see my efforts at:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=76495

I'll point people to your pets if they are the latest 5.100 versions...

Have you included rerwin's logic to avoid having to do blacklisting?

Cheers
Peter

_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 23 of 42 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, ..., 40, 41, 42 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1022s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0094s) ][ GZIP on ]