Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 23 Sep 2014, 22:32
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
slacko 5.3.3, final
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 17 of 42 [626 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, ..., 40, 41, 42 Next
Author Message
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5144
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 10 Apr 2012, 01:38    Post subject:  

I seem to remember something about the CD/DVD tray opening had to do with making sure, a new user, would remove the Puppy live CD after installing Puppy.
When they did the reboot, trying to use the newly installed Puppy, they would not have the live CD in place and end up booting the live CD instead of the Puppy install.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2630
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Tue 10 Apr 2012, 01:45    Post subject: ANOUNCE: updated pupsaveconfig-2.2  

Long persistent bug of pupsaveconfig.
Was failed with the bootfash comboformat install. Thanks to Ghost Dog who reported this.
Code:
# v2.2 8apr12: fix was failed with no space partition(tnx to Ghost Dog), fix was failed with SAVEMARK, fix was failed mmc card, default partition and folder, exit 0 (thanks to don)
# v2.2 10apr12: sync with woof 20409, kill acpid (rc.shutdown)

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=618719#618719

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jades

Joined: 07 Aug 2010
Posts: 445
Location: Somewhere in Blighty.

PostPosted: Tue 10 Apr 2012, 05:54    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
I seem to remember something about the CD/DVD tray opening had to do with making sure, a new user, would remove the Puppy live CD after installing Puppy.

Now you mention it I have an odd memory that, on one of the Puppies I've tested on the K6, Universal Installer ejected the disc when finished. Might have been Wary. Will check when I get my new PSU.

bigpup wrote:
When they did the reboot, trying to use the newly installed Puppy, they would not have the live CD in place and end up booting the live CD instead of the Puppy install.

While it is a good idea for Frugals or Fulls, it's a little inconvenient for Live CD installs. Yes, the one year old HDD in the Pentium D machine decided that the middle of a global shortage was the ideal time to die! Mad

_________________
Zhaan - AMD K6 2 500, 512MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 VR. Full install Wary 5.5 HardInfo Report
Merlin - Core i5-4590, 8GB RAM, Radeon R9 270X. Slacko 5.7.0

Last edited by Jades on Tue 10 Apr 2012, 09:31; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jades

Joined: 07 Aug 2010
Posts: 445
Location: Somewhere in Blighty.

PostPosted: Tue 10 Apr 2012, 05:55    Post subject:  

Replacement power supply for K6 machine ordered. Hopefully I don't blow the damned thing up!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4784
Location: GB

PostPosted: Tue 10 Apr 2012, 11:48    Post subject:  

Quote:
Replacement power supply

It is often possible to repair PSU s. Ignore the dire warnings on the box if you haven't used it for 24hrs, or dunk it in water and dry it in the sun!
First, look at the internal fuse. Usually you need a F(ast)5A, but it's inscribed, so check. About 10-20% of faults can be cleared by changing the fuse. Next look to see if the input surge circuits have blown - it will be obvious! Then check the bridge rectifier (out of circuit).
At some stage look for 'badcaps(.org)' - bulges, stains or burns on all the electrolytics. Sometimes just replacing these will clear faults (about 20%). If the control circuitry is U/S it's too tedious to bother, but if it's the input conditioning stuff check the input thyristor/SCR/ w.h.y. - a simple static continuity test with a five quid meter will show a short. If this is dud, you have a choice - replacements can be had from eg RS/CPC/etc for about £3-5. It's a risk! Be sure to check the R-C-Diode components in the emitter, too; when the big guy blows it usually takes these with it.
Great opportunity to wash out the entire interior with a garden hose if you don't have a ban. Dry in the sun/on a radiator/ wife's hair-dryer/eletric paint stripper. Leave overnight before switching on. A pair of earplugs are useful when testing as an very unpleasant sibilance occurs if it blows again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
antiloquax


Joined: 27 Jan 2012
Posts: 405

PostPosted: Tue 10 Apr 2012, 12:38    Post subject:  

Oops, I have broken PPM Embarassed Embarassed

It won't launch and when I try to run in terminal I get this:
Code:

** ERROR **: gtkdialog: Error in line 46, near token '</default>': syntax error
aborting ...



I think it's to do with the ziggy gui.
Is there any way to fix it?

_________________
My System:Arch-Arm on RPi!
"RacyPy" puplet on Toshiba Tecra 8200. PIII, 256 MB RAM.
RaspberryPy: Lobster and I blog about the RPi.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 603
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Tue 10 Apr 2012, 14:37    Post subject: Slideshow  

Slideshow-1.0.pet

from:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=400255&sid=af5d2cb0b7b519619b72235fb95b4590

works really nice in every other puppy I tried it in... except... 'Slacko' I mean it locks Slacko up tighter than the U.S. Mint when you run it and the only exit is to push and hold the button on the computer.

Just wondering if there is something similiar for slackware or would it be possible to mod it a little to work in Slacko?

By the way, you notice there aren't many gripes in the Slacko thread... 'that's good'... if there are no problems (like I don't have) there won't be any posts... that should tell you how well Slacko is running!!!

>>>---Indian------>

_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1042
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Tue 10 Apr 2012, 23:59    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
Ok.. now it's
Code:
ping -c1 sourceforge.net &>/dev/null && CONNECTED="yes" || CONNECTED=


It was originally kernel.org but they went down for an extended period when they had a security breach. Google was only meant to be a stop gap. Thanks for reminding me.


And somewhere around in the forum is the ip for a spare primary router port my isp said we could use to ping if we needed to as that's basically what it is used for by them. If you want it again, i'll see if I can find it. I asked for it when the google thing first appeared!

_________________
Puppy T290 - BarryK's Racy but with T2 Version 9.0 is under development.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=94575
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jades

Joined: 07 Aug 2010
Posts: 445
Location: Somewhere in Blighty.

PostPosted: Wed 11 Apr 2012, 19:03    Post subject:  

Sage wrote:
Quote:
Replacement power supply

It is often possible to repair PSU s. Ignore the dire warnings on the box if you haven't used it for 24hrs, or dunk it in water and dry it in the sun!


Thanks for the tips. It's not worth trying to fix the PSU that died as it was a very old 300W unit I was using as a stopgap. It did, however, once generate an interesting fault-finding exercise where I managed to link the two observations "computer has been sounding differently recently" and "the top of the case at the rear of the machine seems to be hot to the touch" by looking at the back of the computer... Surprised Might have a look at the old Corsair HX620W however.

The new PSU arrived today, the morning after I ordered it! It's an OCZ ZT Series 750W. Probably complete overkill for a K6-2 500, but I wanted a fully-modular setup and managed to find someone selling the 750W version for not much more than the 650W I'd been looking at. The machine has a CDRW writer, a DVD-ROM drive, two hard drives, a floppy drive and an Iomega Ditto tape drive so I needed five molex connectors and an FDD power lead (on the OCZ ZT the latter is provided by a converter that plugs into a molex connector). I'm pleased to report that so far the machine is working again!

_________________
Zhaan - AMD K6 2 500, 512MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 VR. Full install Wary 5.5 HardInfo Report
Merlin - Core i5-4590, 8GB RAM, Radeon R9 270X. Slacko 5.7.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Thu 12 Apr 2012, 00:19    Post subject:  

antiloquax wrote:
Oops, I have broken PPM Embarassed Embarassed

I think it's to do with the ziggy gui.
Is there any way to fix it?


Boot from DVD and copy code to your frugal install Wink

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
antiloquax


Joined: 27 Jan 2012
Posts: 405

PostPosted: Thu 12 Apr 2012, 01:31    Post subject:  

Thanks!
_________________
My System:Arch-Arm on RPi!
"RacyPy" puplet on Toshiba Tecra 8200. PIII, 256 MB RAM.
RaspberryPy: Lobster and I blog about the RPi.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4784
Location: GB

PostPosted: Thu 12 Apr 2012, 02:31    Post subject:  

Quote:
it was a very old 300W unit ... new PSU ... It's an OCZ ZT Series 750W

Interesting. Overkill^2 ! Far too much mythology surrounds PSU s. I use h.e.c http://www.hecgroupusa.com 350W units for all my machines, new and old, unless I'm running top line video cards like RadeonX1950 with twin DVI and DDR3, which are exceptionally greedy and might need a 400-450W unit. However, there's a load of hype about O.P. numbers. Be sure to read the actual O.P. cited on the label, not the advertising, too. Often, you cannot get all of that juice at the same time. And, in today's market, don't believe that "you get what you pay for" ! Recommendations from respected reviewers eg respectedreviews.com, or, better, friends are the best option. The best discussions on PSU I discovered was on www.badcaps.org forum about 3-4years ago. There are some extremely knowledgeable guys contributing over there. You can quickly learn about design techniques and strategies, as well as limitations concerning PSU s. It'll surprise you, perhaps?

Your prior symptoms might suggest that a thorough clean and fan re-lube was overdue! The fans they use are cheapo - it's a doddle to replace with a Sangamo/Papst/etc. These cost a fiver, but considering the work they do, well worth it. A quality fan with a sleeve bearing will last as long as a cheap ball-race and is much quieter.

Mick: please excuse this diversion in your thread. Hoping it will be of interest to rather greater readership, even though I outlined much of it about five years ago.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jades

Joined: 07 Aug 2010
Posts: 445
Location: Somewhere in Blighty.

PostPosted: Fri 13 Apr 2012, 07:10    Post subject:  

Jades wrote:
bigpup wrote:
I seem to remember something about the CD/DVD tray opening had to do with making sure, a new user, would remove the Puppy live CD after installing Puppy.

Now you mention it I have an odd memory that, on one of the Puppies I've tested on the K6, Universal Installer ejected the disc when finished. Might have been Wary. Will check when I get my new PSU.


Just to confirm, the Universal Installer on Wary 5.3 does automatically eject the CD once it's finished. Useful feature in that particular case since you do want to reboot from the hard drive or something other than the CD. It's also easy enough to put the disc back in straight away if, for some reason, you still wanted to boot from CD afterwards.

Slacko 5.3.1 remains the last release which was compatible with the K6-2 500, for that machine I'll probably go for Wary as the main Puppy as Lupu 5.11 is pretty old now.

_________________
Zhaan - AMD K6 2 500, 512MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 VR. Full install Wary 5.5 HardInfo Report
Merlin - Core i5-4590, 8GB RAM, Radeon R9 270X. Slacko 5.7.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Volhout


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 387

PostPosted: Sun 15 Apr 2012, 06:24    Post subject: Flash  

Running Slacko 5.3.2.7
Use Chromium 18.0996 browser installed via Slickpet,

Noticed an increasing number of Flash content is not playing noted as: "not available"
When using Lubuntu Chromium the content is visible.

I thought Chromium has it's own build in flash player. Any idea's ??
Already installed mesa video driver (proposd by slickpet), but makes no difference.

Volhout

EDIT: already solved. Installed flash player 11 from ibiblio.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jades

Joined: 07 Aug 2010
Posts: 445
Location: Somewhere in Blighty.

PostPosted: Tue 17 Apr 2012, 20:28    Post subject:  

Briefly tested Slacko 5.3.2.7 as a Live CD on my brother's recently acquired Celeron 633 machine [1]. Considering my experience with this version not working on my K6-2 500, I was a little surprised when it booted without error. The Socket 370 Celeron 633 seems to be an i686-class CPU. The mainboard is an ECS P6IWP-Fe and is the smallest ATX board I've ever seen, only having two PCI slots and no AGP (graphics being onboard Intel 82810). The machine only has 192MB of RAM so performance is a little sluggish, more RAM is on its way.

Networking with the Addon NWP210 wireless PCI card [2] works very well using WPA2 PSK. It did pop up the additional setup windows previously reported with the WN111v2 on an earlier Slacko build. I can't remember exactly which firmware it's using in Puppy, will post tomorrow along with a link to a HardInfo report for that system.

Notes:-

1. A redundant machine from work. The intention was to replace the mainboard with an Athlon XP 1800+ powered one I've had in a box for years, but the latter won't stay stable at the moment. Symptoms seem to be similar to a problem I had with an old PIII 450 which turned out to be due to the thermal cutout on the CPU tripping as the fan had partially failed. I've put the Celeron setup back in for the time being.

2. Bought from Novatech for only £16.99, their product page lists it as "Novatech 300Mbps 802.11n Wireless-N PCI Adapter" so possibly they source from more than one manufacturer.

_________________
Zhaan - AMD K6 2 500, 512MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 VR. Full install Wary 5.5 HardInfo Report
Merlin - Core i5-4590, 8GB RAM, Radeon R9 270X. Slacko 5.7.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 17 of 42 [626 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, ..., 40, 41, 42 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1101s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0113s) ][ GZIP on ]