Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Dec 2014, 17:03
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Dpup Exprimo 5.X.3.4.12 with 3.4.2 kernel.
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 66 of 89 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, ..., 87, 88, 89 Next
Author Message
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4458
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Tue 07 Aug 2012, 09:52    Post_subject:  

Any need to update my previously downloaded matching dev_squeeze as well?
_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy Carolina 1.3 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5465
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Tue 07 Aug 2012, 09:53    Post_subject:  

Edoc. No. It is the same. Nothing in devx sfs has been changed. I didnt even rebuild it and so...I didnt reupload it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 466
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Tue 07 Aug 2012, 09:56    Post_subject: Wireless Problems  

Hi pemasu !
Upgraded to your new uploaded Iso .
Now no problems with wireless ralink usb adapter any longer , (networks could not be found using my old savefile). Problems are solved .

Man you ` re really a hard worker .... Respect ...!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5465
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Tue 07 Aug 2012, 10:59    Post_subject:  

backi. That was good news. I think that restoring the firmwares to their old location was right thing to do at this time. Dont do too many changes at one time. Because then you dont know which one of your updates is behind the problematic behavior. For wireless....there is already many updates and changes. I hope wireless connections behave now.
My day work starts tomorrow...after my sick leave....and I will be very busy....
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4458
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Tue 07 Aug 2012, 11:13    Post_subject:  

Just did a quick test and it looks good on my Samsung NB30 netbook.

I have to figure out a way to get at the SimpleMail extension for Firefox without wasting space on an extra toolbar at the bottom - display real estate is a premium on the netbook.

Thanks!

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy Carolina 1.3 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 466
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Tue 07 Aug 2012, 12:01    Post_subject: Temperature is not shown  

Hi pemasu !

Seems temperature module does not work .
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5465
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Tue 07 Aug 2012, 13:43    Post_subject:  

backi. Do you mean tempicon jwm tray application. If yes....then if your hardware supports lm-sensors...it works. If not...you could try to disable lm-sensors by removing /usr/bin/sensors and /usr/lib/libsensors*
Then reinstall the tempicon pet from this thread: http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=74702

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?mode=attach&id=56350

Tempicon should this way work without lm-sensors for those comps which are not lm-sensors compatible.

I am sure you can disable the lm-sensors dependency easier way from tempicon but that is how I tested it without lm-sensors.

If you mean something else....I need more spesific description.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 466
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Tue 07 Aug 2012, 14:23    Post_subject:  

Hi pemasu
Was missing tempicon in sytray for E17 .
Downloaded the pet you adviced to install..
Now it is in systray E17 and working .
But temperature module E17 does not show temperature .
This is not important for me ...just want to report to you (could look a bit silly but maybe you can use this information )
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5465
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Tue 07 Aug 2012, 14:53    Post_subject:  

Ok. It was in e17. Yes....I disabled tempicon for e17 because there is already temperature module. I didnt know you were speaking of e17.
By reinstalling tempicon (and optionally removing lm-sensors) enables tempicon for e17 also. It overwrites the script change I did to disable tempicon in e17.

Lm-sensors does not work with all hardware and my suggestion seems to be working solution if you dont get tempicon tray in jwm and you get warning about temp2tray has been removed.

For me...e17 temperature module works and I believe that most laptop users have working e17 temperature module.
You could try the change from udev to internal in temperature setting when you right click the temperature module. I dont know how it changes the detection of cpu temperature...but you can try.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 466
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Tue 07 Aug 2012, 15:40    Post_subject:  

Hello pemasu .
Switching temperature seting to udev did work . module shows temperature
Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
irishrm


Joined: 14 Mar 2009
Posts: 223

PostPosted: Tue 07 Aug 2012, 15:53    Post_subject:  

Hi pemasu:
Installed the latest iso.

I have a problem with mplayer2.

I have sound but no picture only the outline of the player,not even a black screen.

Is there anything I can do.
irishrm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5465
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Tue 07 Aug 2012, 16:00    Post_subject:  

It is quite difficult to compile generic mplayer2 for me. So...just copy /usr/bin/mplayer from whichever dpup exprimo which worked for you. Mplayer2 is really sensitive of the hardware and I have had difficulties to compile generic version from recent git. It seems 01micko have had same problem.
So....copy working version from whichever dpup version. They should be compatible because mplayer2 is static compile...it includes everything it needs in it....static.

If you find working version from your previous dpup exprimo versions....please post the version for me and post your comp specs...ie PIII, PIV, intel celeron etc...and I can package that version to the exprimo repo. I have there already libvdpau and intel celeron uniprocessor version.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Terry H

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 95
Location: Pickering, ON Canada

PostPosted: Tue 07 Aug 2012, 17:16    Post_subject:  

Hi pemasu,

All is OK. Frugal install. Wifi (bcm43) is working, save file created successfully. Everything functioning on reboot.

Thanks for all your efforts.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5465
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Tue 07 Aug 2012, 17:20    Post_subject:  

Thank You Terry H. I am relieved and rerwin also...I am sure of that.
Okay...I got at last python3 to behave with mplayer2 compiling. It has been the crucial thing for extra parameters by using mplayer_options file. Now I am back in business. Now I just need examples for mplayer2 mplayer_options file when trying to compile as generic mplayer2 as possible without extra bloat. I start to hunt those options from net.
If I succeed with compile I upload it to the repo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3437
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 07 Aug 2012, 17:30    Post_subject: pfilesearch 131  

Quote:
Yeah. It seems Pfind-5.01 is broken in dpup. I revert back to 4.25 version. It works. I posted to the Pfind thread about Pfind problem in dpup exprimo. Usually Zigbert responds in his timetable.


Note to Pemasu: Have you tried this .....

pfilesearch 131

This was an early version of pfilesearch 131 that Zigbert didn't
want me to use, but I believe it did work properly with Exprimo
and pfind 5.0???

I'm not at my home computer so you'll have to test it.

Here's the pfind it was specifically designed to work for.

pfind498


________________________________________________

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 66 of 89 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, ..., 87, 88, 89 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0920s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0180s) ][ GZIP on ]